We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anarkali Hotel

Anarkali Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Anarkali Hotel
Save Saved
You added Anarkali Hotel to your Saves list
No.-166,Kasam Sajan Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It has a homely atmosphere, courteous staff, and good food.
Also has open areas for kids, and well done up rooms. Being close to the main market is an added advantage. Definitely value-for-money, whether visiting with family or friends.
All in all a comfortable place to be staying at, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We selected Hotel Anarkali for one of our weekend trips on the recommendation of a friend - and are really glad we did so. A quiet place - away from the madness of the market area but still not far from it if you really cant resist a visit! The hotel itself is quaint - freshly painted, with simple but well appointed rooms. There is enough open space for kids and also cute passageways and garden where evening sit outs are fun. They looked a bit short staffed, but the staff on the whole is friendly and courteous - especially important when you have kids with you.
A thumbs up for Anarkali - will definitely visit again!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the worst hotel i have ever visited. The hotel is not worth even having food, there no chef in the hotel, no chinese food available, and the food we ordered was horrible. To add more there was only one waiter in the restaurant. I paid a lot for duplex room but the bathrooms were dirty and there was a dead cockroach on my bed, the pillows and bedsheets were dirty and black.

Room Tip: Please dont ever think about going to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hotel Anarkali is a very good hotel in case you are going with your family, wife, or even friends. The rooms are clean and open lawn like area in front of the rooms gives you a nice evening time. Being in Mahabaleshwar, the atmosphere is pleasant and cool. But I think the location plays a part too. Also, it is not exactly on the main road as you have to drive in a lane a bit. Still, it is pretty close to the market place. Overall, a good place to stay when you go to Mahabaleshwar and you don't worry about the cost either. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

In times where hill stations and weekend get-away spots have started resembling the crowded cities from which one wishes to get away, thankfully places like Hotel Anarkali still exist.
It provides just the right mix that one desires when on a holiday - of peace & quiet on one hand, and proximity to central locations like the main market/ tourist spots, on the other.
The hotel itself takes you back to olden times, what with its ethnic look which it has managed to upkeep all through these years. The rooms are neat and tidy, done up with simplicity yet much taste. And for the typically lazy beings like me, it has enough for you to stay put in the premises - pool, play area for kids, and lots of open spaces.
However, what really differentiates it from most other places is the service quality and the food, both of which take it to another level of comfort and homeliness, and which anyone who's stayed here will vouch for.
All in all, a wonderful place that provides you your moneys worth. One that's been pulling me back to it for the last 5 years, and will continue to do so in the future too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Recently I brought my wife a new car and since we had a longish weekend to spare we decided to celebrate it by driving down to Mahabaleshwar a favorite short trip destination of ours. We both had made numerous trips here through our growing years and had stayed at a lot of places in this town, this time however on a strong recommendation we decided to try out the Hotel Anarkali. Now this place has been a favorite with my Dad and I could fully understand why after this trip. The place itself is so close from all the main vantage points like the market and the lake yet it is nestled into a quiet almost nondescript corner off the main road, there are signs all the way and this being a heritage property and amongst the oldest in Mahabaleshwar is known to every local.
Once at the gate we were welcomed and the check-in was smooth and friendly. The place itself is easy on the senses, just what you would want on a getaway jaunt. The hotel is what you make of it a quaint red stone structure that has stood through time, the staff is courteous and leaves you alone. The rooms are comfortable and cozy, there are archaic pass ways, there are enough open spaces which are great for a sit-out (the hotel promptly arranged one when we requested) the restaurant hs a lovely old world charm to it with large picture windows that overlook the greens and a simple yet v v tasty menu, it's just like going home. There are lots of places to walk around and cute little gazebo types seats, they have a pool too which is v convenient. Even the reception/front desk is a classic wooden alcove which also has a picture gallery of the famous people who have stayed at Anarkali, a lovely touch we thought.
The food was the highlight it was just awesome everything from the tandoori to the Chinese was superb, no wonder then that we found a lot of guests from other hotels coming here just to dine. The owners have not tried to change too many things in this place and which is what gives it it's unique warmth and a rustic charm while still being a v comfortable place to stay. Bonfires are lit during winters and are a therapy to the senses. Another thing we discovered was that the management screens patrons and politely refuses the typical noisy or racket creating groups of people. This preserves the peace n the languid calm of this place.
The Venna lake is a short walk away and so is the main market, strawberries were in season and we sure had our fill of them.
Rates at the hotel were reasonable and it seems now you can even book this place online, which is not true with a lot of other hotels in Mahabaleshwar. All in all we spent a truly relaxed 3 days at this home away from home and came back refreshed and recharged.
I recommend this place highly for a laid back sojourn to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the tandoori chicken here, it's superb. Also opt for the rooms in the old wing they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Anarkali is a hotel that gives you a perfect feel of the british raj in India. Beautifuly placed old section rooms are recommended, though the new section is also lovely. The best thing about this hotel is the catering. I am not surprised that many people (locals and tourists) come here just to dine!!. Rooms could do with better lighting but are very clean and staff is very courteous. Will come back Anarkali: Yours Truly Prince Salim :)

Room Tip: choose the old wing if you can, if you have very old people, you may choose rooms where you dont nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anarkali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anarkali Hotel

Address: No.-166,Kasam Sajan Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anarkali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.