We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best and beautiful dive site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sipadan Scuba

Sipadan Scuba
Lot: B7-B8, Ground Floor | Semporna Seafront Resort Township, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
+6 (089) 784788
Website
Improve this listing
Nanning Guangxi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best and beautiful dive site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Liked : very beautiful coral and big fishes. Sea water is very very clear and enjoy to take a lot of photo and enjoyed very much.
Disliked : limitation of diver to dive there

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    13
    8
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brunei
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent service throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Travel period: 3-8 Apr 15. (9 dives 3 days package with SS and stayed in their adjoined inn i.e. Holiday Dive Inn).
Sipadan Scuba is not given enough credit for being a great PADI dive operator in Semporna. They have very friendly and helpful staffs, who always smile and greet you to a point where they remember your name. They're knowledgeable about the sites they go to, do pre-dive briefings and checks. They have a clean office, reasonably good dive shop, gear packing/cleaning area and their boats did not present any problems at all. Leaving for the dive areas are always spot on time, if not later a little just to sort out gears and making sure everyone has theirs. Usually 3 divers per DM which gives an ease of mind that you will be watched over.

The only problem I had was that after cleaning the gears, we are required to re-pack our gears while it's wet. This is so that you use the same gear throughout the time you're diving with them. As this is my first time diving in this part of the world, I'm not sure if that is the norm here. The next day, some gears will still be soaking wet or damp which is kinda gross but before you know it you're back-rolling into the clear blue seas.

The DMs/Instrs will sit down with you to help with your dive logs and identify what marine life he/she has shown/spotted. Lunch is provided and after 3 days of eating baguettes it gets a bit tiring and repetitive and sickening so unless you love bread then this would be ideal. (Some DMs trade their lunch with other DMs from different dive operators!)

If you're a solo traveler, make friends with people on the boat and choose a buddy to ensure that you do buddy checks etc. The staff do not assign a buddy for you so unless you're a dive-snob or have no value for your life then don't bother finding a buddy and be anti-social.

In a nutshell, SS has assured me enough that they operate well, have genuinely friendly staffs, experienced DMs/Instrs and trustworthy. The only downside is having to book in their 'inn' (Holiday Dive Inn) which is mid-range budget.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Arguably one of the best scuba diving site in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

With limited scuba diving / snorkeling permits issued daily (around 100), best applying in advance through the scuba diving operator you're planning of using on site.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I spent a week with Sipadan Scuba with two mates in late february. We only came to try diving, but ended up staying and doing our open water certification and then our advanced open water certification. After a week, we felt like a part of the Sipadan scuba family due to the friendliness of the staff and dive crews. They are more then experienced, and between them, have dived in nearly every country in the world. The boats and gear are in great condition. The dive sites are breath taking. Will be back to continue my diving journey!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Pros-
1. very competitive price.. i did some research and had also looked into the price and packages other shops offered, I think the sipadan scuba is the cheapest
2. if you wish to book their diving package, you must go for holiday dive inn. Some people said that it was not flexible and there should be cheaper options for accommodation elsewhere. The dive shop itself is really close to holiday dive inn (15 seconds walk maybe?) and both of them are near to restaurants and where the boats depart everyday for diving. So... very good location.
3. I stayed at the room on the 1st floor with a balcony. The balcony was good tho it was not a private one but it didnt matter much to me. Bathroom was clean. It was a very comfortable stay indeed. Housekeeping was goood~
4. Sipadan is awesome and you wont be wrong diving there.. you could simply skip all other islands in that area imo. DM Ker and Kid were great, friendly and helpful. The dive shop is clean, big and spacious.
5. the packed sandwiches.. it wasnt too bad... acceptable but yes, i didnt wanna eat too much before i dive, so it was still ok. nothing to complain
6. there were cctv in many parts of the hostel and you were given a locker with a key to store your valuables. so in terms of safety, i give a big tick



Cons
1. Service... hmm.. it could be better if some staff could offer to carry the equipments from the storeroom to the boat

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipadan Scuba also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Sipadan Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipadan Scuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.