We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Resort

Save Saved
You added Valley View Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Travelocity
and 1 more site!
Valley View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hotel for family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The main usp of the hotel is the hospitality of the staff, their food is much of gujrati cuisine but good, we stayed for 3 night with family including kids aged about 3 - 4yrs . they enjoyed the food which is great, there were differnt combination variety which was tasty , also the politeness of Mr deepak and their staff was so good. Rooms are neat and well maintained but view is not good from window as slums nearby. ... Main drawback is the nearby area which is full of non veg markets. Access roads to the hotel are not good. Overall i wish to thanks to all staff for making my stay memorable in mahabaleshwar

Room Tip: super delux rooms are very good but chose for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The approach is an issue which is not under our control. We are taking up this issue with authorities continuously round the year and try our best to maintain it to the extent possible.
We once again thank you for the positive feedback for the staff, service and our hospitality. We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    20
    3
    11
See reviews for
54
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It`s a Nice Place 2 Stay on Your visit 2 Mahabaleshwar,
But on Our 3 Days Stay there when all Meals were Complimentary we only Took 2 Breakfast & 1 Dinner Rest in Nearby Market.
One Should Book Hotel 2 Stay only Without Meals as They have to Pay Again outside for Meals



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for patronizing Valley View Resort for your holidays and the feedback. We are glad your stay was nice, but food was not to the liking. A word with the executive about what was not to the liking would have helped us in serving food of your taste. Also a change in the meal plan could have been considered. We accept the feed back from our guest is accepted in full humility and a step towards improvement.

We Thank you once again for the same and hope of your patronage in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Over-all hotel is good, staff is polite and helpful.. Specially Dining Staff (Mr. Suresh) is too good and always eager to serve the best of the food. Food is good. Overall good hotel/resort. Only nightmare is the Entry-Exit of the hotel/resort... Main drawback of the Hotel.....

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms are the best of all.. good view + well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for patronizing Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay to you and your family.
The approach is an issue which is not under our control. We are taking up this issue with authorities continuously round the year and try our best to maintain it to the extent possible.
We once again thank you for the positive feedback of the staff. We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location of hotel is quite good since it is situated very close to market area... access to hotel is a bit difficult and sign boards guiding to the hotel are not there..
Rooms are neat and clean with good and polite staff..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

As for the approach of the road, we are in constant touch with the authorities and trying our best to maintain the same. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the lack of directional sign boards. We will surely take up the issue.

We once again thank you for the positive feedback on the staff, service and the cleanliness. We look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my husband visited during the extended weekend of Good friday i.e March 29th to April 1st 2013

Let me start from the start.

Booking - As it was an extended weekend right from Holi holidays to good friday to weekend, all good hotels in Mahabaleshwar were completely booked. Luckily for us(or I thought so till we checked in the room, coming to this later) we got booking for deluxe room AC. The booking process is hassle free as they give you the account no of bank and once you transfer the advance payment (50% in our case) you are sent the confirmation voucher.

Reaching there - Now this one is particularly tricky though route itself is not, good signs of Valley View all the way so had no problems finding it but the approach road to resort is so small and is full of small residences that it puts you off. Having a vehicle is a must to reach there. But on looking at the resort from inside, it gives you a feel of getting better experience.

Check In - The check in process was smooth as we had the confirmation letter with us but the reception staff could be a little more smiling while dealing with a customer as this puts in more confidence about they resort. The staff at reception, I felt is too mechanical by which I mean that we are not some kind of students on their first day in school. Rules can be conveyed in different manner too. We were shown two rooms only and were asked to choose from them. we requested for another view but were informed that there was no availability even when we had reached at about 11.30 am and we wanted opposite side rooms.

Rooms - Now coming to the horror side, both the rooms we had been show had slums right up to the window. we chose a room which had a slum just about 20 feet away but this meant we could not sit in the room with curtains open at all. So even though we had a view of valley we could not enjoy it.
I mean such a great property, its sad that only super deluxe rooms get the unhindered view of valley which they can enjoy sitting in lap of their balconies. I seriously feel that the resort could come up with some glass facade which will ensure that we enjoy the view with privacy too specially in that side of resort.

