We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bharat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bharat Hotel to your Saves list
Bharat Hotel
Near New Lake, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the ambience of the hotel was good. it was cold and room heaters were not available and rooms appeared damp. linen needs to be replaced and more lighting in the room be provided. reception people were polite and were considerate in allowing us to check out late. bathroom quality is average - can be improved. food is very good and the price is reasonable, especially the buffet. Magic show for the kids was excellent. Hotel should consider arranging a bonfire for the guests to relax in the evenings. Room service is prompt.

Room Tip: insist on rooms that are in the main area. they look better furnished and maintained than the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very rude managers. not at all friendly. we booked this hotel through Heena tours package. Hence after we reached the hotel guys were so rude to adjust any timne for our scenary trip. We were given a sad room, basement area, where the smoke of chimneys through air.
Our room was gloomy and there was garbage dump behind our room.

We even told them how bad ppl wrote abt them on tripadvisor because of this behaviour of theirs , they didnt care a penny.

Food was good. Thats it. Avoid this hotel. Hotel Rajesh is a very good hotel, expensive though great for familyand worth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Hotel maintenance is not good. Rooms have deteriorated. The floors are always wet. Even the mattresses are a bit wet. I had a horrible experience .
The absensce of cleanliness. Wrt the food, it is decent and is worth for money.

Room Tip: Dont go for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After much research and limited availability I chose hotel Bharat Classic AC room... when we reached there we were made to wait as the room was not clean, even though we reached at 12 noon and our checkin time was 9am... however that was not a problem... I had taken my wife there for celebrating her birthday and when we entered the room my reaction was W**, this is by far the worst room i've seen at per night cost of approx 3500 and how can i stay in such a shabby place.....later on inspection i found that this is not AC room hence I went inquiring to management who said that by mistake they gave a wrong room.... to my delight, the classic AC room was much better. Had the standard room been offered free of cost to me, still i would have avoided staying there......hence sincere suggestion... even though it is freezing cold outside, please go for AC room only.....
Classic ac room was well maintained, even though the TV made such strange noises on starting up that I had to call management to ensure it didnt burst....but they told me its like that only and the noise will die in 10 mins... which it actually did.... Good that I'm not much a fan of TV or else I was in for a severe disappointment..... For a room that you charge in excess of 3000 a LCD with good connection is minimmum one can expect.....

Overall, just little better than OK

Room Tip: Always AC....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ezeego1

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I went to this hotel 3 years back and really liked it, so this time I went there again. But, I had a horrible experience this time.

1. The absensce of cleanliness
2. The qaulity of food is really detorieted. Earlier, everyday they had adifferent menu, like chinese or gujarati or punjabi or maharashtrian. This time, all the vegetables were punjabi, with the same masala. There were so many flies too!
3. The recreational area was filthy. The have entrance for restrooms from there itself, it stinks!
4. The room was not well maintained. Hot water was not avaialbe even at 9 am. TV is from Baba Adam's jamana. We could hardly watch it.
5. The management is too arrogant. The said that the credi card machine is not working, "No line" message constantly appears when you swipe the card. There is a trick. Ask them to put the card reader's jack in the telephoen jack and then everything works fine. They somehow always want cash and are playing tricks like these.

I am very disappointed with all of this and have decided not to visit this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dombivli
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Rooms have deteriorated . Used to be good when it got renovated some 2 years back. its really not maintained well as paint coming out from walls, polish from furniture, bathroom fitting look old.The rooms near the main gate are still better. However food quality is good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It's a neat medium size hotel much near the main market on almost the same height.Moved apart from the town,10 minutes walk from the market on the road to Tapola & Babbington Point, it's pleasant,unobtrusive for Honeymoon couples.Clean rooms,good veg.food Guju,Agarwal style, it boasts of a good dining hall & terrace overlooking the valley behind the market.In the evening good sunset can be observed from the bund on the nearby lake, again overlooking the same valley.Hearty breakfast with variety thrown in, the fare is good.It's a little bit more oily,may be due to Agarwal antecedents of the owners.It's Planned well with enough central lawns space within a horse-shoe alignment of the rooms. A little more attention towards Hygeine & leaking faucets would go a great way in enhancing the superb experience.
There's a Hindu temple with Dutt Guru shrine on the precincts for the devout minded on the lake side.

Room Tip: Facing the lawns on same level.Suites, Bungalow upper floor, near the dining hall with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bharat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bharat Hotel

Address: Near New Lake, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Bharat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bharat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.