We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly abd beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brightland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brightland Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Brightland Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Aurangabad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly abd beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was a very amazing stay at brightland. Food was good, spa was good, overall the place was very neat clean and well decorated. We stayed at lavendar delux the room was very spacious and beautifuly decorated. there were 2 issues for us in the room 1. view was not good as it opened on construction side and secondly we were expecting bath tubs which were not there. Lavendar supirior has good view but then that room lacks space.
Rest everything was amazing. People are too friendly, to give you one example, my 2yr kid started demanding show piece horse in the reception area, we tried to divert his mind but he was stuck with it, Too are suprise the reception fellow removed a small horse and gave it to him. it was soo nice of him.
We would surely go back to brightland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Yogesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is my second stay at Brightland. I celebrated my birthday here on both occasions. My experience was wonderful last year and could not resist going there again. The overall experience has been wonderful and amazing, to say the least! I am lazy when it comes to writing reviews and look at the smallest of things, but I am glad to say that Brightland lives upto its reputation.

Booking - Book from the Mumbai office and ask for discounts. The details are mentioned on the Brightland site and the staff is very courteous, helpful and prompt. I paid 50% advance last time, but this time I paid 100% advance. Room cost from Monday-Thursday is a lot cheaper than Friday-Sunday. Only buffet breakfast is included.

Travel - The journey is pleasant if you start early. I started from Thane city at 4am and took Pune Expressway. Last time I started at 6am and got stuck on the expressway for 2 hours, due to some vehicle breaking down. Some of my friends have had the same experience, probably because all holiday-goers start by Saturday morning. Once you cross Pune Expressway, its a relatively traffic-free ride. If you reach Mahabaleshwar earlier than expected, stop at Mapro gardens(on the way to hotel) or a nice restaurant like Garden or Bageecha(close to Brightland) for a nice breakfast of strawberry cream/milkshake.

Stay - The check-in time is 2pm. You get a welcome drink and it takes hardly a few mins for them to allocate a room. Parking is ample and free, they arrange for someone to wash your car for free. The lower tulip rooms are amazing, with a bathtub! The best part about the rooms - very well maintained. I did not find a single insect or any other problem with the room decor. Linen, curtains, furniture, electronic items such as TV, DVD player, hair dryer(yes, they have that too!) and fridge - all look like brand new. Room service is prompt and polite. They have some games like TT, carrom, badminton, and a nice library. The swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna are free to use, clean, and well maintained. Go to the village pavilion restaurant in the evening for a beautiful view of the valley. The gardens are well maintained too.

Restaurants - Initially, I thought it was overpriced. I've tried their Italian cuisine - Risotto and pizza, and it was really good. They also serve some good BBQ, don't forget to try the masala crispy roomali roti - goes wel with drinks! Chinese dishes were ok, rest everything was nice! Oh yes, they also give you a 10% discount on food bill.

Places to visit - Table land, Mini Kashmir and Pratapgarh - it takes some time to travel and enjoy these places. Get a guide at Pratapgarh - the guy I hired was not from MTDC, he charged INR 200/- and showed all the points including Punishment point. At Table land, they charge INR 500/- pp for horse rides to cover all points. My recommendation - its very overpriced, and do not share a horse among two people. Go early morning or early evening so you can walk around, there are no trees and it gets hot. Visit the Mapro gardens, Mala factory outlet and check out the strawberry farms at brightland or garden hotel. Try the veg food at garden restaurant if you don't want to spend too much. Avoid the small hotel next to Brightland - its not good.

By the way, my birthday celebration was great! They arranged a pineapple cake with candles and everything - it was really memorable.

Recommendations:-
1. It would be a nice to have babysitting service for kids, along with a play area, gives parents some time to themselves.
2. Lack of entertainment/games on weekends - Last year, they had a magic show, housie and a few other fun events. This year it was only housie, nothing for kids.
3. The lady at guest relations rarely smiles, does not come across as helpful. The fellow who was taking care of guest relations last year was a wonderful and helpful gentleman. Ask for Mr. Menon(General Manager) if reception folks cannot help.
4. They charged INR 20 for a map of mahabaleshwar. Surely they can give this complimentary to guests!