Service - this aspect of resort deserves a 110/100 marks and I say this because their staff is their USP. Always helpful, never complaining, ready to provide for whatever needed at anytime. The staff at their dining room is great, serving great food always with a smile on their face.
One more thing we noticed is that our car was cleaned everyday morning without us asking for it and while we were leaving, we were not even asked for a penny. This is definitely a Value added service. Valet service is a good feature too.

Food - All Vegetarian food was boon for us. Breakfast and dinner were buffet services while lunch was served to us on table. Again good variety of food on all days and snack were served in the evening with tea in the room. The best thing was basket of fresh fruits on all days which was amazing. The only thing we could ask for a little more spicier food which was the only thing lacking. One important thing I would like to mention is the Saturday evening games which was nice way to unwind. The food spread was great with Pav bhaji and chat along with punjabi food which was set up in lawns. Special mention for palak bhajiya chat which was amazing. Infact the dining room attendant share the recipe with me, will try it at home too.

Overall experience - I would rate this hotel on 3.5/5 and the points lost are only because of the issues mentioned above but in case I get booking for super deluxe then I would surely visit this resort.

All the best and Many thanks for the hospitality.

Mrs Mansi Hemant Upreti.

Room Tip: Go only for Super deluxe. They are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad that we have been able to provide you and your family and comfortable and enjoyable vacation.

We have noted your view on the approach of reception staff. It will certainly be taken up in the next training session. Our sincere apologies for the same.

As for the allotment of room, probably it was on the 1st floor, which does not offer a great view. Being a weekend and holidays preceding it, the occupancy was good right since March 27. May be the rooms shown to you were the only vacant rooms available at the time of your check in. Our management is in consultation with engineers/architects for a viable solution to it.

We once again thank you for the appreciation of the service, staff and food. We look forward to your visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

i and my wife been there on the 27 th holi day so not much crowd.
afraid of the ghat area we did not take the car but later we thought we shouldhave taken it
if ur a good driver u have to carry the car since valley view is about twenty min walk up to the market and its asteep walk since the hotel is in avalley.
we were told that there is only one room tough there were more rooms and i had to show them that but they said that the rooms are yet not cleaned
they ;ater shifted us away to another room bcoz the telephone there was not working
we took the deluxe non ac rooms which were on the first floor but those who have good budget they shuld take the cottage as it faces the lawn and the valley.

delux non ac ask for those on the second floor

the room rent is divided into swimmimg pool and room rentals so those who dont need the swimming pool shoud try to bargain and curb the charges by not using the swimmimg pool
they allow outsiders to use the swimmig pool for rs 200 per visit and the swimming poll time is from 8am to 1pm and from 4 to 8 pm
time is such that u normally are out at these time so not much use of pool
there are sight seeing cars and they all have fixed rates for that so no point in bargaining

but those who need ahint take adays stay at mahabaleshwar go for one tour in morn anddthen relaxa and go for other tour in the eveng and then return at night and checkout the other day and if u have the car then u can just take the pratapgarh and panchgani tour on ur own

normally if u r going by a volvo u can see most of the ponts if u sit on the cleaner side row.

we had a good driver he was narrating most of the history and significance of the place when u r on the wa y
his name was shrikant 940454444 and he did his job perfectly and we hardly had any problem in his omni.

in the hotel if u leave the problem with the shower inn our next room which i didnt say about else they would have told me to vacate the room again
there were some deficiencies in the maintainence and house keeping which i told them on phone but there was no review letter that has to reach the authorities so they did escape easily

the food is good those who tak the economy plan do visit atleast at night for the foodd

though the afternoon food is not worth it but the evening food is good.

Room Tip: take the rooms on the second floor if non ac and the cottge room avoid the lowest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms were neat and clean, with internal ambience quite good. But the main problem is the access to the hotel from the main road, it is qiute poor with roads having potholes etc.Hotel managment needs to be do something about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We appreciate and acknowledge your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your family a comfortable stay.

As for the approach, we are taking up this issue with authorities continuously round the year and try our best to maintain it to the extent possible.

We look forward to getting an opportunity to extend our hospitality in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valley View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Resort

Also Known As:
Valley View Hotel Lonavala
Valley View Hotel
Address: Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley View Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Resort is the place which gives you the pleasure, peace, joy & happiness in their emphatic services. Situated in heart of Mahabaleshwar, Valley View Resort offers the best lush green valley view enhancing your comfort and luxury. Here, you will experience a homely feeling in our extraordinary services. We are full of pleasant surprises, come reveal us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Valley View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.