We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahabaleshwar Hill Station

Mahabaleshwar Hill Station
Mahabaleshwar, India
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been to various hill stations in North india, This was the first I visited in West, and I must say it was much greener then even Dalhousie

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    115
    33
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Might be better after the rains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just back from a visit to Mahabaleshwar. I've been here in the 1980s and am surprised to see how dusty and crowded its become. There is hardly any greenery around and hordes of ill mannered and littering tourists from all over have descended on it. We were not even there on a weekend so I can imagine how bad it must be then. We didn't go to Arthur's Seat, but to all the other points. Only Lodwick and Elephant's Head Point seemed worth it. The local government should try and clean up and place and impose some building guidelines and restrictions to ensure it retains whats left of its charm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Place !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited To Mahabaleshwar A Many Times ... Awesome Place,

Its Better Known For Honey And Strawberries Produced Here As Cool Climate Is What Is Required.. Its Also Considered As Pilgrimage Site For Hindus...Many Beautiful Hill Points (AROUND 10-14 I Guess) Make It A 365 Days Tourist Attraction..

Also The Venna Lake Is Really Beautiful Specially When U Go For Late Winter Evening Boat Ride Through The Slight Fog With Your Loved One ...

Though You May Be Looted For Toll N Pass Money And Food Stuffs .. But Money Doesn't Count When Visualizing Such A Beauty Of Nature

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to visit in weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I visited three weeks back with my office colleagues. It was neat and clean well maintained. Only worry is the traffic in the weekends. Prefer to visit in weekdays.Mostly people from Mumbai and Pune visit this place regularly.Roads are very small need to be drive safely. Better to take own vehicle, travels will charge more or you can hire from your place. Panchagani, Lake boating are very calm and nice to see. i would like to go with my family but i heard lodging is very expensive than other hill stations in india. Please book in advance before going there using Trip advisor.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location is good but Goverment is Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Overall I have observed that mahableshwar is very good hill station, but observed that it is not at all maintain properly, We all forgot traffic rules once we reach there, unnecessary honking, over take, lane cutting, rash driving is obvious on Mahableshwar roads. Seems they are taking toll at panchgani of rs. 50 per vehicle And rs. 20/- per person, but it is of no use. Seen traffic police is busy in counting tips... cleanliness is not maintain... All the site seeing points are far away from each other. Big big Volvo buses, St buses, big cars are going on the hills, but no place to park, resulting every vehicle is parked on road, resulting huge traffic jam, no place to take turn also. In short no traffic sense... No road directions given properly...All site points are also dirty..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahabaleshwar Hill Station also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 

Been to Mahabaleshwar Hill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahabaleshwar Hill Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahabaleshwar Hill Station to your Saves list