We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic Rooms..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Valley View Resort to your Saves list
Valley View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic Rooms..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Last week end, I stayed with my family in the Non-AC deluxe room. Selected this hotel due to nice cover photo (''steps'' like rooms) and some good feedback despite of exorbitant room charges. Front-desk was okay. We had selected American plan (with all meals covered). Front desk lady was not prompt to explain inclusion/exclusion and information (like meal timings etc.) was provided only after checking.

Room was provided at the first floor. It was just a pathetic room. Old furniture. Old tiles. Horrible view. Bathroom towels were missing. It was huge disappointed after paying such premium price. After looking around in the hotel found that only super deluxe rooms/duplex suits have nice view and better rooms. Probably missed this while booking this hotel.

Only good part was food. It was delicious and chef was quite courteous.

All other amenities were ok and may be found in any good hotels.Hotel location is also not too encouraging.

Summary:- If you plan to book Deluxe A/C or Non/AC Deluxe type room in this hotel, then suggest to try some other hotels which offers rooms at similar price range. At least chances of getting nice room and better view. This is recommended if you plan for super deluxe rooms or duplex suite.

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms/suites have good view and rooms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for patronizing Valley View Resort for your holidays. We appreciate and acknowledge the feedback on your stay. Our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on accommodation and amenities. It is unfortunate for you not ending your holidays with fond memories. The upgradation plan of Deluxe Non AC rooms is finalized and is in pipeline for implementation. We are glad for your appreciation of the food.

We once again offer our sincere apologies and thank you for the feedback and look forward to get another opportunity to extend our hospitality in upgraded rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    23
    3
    14
See reviews for
68
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Satisfaction appears to be through the tummy of the assessor.
Deception in title,Valley view available only through certain limited class of rooms.
Pathetic approach road to the place.
Good food,customer friendly staff.
We read reviews on line and did the booking which one cannot cancel.
Quality of in house service was fine.he furniture and the ambiance could be better.
all in all average experience for the cost paid

Room Tip: Valley is seen only through the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and giving us an opportunity to extend our hospitality. We acknowledge your feedback on your stay and accept the same positively. Approach is an issue which is beyond our control inspite of constant interaction with local municipal council on its state and improvement. We are trying our best. Our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. We are glad for your appreciation of the food and service. The up-gradation of the category of rooms, one of which was occupied for your stay, is in pipeline and will be undertaken very soon. Thank you once again for the feedback, which will push us for improvement, and look forward to get another opportunity in future to extend our hospitality in upgraded rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Valley View was the only resort where my family used to stay in my childhood days because the indoor warm swimming pool which they used to provide was very new and exciting 10-15 years back.They have picturesque lush green scenery from all the rooms i stayed and equally beautiful inside.Even the Indian food being served here is really good specially Tandoori.Thanks for the awesome childhood memories !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We acknowledge and appreciate your feedback. We are glad we have been able to create fond memories which you are cherishing. We thank you for the positive feedback about the food and the only temperature controlled indoor swimming pool in Mahabaleshwar. We look forward to your visit again and give us the opportunity to create more memories for you and your family.
Team Valley View Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary we enjoyed our stay. It has a nice temp controlled swimming pool. its kids friendly play area. Great weather and cool breeze in your private balcony is a perfect setting to see the sun set. The Valley View Hotel is best place to stay close the market.

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms are the best of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are happy we have been able to provide you and your family a pleasant and comfortable stay. We thank you for the positive feedback on the services and the facilities. It is feedback from guests like you that make us strive harder to offer our best. We once again thank you for the feedback and look forward to your visit soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a very bad experience at valley view Hotel. I stayed in standard non AC room.Which I felt terrible from the moment I entered in the room. The bed lines were not very clean.I found lot of live insects below the pillow. I could hardly sleep through the night.I checked in late at 8.00PM and checkout at 9.00 AM next day. I am really disappointed.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We thank you for your feedback. We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction on hygiene in the room. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused to you. We are actively working on improvement and your feedback is invaluable to us. It will be our endeavour to be committed to offer the highest standard of service to all our guests. We look forward to your patronage in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for a night. Booked a "Delux" room. There were stains on the wall and the bedsheets. The furniture was metal. No AC. The loo was unclean . No tubs. No covers for the blankets. No mineral Water. Lousy toiletries.
To beat it all our window was coverd with a opaque plastic sheet . We were told this was to stop the rain coming in. In any case it overlooked the parking. The resort is located in the middle of a poor residential area. There is no where to walk around.
The service and people were very good . The food was nice and almost like home cooked food,

Room Tip: Avoidable , for this sort of money you will get much better options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate and acknowledge the same. We offer our sincere apologies for being unable to offer you all as per your expectations. The room booked for your stay was a Deluxe Non AC room which was booked by your group for stay in July, 2013. Due to unavoidable reasons, the booking of this room was postponed. The facilities available in the Deluxe Non AC room were informed to the person who coordinated and confirmed the booking. This being the monsoon period with heavy rains, dampness occurs. This is unavoidable due to weather. The best of the material is used for the facilities, linen in the room and utmost care is taken for maintenance of the furniture & fixtures in the rooms .
We thank you for the positive feedback on the service, people and the food. We look forward to getting an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of the best hotels to stay. Good food and the only temperature controlled indoor swimming pool. True to the name, in the lap of nature. The Food, Service was above expectations and the staff well mannered and ever ready to help you out with your needs. Don't worry if you have forgotten any petty thing, they are available at the Utility Shop. The recently open Spa is another feature to unwind. Would recommend to all people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank very much for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We thank you for the positive feedback on the food, service and facilities. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Resort

Address: Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Resort is the place which gives you the pleasure, peace, joy & happiness in their emphatic services. Situated in heart of Mahabaleshwar, Valley View Resort offers the best lush green valley view enhancing your comfort and luxury. Here, you will experience a homely feeling in our extraordinary services. We are full of pleasant surprises, come reveal us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Valley View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley View Hotel Lonavala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.