We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bed experiance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Resort

Save Saved
You added Valley View Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very bed experiance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

very bed experiance ,, service pathatic , location thirdclass, also charged me for my small daughter 4 yrs old 4000 rs extra for 2 night. overall pathatic experance ,, suggest not at all to visit its my personal openion,





  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
At the onset our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay. We put in our 100% to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible and ensure the guest leaves with fond memories. we would have appreciated the information on what services were not found up to the mark so that amends could be made. Also it would have helped us in over coming the same. The charges for a child above 2 yrs is applicable during season period as prevalent in Mahabaleshwar. we apologies once again and hope to get another opportunity in future to extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    21
    3
    14
See reviews for
60
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall had a decent stay at Valley View Resort Mahabaleshwar. We were there for 3 nights and had booked the super deluxe rooms, which were really nice and had a private sit out garden where one could sit and see the beautiful valley. Great weather and cool breeze which prompted us to have our tea outside.

Up to date amenities in the room and very helpful staff. In fact we checked in late at 3 pm on the first day and the restaurant served us hot and nice lunch. The restaurant staff deserves special mention as they went out of their way to serve us. The food was really nice for all three meals, though vegetarian, which we didn't mind at all.

The saturday night dinner served on the garden lawns was great with a live kebab counter. The setting was magical and food was nice.

Overall this is a great value for money resort but the only hitch is that the resort is located in a very shabby and small part of Mahabaleshwar from the lead in side. While one side faces the valley which is beautiful, the entrance to the resort is through very small winding roads which being repaired as of now and there are too many cars, people, horses, etc. which make it very difficult to get ones car inside. Inside too specially on weekends the resort staff has no clue on how to park and handle the overflowing vehicles so its a total mess. Though the resort has floating drivers but they come only at a particular time, so if you want to leave at 6 am to see the sun rise at sunrise point on a weekend if your staying here, please make sure that the night before your vehicle is parked near the entrance itself otherwise you will have to go through an ordeal to get your car out.

This aspect really spoiled our lovely stay. Also you cannot take a walk outside the resort as the road outside is actually a slope which is not repaired and is in a very shabby area.

So, apart from the valley view and good staff this one particular issue left a bad taste in an otherwise nice holiday.

Room Tip: Choose the super deluxe rooms as they have a private garden sit out and the view from the sit out is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Valley View Resort for your holidays and appreciation of the services and foods. It is this feedback by the guest i.e. is you-which makes us strive even more hard to offer our best. Approach to the resort is an issue which is not our direct control. We take up the matter with concerned authorities constantly for its betterment and regulation of the trafic. Also our apologies for the inconvenience due to parking. The security and the valet staff try their best to regulate the parking but at times they become helpless in front of the guest. Our sincere apologies once again for the same.
we thank you once again for the patronage and look forward in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

There are couple of suggestions..
I had been recently to valley view resort, they have a good staff, helping in nature. I had been for a 3 nights package. For 2 nights my experience was good however the last night, god!!! some damn people who have taken the neighboring rooms (family ones) were making lot of noise... making it look like a budget hotel. Hotel should ensure to control such people upfront thus maintaining the hospitality.

Talking about the approach road towards the resort, i was totally disappointed, was stuck in small & crunchy lanes (only way to this resort) for 30-45mins to take my car towards the resort and had same experience while leaving from the resort before I connected to the main road. For a first time traveler like me after spending a decent amount for stay...those approach roads were making me go sick!!!

The photographs uploaded on the website are NOT the front view or the main gate view as it is worse. The ones on the website, is the backyard view which is very cool! and with lawn etc,

Coming to food...if you happen to be a Gujarati, you might enjoy the food. For guys who would love to eat spicy food, this is not the right place.

Overall from my perspective...nice hotel to ONLY stay, very good staff, however hotel has to improve its environment & improve on food variety a lot to grab first rate attention,

Room Tip: PLEASE...Book only ones facing the backyard or lawn else you will feel as if you are in Bangkok hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Valley View Resort and liking it. We appreciate the feedback as it points our strengths and weakness and enables us improve. The food served is per what the guests patronizing want and is as experienced. We do customize it as per request. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to fellow guests. The management puts in its best effort in ensuring the maintenance of decorum and discipline by the guests. Approach is an issue which is not under our direct control. We constantly take up the issue with the authorities for its improvement.

once again thank you for patronizing and look forward in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My parents have been here and they liked this place a lot. They were impressed by the room, location of the hotel, quality of food and service.
View from the hotel is amazing and level of comfort this hotel offer is unmatched.

I recommend this hotel over brightland as brightland is damn expensive option.

Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family and comfortable and enjoyable stay. Feedback from our guests makes us strive harder.
We once again thank you for the positive feedback on the service and hospitality.
We look forward to your visit in the future soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spending money on such a kind a hotel is very upsetting till the time you enter in to a hotel lobby
as every visitor have same complaint about approach road and location of the hotel is very bad
\ claustrophobic there is no absolute space at entry which is going to be big disadvantage of this nice property. you can get satisfied yourself only with good food which is so awesome than after four days ( i have visited on 1st to 3rd may 2013) i still feel the taste of super menu aluwadi, phulka, etc superb n worth spending on food 10 out of ten
Else overall its ok place but if your expecting something luxurious than this is not the space to visit
Another think is power cut every after 30 to 40 minutes even though they have power backup u have to spend 30 sec. to 5 min without power every after 1 hrs time please fix this.
need some initiative from hotel for fun games etc.
thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family an enjoyable stay.

The approach is an issue which is not under our control. We are taking up this issue with authorities continuously round the year and try our best to maintain it to the extent possible.

Sir the problem of power supply is a major issue affecting the entire state and the problem in Mahabaleshwar is no different. It takes a couple of minutes to switch to the generator and thus the time gap.

We have noted your feedback for games and other activities.

We once again thank you for the positive feedback on the food. We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The main usp of the hotel is the hospitality of the staff, their food is much of gujrati cuisine but good, we stayed for 3 night with family including kids aged about 3 - 4yrs . they enjoyed the food which is great, there were differnt combination variety which was tasty , also the politeness of Mr deepak and their staff was so good. Rooms are neat and well maintained but view is not good from window as slums nearby. ... Main drawback is the nearby area which is full of non veg markets. Access roads to the hotel are not good. Overall i wish to thanks to all staff for making my stay memorable in mahabaleshwar

Room Tip: super delux rooms are very good but chose for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The approach is an issue which is not under our control. We are taking up this issue with authorities continuously round the year and try our best to maintain it to the extent possible.
We once again thank you for the positive feedback for the staff, service and our hospitality. We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It`s a Nice Place 2 Stay on Your visit 2 Mahabaleshwar,
But on Our 3 Days Stay there when all Meals were Complimentary we only Took 2 Breakfast & 1 Dinner Rest in Nearby Market.
One Should Book Hotel 2 Stay only Without Meals as They have to Pay Again outside for Meals



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for patronizing Valley View Resort for your holidays and the feedback. We are glad your stay was nice, but food was not to the liking. A word with the executive about what was not to the liking would have helped us in serving food of your taste. Also a change in the meal plan could have been considered. We accept the feed back from our guest is accepted in full humility and a step towards improvement.

We Thank you once again for the same and hope of your patronage in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valley View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Resort

Address: Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley View Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Resort is the place which gives you the pleasure, peace, joy & happiness in their emphatic services. Situated in heart of Mahabaleshwar, Valley View Resort offers the best lush green valley view enhancing your comfort and luxury. Here, you will experience a homely feeling in our extraordinary services. We are full of pleasant surprises, come reveal us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Valley View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley View Hotel Lonavala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.