Room Tip: Lower Tulip or valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak_Sharma2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed there from 17th April to 19th April 2013. We stayed in their newly constructed wing which is very tastefully decorated. We had a lovely sit out area with valley view. it was breezy and beautiful.... the food is nice. The breakfast buffet was just ok....The staff is unobtrusive but basically cold....The reception area is unimpressive and the staff at the reception has no clue about anything in Mahabaleshwar. The attitude of the lady at the reception desk was unfriendly...The market is some 10-15 minutes away by car and Kate's point is at walking distance. So location is grt! The older rooms are nothing great.....WIFi is superb.
All in all it was not a bad experience but nothing great for me to want to go back.....

Room Tip: The new wing is good. Pl see the rooms before finalizing.....some have bad views. WIFI is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

In terms of location, service, spa & food, no resort in Mahabaleshwar can beat this place... Its walking distance from Kates point which is a destination in itself. It gets 1 star less because of the attitude of the reservation desk at Mumbai.

We stayed here in Oct 2010 for 4 nights and reason i am writing the review after such a long time is two fold. 1st, the resort reservation desk still does not tell guests that their newly opened Lavender Wing which promises valley view, which it is but also shares boundary with village houses. So you wake up in the morning go to the balcony and look straight see the valley view and also Kates Point but then when you look down u also see villagers cleaning carrots, going about their household chores, small constructions noises which coming in, also there is mosque in the village, etc... 2nd, since i stayed there and wanted people to book have a clear picture of the scene i decided to share the pics... Just wish that the reservation desk was a bit polite and informs correctly to unsuspecting people looking for valley view...

No doubt the rooms in the Lavender Wings are very nicely done up, the views are good but the people looking at staying here should be aware of all the views... Maybe, some people may not mind if told in advance about the village abutting the Wing and not be surprised...

I will definitely return to this place again....

Room Tip: Avoid Lavender Wing if u want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The spa here simply rocks. The price is quite steep however and the gym is also nothing much to talk about. however the food is very good but service pretty bad. The location is superb and the pool is pretty nice too. A great place to stay especially in winters. The rooms are not that spacious and it hasnt changed in the past 5 years. The internet is pathetic there and so is the network which makes communication extremely difficult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhishekBagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

what should I say????? it was a great experience to be here, as we had not booked earlier but thanks to god we got rooms here and the whole trip of mahabaleshawar became a great trip for all of us. spa is also very good. very good locations near by the hotel.

Room Tip: take a look of rooms before check in so that u can decide which room will be suited for u.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asrivastava1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from Mahabaleshwar. Had visited with a client from Israel. For starters even Mahabs is pretty hot during the days so not much respite from the summer. What made the stay pleasant was the hotel which oozed relaxation and peace. Situated overlooking the valley and lush green hillside. We had booked two rooms where the balconies faced the valley so the view was spectacular when you look out first thing in the morning. It just refershes your day. The buffet is pretty well spread with a mix of south indian, punjabi as well as western. The pool is quite small and gets crowded easily. We also had a yoga session on one of the hotel grounds. It was an ok experience as the session was not personalised. The walk from the hotel entrance leads to some trails that are worth exploring. Good for a robust walk down the valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a Valley facing room. The view is just too good. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambratalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#2 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#5 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#3 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Shreyas
Hotel Shreyas
#11 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightland Resort & Spa

Address: Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#5 Family Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#6 Spa Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Brightland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIGHTLAND is Mahabaleshwar's finest resort with world class amenities and facilities. Located in a exclusive peaceful location on a hillside, overlooking the Krishna river valley and the Sahyadri hill ranges and surrounded by dense tropical rain forest. The view is superb and the facilities unmatched by any in Mahabaleshwar. The only small hotel in the world with 4 independent restaurants, an all glass lounge/bar overlooking the valley, Prana spa, a fully equipped fitness center, a solar heated swimming pool, tennis court, volleyball court and all major indoor games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Brightland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightland Holiday Village Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing