We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - ideal location, clean with many amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sipadan Inn 2

Save Saved
You added Sipadan Inn 2 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sipadan Inn 2
Block B, Lot 14-11, Semporna 91307, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Semporna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for money - ideal location, clean with many amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable bed, hot shower with adequate water pressure, safety box, kettle with tea/coffee, wifi, cable TV & air-condition. Reception service was courteous and fast. This hotel is close to jetty. Glad to have chosen this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed several days in Semporna for snorkeling and diving. After terrible nights in other hotels, we found that Sipadan Inn 2 has the best condition among all. A brief list below is what a regular room offer:
1. Very clean & bright room with electric door lock for better safty. White clean sheet and soft pillows, a real comfortable bed.
2. Password protected E-Locker (very helpful for water trip and super rare in town).
3. Clean bathroom with Hair Dryer and strong pressure of hot water. There's a shower-door to keep bathroom dry and they offer 2 slippers (wet / dry-disposable).
4. Free WIFI and 3~4 power plugs, good base for recharging and planning trips.
5. 40" LCD TV, Powerful Air-Con ,Electric Kettle, Baggage rack, Bidet toilet, Hangers...

The Inn itself and the equiptments are quite new, the staff told us it has opened only a year'n half and it located by the ocean with view. There're several diving agencies, restaurants around the Inn and pretty quiet at night. Semporna is a traditional harbor town and not very well-developed. To prevent ruining the trip, a good clean safe hotel is a must especially when returning from diving/snorkeling exhaustedly every night. Better sleeping quility brings us energy and safty for tomorrow's ocean adventure. By the way, the Inn also owns a restaurant (Cham Chuan Kee) few blocks away, it provide fresh toast and honey-bread from their bakery every morning, also coffee, teh tarik, juice and more with decent price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

All hotels/hostels in Semporna are within walking distance to each other. When you get to sea-front town of Semporna, it will be easy to find the place you reserved.
This is Sipadan Inn 2, which is different from "Sipadan Inn".
It has about 10 rooms with balcony facing the water.
We paid a premium, still acceptable, for 4 nights stay in sea-view room.
On the balcony, there are two chairs and a small table for you to enjoy the sea view, which is exactly the same as the hotel pictures offered.
The room is cozy and tidy.
As you came here mainly for scuba diving/snorkeling, staying somewhere comfortable is quite important for energy recovery.
Maybe next time I travel to Semporna, I will choose to stay on an island. But I would absolutely recommend Sipadan Inn 2 if you prefer to stay on land and take daily boat trip to visit different islands.

Tips: Public transportation is not available from Tauwu airport to Semporna. It will be best to reserve a van for pick-up thru the place you stay. If you fail to do so, you can also try your luck to walk out of airport to share the vehicle with others.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view are the best choice but it will be very noisy with the glass door open when spee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

In the first night we had a standard double room with sea view which was ok, clean, mid size. We paid 150 RM.
In the second night, we changed to an executive double room which are much more spaceous and looks quite nice. With a discount we paid 170 RM.
Below the rooms are Restaurants on the seaside, not too noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

During our trip to Mabul Island we had to endure a night in Semporna, which was probably the worst town we have visited!

We managed to book ourselves into the Sipadan Inn 2 which is a good hotel, close to the waterfront and jetty. The staff we're quite young and noisy at times but helpful. The room was a good size with AC, The wifi only worked whilst in reception - This may not be the case for all the rooms.

If you unfortunately have to stay in Semporna for a night then this is a good option, but if you can I would skip this town and head straight to the islands.

Room Tip: Some rooms upstairs have balconies with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

During my stay in semporna I have been to many other different hotels but this one is the best.the staff is very friendly,rooms are really very clean.it is very close to jetty and diving stores.i can not say bad thing about this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is new, and not bad at all, we had a VIP room, we have booked by Agoda and it was not expensive. It is like an average 3 stars hotel by the European standards (this is hard to find in Semporna City!). To be honest, the city is ugly, dirty, smelling bad. The staff is young and friendly, the rooms are clean.
In the hotel there is some bad smell, but not so bad as in the nearby market! It is close to the jetty so it is good place to stay if you go for diving in the islands near Semporna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sipadan Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Inn 2

Address: Block B, Lot 14-11, Semporna 91307, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sipadan Inn 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipadan Inn 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.