We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can miss out - average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Seat

Arthur's Seat
Mahabaleshwar, India
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lookouts, Landmarks
Attraction details
Surat, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can miss out - average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is good but can miss out. I do not recommend not to visit but if you are short of time it will not be a un-affordable thing to miss. Nice scenic place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mist in the Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a delightful point, possibly the most famous in Mahableshwar, Since it was off season,.the place was not mercifully too crowded. The mist that shrouded the place lent even greater beauty to the place, though the view was not visible, on account of the dense fog. However, the place, shrouded in mist, had its own, though different charm.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another point of Mahabaleshwar Hillstation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Another point of Mahabaleshwar Hillstation, its at a height and u ll like the view of the valley around it kate's point and another point is close to this point I m sure u ll visit this if you visit mMhabaleshwar

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Though Duplicate As Mesmerizing As Original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After visiting Tablelands at Panchgani we moved to Arthur's Seat , Mahabaleshwar . Though the original seat collapsed in November 1973 , an equally stunning adjoining point is given the same name to attract the tourists . The point is at an altitude of 1470 m . As the season was drawing its closure , hundreds of tourists thronged the point . So we had to walk more than a km from where our car was parked and climbed down about 100 steps to reach the point . On the route there were many stalls selling boiled and roasted corns , chanas , cucumbers , tomato , etc alonwith the usual cold drinks . After climbing down 30 steps and visualizing the horror of climbing up all the steps and then walking towards the car , Vaijayanti decided to withdraw from the adventure leaving little Sharlina and old me to enjoy ourselves .

The arrangement of geological formations of the numerous hills seen from the point brought me back to April 1988 when I visited the Grand Canyons of Arizona , U . S . A . I could say that the view was at least 50 % matching with that of the canyons . On the left side there was deep valley of Savitri whereas on the right at 125 m below forested Jor valley completes the fascinating picture .

There were many points nearby such as a Window point which is 70 m below the Arthur's seat point , tiger spring point where it is told that tiger and panthor come to drink water , etc .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“NOT TO MISS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

One should not this unique attraction in Mahabaleshwar. most attractive location to view the valley.There are six other view points near by, hunter pt,echo pt, Maclon pt, Tiger spring, window pt,
drink pure water at tiger spring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur's Seat also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 

Been to Arthur's Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Seat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.