We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahabaleswar - can not get better than this.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dina Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dina Hotel
Save
You added Dina Hotel to your Saves list
C.T.S. No. 143A / 142A / 143, Mahabaleshwar 412 806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Mahabaleshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mahabaleswar - can not get better than this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent location, spacious clean rooms with double head room, even spacious bathroom, top class food, sprawling garden and personal attention of the owner - Hormuz. In love with this place. Will keep on visiting...

Room Tip: Separate Units near the entrance are the best ones for big groups and families. With prior permissio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went with wife and 2 friends (could have been 4 more family/friends, but they had to drop out due to sudden change of plans) for 3 nights. The occassion being our wedding anniversary. The hotel came to know about our anniversary and decorated our room with toran (floral string), rangoli, (parsi style of decorating the room) and even aranged a big cake in the evening and played the anniversary waltz while we cut the cake. What a warm and affectionate way to treat their guests.

Apart from that, the hotel has a old world charm, is good value for money, spoilt for good food, beautiful garden to walk around, ample parking, well equipped rooms, courteous and helpful staff at your beck and call.

The location of the hotel is ideal and one can walk to the market place or to the lake (with a little effort climbing uphill while returning from the lake and even visiting the strawberry farms.

We paln to visit the hotel again in April with the whole group which earlier could not make it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor of the hotel and if in a big group, select rooms on either the East...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dina Hotel in Mahableswar is where we enjoyed a wonderful week's holiday in late February 2013. This charming Parsee owned hotel is run by Hormuzd and Shobha Mahableshwarvala and has been in the family for six generations. It has a beautiful location overlooking the hills and Venna Lake and it's distinctive red roof can even be spotted while boating on the lake. Incidentally, the hotel is within walking distance of both the lake and Mahableshwar market. Set in extensive, beautifully landscaped gardens, it also has a children’s play area, outdoor leisure and parking space too. We found the service attentive and polite and the choice for all three meals extremely generous. The cuisine is delicious and caters to Parsee and non-Parsee tastes so there is something to suit all palates. Seconds of any particular item we requested were generously served. As you may expect, fish is not frequently on the menu since there is no coastline nearby but mutton and chicken are invariably on the menu along with a great choice of Indian and western desserts.

The rooms are clean and come in two categories: Standard rooms are on the ground floor and deluxe rooms are on the first floor. Rooms are well appointed with en suite facilities and are very comfortable. For an extra Rs. 500 per person per day, the first floor rooms are more recommended since they have great views and more spacious bathrooms and toilet areas. Fans and air circulation units as well mosquito coverings on all windows made our stay very comfortable. Noise can be an occasional problem if your next door neighbour has very young children, but over a seven day period we had several neighbours and this can sort itself out. The TV offerings are so huge that you can easily find something of interest. Each deluxe room has a separate veranda area with seating provided and overlooking the hills, the lake and the hotel's beautiful gardens which are alive with colourful flowers.

The games facilities are rather limited with two carrom boards in the lobby adjoining the dinning room. The hotel does not have a swimming pool but the beautiful gardens provide opportunities for pleasant walks.

The hotel will arrange for a car to assist you with sightseeing trips or a day trip to the nearby town of Panchgani.

It appears the Hotel has a loyal clientèle as we encountered guests who mentioned they now seldom go elsewhere now they have enjoyed its excellent hospitality, beauty and location. The management keeps a watchful but discrete presence to ensure that staff maintain standards with Shobha supervising the kitchens and Hormuzd keeping an eye on the building and grounds.

In short, Dina Hotel is one of those charming 'oldie-worldy' Parsee owned hotels which continue to provide a fast-vanishing, but refined hospitality; the kind of place where your waiter will serve your morning and afternoon tea on a tray (with a teacozy!) which you can sip while breathing in the salubrious mountain air and listening to enchanting birdsong. Such nostalgia! Can't wait to return....

Mr and Mrs A M Bilimoria (Mumbai and London)

Room Tip: The rooms are all high quality but the deluxe rooms are well worth the little extra if you like good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night but was a wonderful experience. Staff is really courteous It's the old world charm. Colonial Brit bungalows , very well maintained Nicely renovated. Smallest details are taken care off. Food is awsome and the staff will never let you go empty stomach. Best lake view location in mahableshwar None other can beat it. Would come again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Mahabaleshwar. The hotel was recommended by a friend. There was no on-line reservation facility so I just called the hotel; the whole process took less than a minute! The tariff includes full board. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a call from the hotel around lunch on the day we were to check in. They seemed to be expecting us for lunch and were enquiring by what time we would reach Mahabaleshwar. We found the hotel to be excellently located and checked in by about 1900 hours. We discovered that this was one of the oldest hotel properties in town and the lodgings had all been recently refurbished. Built in an old British colonial style, the toilets were larger than most bedrooms in Mumbai! The dining room was quaint, warm and friendly. The dinner was superb and a wonderful end to a longish day of travel.

We were looking forward to exploring Mahabaleshwar and neighborhoods like Panchgani etc. However, the property grew on us and we decided to enjoy the views and the hospitality instead. We can say, without doubt, that the crowning glories of this property are the views, the superbly manicured lawns & flower beds and, of course, the food. Each meal was 3 or 4 courses, tastily cooked and graciously served. We ate more than usual at each meal and yet kept looking forward to the next!! Clearly, the Dina is a stellar example of Parsi hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful views, unfortunately not from one's bedroom window. The food was, on balance, very good. The hot water tap became extremely hot quickly and was then almost impossible to adjust. Stairs were a bit too steep. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and there was plenty of storage space for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Dina is one of my favourite holiday joints - whether with family or friends I have stayed many times.and each time the experience has been good.

the atmosphere is just like home.
rooms are comfortable but could be bettered.
gardens are superb.
best i like are the corridors which become a meeting point for groups to chat and party
meals are good - typical old time sit down meals with a variety of cuisine.
i have never seen anyone complain.
recommend it for a family/ group holiday

Room Tip: if with a group choose rooms on the cottage outside - becomes a separate area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dina Hotel

Address: C.T.S. No. 143A / 142A / 143, Mahabaleshwar 412 806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.