We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sipadan Scuba

Sipadan Scuba
Lot: B7-B8, Ground Floor | Semporna Seafront Resort Township, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
+6 (089) 784788
Website
Improve this listing
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I must confess that I got quite scared at divecenter, after reading the 14 negative reviews. However, I had a great positive surprise of the whole experience. The staff welcomed us in a very nice way and are very instructive. The diveshop is fully renovated (is not this appearing in the photos above). The food during superfice interval (one large sandwich, tuna salad) was good, besides a lot of banana.
The lodge is ok, clean, ac, internet.
Divesites are a unique experience, no wonder that in many lists is the top one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    13
    8
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly helpful and accommodating staff and unbelievable diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived and originally planned to do 3 days of fun dives then changed my mind to do open water and advanced open water courses. The staff and dive masters (Matt, Alban and the lovely lady behind the counter!) were very helpful as I changed my mind many times throughout the duration of my stay, really helped me get the most out of my stay there without feeling pressured to choose the most expensive options.

If you ever experience scuba diving I would highly recommend trying to get to Sipadan Island. Granted it is quite a bit more expensive that other neighbouring islands but it was worth every penny. In 3 dives I managed to see 20+ turtles, 15 sharks and swam amongst a massive school of jack fish. Very easy to see why it is consistently rated in the top 5 dive sites in the world.

I would strongly recommend this dive shop for their knowledgeable, friendly staff and very reasonable prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No refund when you decide that you don't want to risk to be shot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We payed for advanced diving course and snorkeling trip and accomodation, but were not aware of the recent terrorist attacks in the area nor did the owner made us aware during the information request. Their policy says no refunds and they're very strict about it and in stead adviced us to ignore our governments travel advice.
By reading the other reviews you can decide for yourself why this company is requiring pre payment.
I would have settled for partial refund (like 90%), but the owner takes more pleasure with not refunding anything and not delivering anything too. Just because it's their policy. Same policy says that it's not possible to change dates, however that was somehow still possible. Strange policy, if you ask me!
My advice. As other reviewers already wrote: contact the other dive schools first and don't pay anything upfront, even if you're sure you're going there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing dives--best of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

7 of us got on a dive boat with Sipadan Scuba's DMT Bryce and we got to do 3 dives in a day in this paradise island. The trenchy was said to be like 600meters deep and we were totally mesmerized by the spotless infinite blue. During the first 2 dives in the Coral Hanging Garden-- the pretty dive spot offered us 5 whitetips and 6 gregh turtles. When we got to the Barracuda point, we were so amazed to swim in the centre of a fish tornado--basically we were in a storm of thousands of jackfish just at -5 meters. The real barracuda school also came to us even though the current was incredibly strong--definitely it's one of the best dives you'd experience in your life. And by no means any aquarium would offer any experience similar to this--just remember to enjoy instead of just having an awed face:p The underwater world here is really glorious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amed
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best dive shop in Semporna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I did several courses with Sipadan Scuba (from advanced to instructor) and
I really enjoyed it. Recently Sipadan Scuba have relocated and the new dive
shop is impressive. Staff is really friendly, captains are knowledgable about
the area and helpful on the boat. Sipadan Scuba is also the only dive shop that provides
nitrox. Once you book Sipadan, you're guaranteed to go there, no nonsense. If you want to see
nearby islands, Sipadan Scuba will take you to almost all diveable nearby islands which distinguishes
this company from other dive operators.
I dived and worked with Sipadan Scuba for a year and a half and enjoyed every
bit of it! Unfortunately due to personal reasons I had to relocate.
I recommend this company to everyone.
Happy diving! Wojtek

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipadan Scuba also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Sipadan Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipadan Scuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.