We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Resort but has potential to improve!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brightland Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Brightland Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brightland Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Resort but has potential to improve!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Visited the resort on Boxing day. Good location but poorly signposted. Staff are friendly and polite. Booking - they need to sort out the booking process, it is not transparent and is disappointing that there is lack of co-ordination between their own booking agents and resort.
Property - for Mahabaleshwar standard it is good but for international standard they can definitely improve. It is pot luck with rooms. Some are good some are noisy. We got the best , poolside. Service - friendly and polite staff. Food - meals are good, breakfast is great for Indian taste. Continental options are limited. Wifi is poor.
Would definitely recommend to NRIs but unlikely to recommend to those who are not brought up in India.

Room Tip: If you can get a poolside room. Avoid rooms near Disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    103
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
108
51
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my wedding anniversary at this resort and had booked the lavender superior room looking at the website pictures.But as I reached the resort and looked into the room it was highly disappointing.This room faced asbestos covered houses ,could hear chickens and no peace at all.I immediately demanded them to change the room which they did promptly.Staff is courteous.We were shifted to poolside room and it is the best room in terms of view and peace.Next day we were shifted to orchid lower which was very isolated and dark,i didnt like this room at all.All rooms have all facilities but if you are looking for a view which mahabaleshwar is all about then go for poolside.Breakfast was strictly ok.We always try italian at brightland whenever in mahabaleshwar and they have the best food here.Although this time I noticed not so fresh chicken in the pizza but still I will again come here to eat as they have good pastas.Had ordered food in the room and it was nice.Tried the spa and it was excellent.Also their products are good too.Wifi was a disappointment.Seen a giant squirrel near the resort.A very delicious strawberry cake was arranged for us and it was good.Overall a good resort with great spa and italian food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The property is located at a good spot, food is good quality ( Except breakfast is poor, not much choices, and absolutely poor selection of fruits). Lavender rooms face asbestos sheet sheds from the balcony and the entire block is very noisy and not sound proof for a good night sleep.

Staff is courteous and helpful, the property needs more attention to excellence...

Room Tip: may be suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently visited this property with my business colleagues for 2 nights 3 days ... Everything was excellent Location, service, rooms, spa.... except food, all three meals were below average and unfortunately we were forced to have our meals outside the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjshewakramani, Owner at Brightland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Vishal, Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback and your positive comments on our facilities. I will investigate on your complaint of the food quality not being upto your satisfaction. I would like to assure you that our resort is reputed for its food quality and variety and in fact most of the local hotel and restaurant owners come to our resort to celebrate their occasions. We are very selective with our purchases/supplies with no compromises made whatsoever. We operate 4 restaurants within the resort complex so it comes as a surprise that you could not find a cuisine to your liking. However, after speaking with you, I will personally look into your suggestions and assure you that you will find the necessary improvements during your next visit. Thanks once again, Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent my two days of vacation at Brightland on 1st Dec 2012 with my family. I booked Poolside lower room through their website (around 10K per night), it had a small mezzanine floor room where my kid enjoyed to watch his cartoon channels. The rooms were clean with all facilities.
Overall it was a delightful and pleasent experience. Good for spending time at leisure. Very close to Kates point and a few kms(3-4) from Mahabaleshwar market.
Here is what I was very happy about:
1. Valley view from resort is good though you don't see entire valley but the top view.
2. Staff and room service. They were ready to help for everything, proactive, quick and well trained.
3. Swimming pool with warm water in winter season was a delight. Steam bath after a swim was awesome.
4. Non-Veg and Veg food was awesome, though a bit upscale, but worth paying for.
5. Prana SPA was awesome. Their products are also good.
6. Gym and Disc facilities.

A few things that I think can be improved:
1. The website should show more pictures of the Poolside and other rooms and surroundings with exact faciities.
2. There should be more re-creation facilities for playing and group activities.

Room Tip: Poolside upper rooms have good view but are a bit small, lower side is good for family, but the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjshewakramani, Owner at Brightland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive and detailed review of our resort. While we strive to give our guests the best of our services, some areas do get overlooked and we are grateful to you for bringing the same to our notice. We have already started a review of our website to show more pictures of our varied room categories and also the surroundings as suggested by you. We will look into adding additional activities for children, adults and groups. As per our strategy, we had purposefully limited group activities to enable our guests to enjoy their time with their families/companions without us imposing on their time but had provided quite a few facilities for family or individual activities, which guests are at liberty to choose and pick from. However, keeping in view your suggestions, we will reconsider our options in this regard and I assure you that you will find noticeable changes, as per your suggestion during your next visit. Thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you at our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ujjain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very good location,excellent service,very good staff,good food.close to the main attractions very good destination for quite relaxing holiday.we stayed in poolside room very close to the bar,the view from the room was beautiful.we could see the sunrise from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Brightland is an excellent destination in Mahabaleshwar. Clean rooms, spacious, and good service. The overall experience was good and the service was excellent. Good place to walk around and if you are in a group (like us) it is fun to see around mahabaleshar. Food here is really good, have a great breakfast and the move out to see the city. The view from the restaurant is amazing.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brightland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightland Resort & Spa

Address: Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#4 Spa Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#6 Family Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brightland Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIGHTLAND is Mahabaleshwar's finest resort with world class amenities and facilities. Located in a exclusive peaceful location on a hillside, overlooking the Krishna river valley and the Sahyadri hill ranges and surrounded by dense tropical rain forest. The view is superb and the facilities unmatched by any in Mahabaleshwar. The only small hotel in the world with 4 independent restaurants, an all glass lounge/bar overlooking the valley, Prana spa, a fully equipped fitness center, a solar heated swimming pool, tennis court, volleyball court and all major indoor games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Brightland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightland Holiday Village Mahabaleshwar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brightland Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.