We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mabul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big John Scuba

Big John Scuba
Jalan Kastalam No. 1 P/S 124, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
+6089785399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Semporna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small company with a BIG heart.. and passion for customer safety and satisfaction.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mabul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was a great time in Mabul. Staff and Big John were very nice and helpfull. Nice sea view and quiet, clean rooms.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    11
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful! 很开心,真心不错”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in BigJohn, wonderful & very happy. Nice staffs, clear room, food is ok, and perfect sea view. So I highly recommended Bigjohn to my colleagues who are planning to go Semporna.....
And my OW instructor Mark, he is really patient and professional. It's so terribal in my first OW diving, because I had never dived before, I even dont know how to breath la.....I want to give up so much at that time....but Mark encourged me a lot, finally, I passed OW in 2 days....oh yes!!.....
Really want to go there again!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun dives and a cool place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Big John's Scuba on Mabul island for 3 nights in November 2013. The main purpose for heading to Mabul was to relax a bit while enjoying some beautiful diving. Since they offer the Advanced Open Water (AOW) course in 2 days--I figured it was finally time for me to get that. I contacted the company a few weeks in advanced and immediately got a friendly response. Mark, who was to be my dive instructor, arranged everything for me. He was very honest about what Big John offers and happily answered any question that I had. I really appreciated all the contact beforehand.
As arranged, the driver picked me up from the airport and dropped in Seporna. Mark had arranged for me to sleep in the 'dorm' at Big John's office. He met me there and was very welcoming. The next morning I took the boat over to Mabul Island to see the accommodations there and start my AOW course.
Big John's has basic, but clean rooms. The common area, where all the meals are served, overlooks the water. You can jump in and swim around there or relax and watch the island life passby. The common area is where everyone sat to talk about their dives and hang out. The staff is always around and happy to help or have a chat. The food was delcious. It wasn't the basic, all inclusive menu that I was expecting. We had lobster, fresh fish BBQ, and tons of other dishes everyday. I was impressed. The whole atmosphere is pretty chill, but friendly. Everyone is helpful, but you can't be shy to ask questions.
The course and dives were great. I got to go 8 times, including AOW dives. Though all the Big John's guys are jokers, everyone was professional when it came to diving. They have my recommendation. :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I absolutely loved my diving experience with Big John Scuba and would highly recommend them to anyone who wants to snorkel/dive in Semporna or who would like to do a PADI course. The accommodation was basic but comfortable, the food great and all the staff very friendly and professional. Mark, our open water dive instructor couldn't have been better. He was such fun over water but yet super professional under water and during teaching periods. Felt really safe and well looked after at all times. I also liked that Big John is a small diving school and supervision of students under water is high as a result. Thumbs up all around. Thanks guys, I really hope to come back sometime. N from Germany/Ireland :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fun, good dive, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I first came here just for a relax week and finally stayed two and took an advanced open water course with Marc, instructor who has weirdest jokes than a French could imagine lol. If you're looking for a place full of orang puti, tons of beer, a quiet bungalow to shake your girlfriend romantically it's probably not the good place otherwise go there...if u are a bit too freaked and stressed for a scuba diving then go for an AOW and ask to do the deep dive asap! If you are muslim and never drank any alcohol you'll see a bit how it feels to be a bit drunk when you'll get hit by the narcosis Ahaha. Terimah kasih to all the friendly staff and to big john for the fun and the food ;-D see u soon. Big Flo.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big John Scuba also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Big John Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big John Scuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.