We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of improvement. . .cleanliness” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Mahad Road | District Satara, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of improvement. . .cleanliness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was there over the weekend at Regal. Paid a whopping Rs.14.5K for 2 nights for Elegant pool view. The property is big, beautiful location, even the staff are extremely helpful, the room too was quite big, beautiful swimming pool. But the cleanliness is a huge disappointment.

The dining area is unclean and needs be painted. Since the flooring tiles are brown, it gives an unclean atmosphere. The broken chairs need to be mended and offcourse the tables and chairs need to be polished. Also, the toilets outside the dining area needs a lot of cleaning. In fact the seat is broken in one of the toilets which needs to be done up.

The room is quite big, but certain things need to be looked at acutely for greater customer experience. Firstly, the celing/corners in the ceiling need to be cleaned. There is dust accumulated on the center table, TV table and offcourse the red sofa cum bed. The tv can be wall mounted rather that kept on the table. The drawers in the side table need to be thoroughly cleaned after the customers leave, since there were bandaid covers, some strings, etc lying in the drawers. The baggage area near the wardrobe needs too be cleaned up since its too dusty. And offcourse, rather that a queen size bed, a king size bed should be provided for a family of 2 with child can accommodate. Most importantly, the bed sheet needs to be white and clean, rather that one which has been used n used n used. And offcourse, the pull over should be a simple one rather one which has been stitched in a cover and is all over the place at the time of sleeping. The AC needs to be serviced, since there was some smell coming.

Coming to the bathroom/wc, its big enough. But again cleanliness need to be maintained. The pipe under the basin in very unclean with stains on the wall. Similarly, the back of the door needs to be white and not with stains. The bottom half of the bathroom where most of the water gets sprayed, needs to be thoroughly cleaned with a brush and sediments need to be cleaned from between two tiles. Also, next to the basin a glass needs to be kept for customers to keep tooth brushes.

The property is big enough, however, the road to walk outside the property is neither tar nor concrete. Also, secluded with monkeys around. Suggest that for customers who walk to the market and back, there should be a small entrance at the start of the property, where there are some rooms built. It will be highly convenient.

The food was a decent veg spread. The issue was that even if you had one bowl of soup or just one uttappam, the stomach used to get full. Seems that a lot of eating soda is being added. This needs to be really looked at.

The music played in the common area late evenings is way way way too old. New collections need to be added and offcourse, a good system required.

The management needs to seriously look into all these issues if they want repeat customers.

Room Tip: Suggest the Villas, if they are kept clean. Else, the Elegant pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hi !! !
myself, my husband and my 2 kids (2yrs and 8yrs) visited this resort in the last week of may.
Since was travelling with by 2 year old baby i was very worried about the food. But the resort staff was very co-operative. They actually made meals without any spices for my baby. They would even sanitise the vessels given. The staff deserves a special thanks for this.
Apart from this the swimming pool is big and kept very clean. A lot of outdoor activites are there like cycling...badminton...The location is good..although little far from market....
Overall a nice experience

Room Tip: Splendid rooms which we booked are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Mumbai was burning with heat and was in much needed break. Mahabaleshwar should be renamed as heaven on earth. What an amazing climate. We had booked for Ac rooms but at the end forget switching ON the Ac , we had to ask for extra blankets in the night.....and to top it all ..we got just a perfect Hotel. The surrounding very green, peaceful and a lot of open areas.
After each meal it was mandatory to take a walk :) we actually over ate.
Overall Good food , Good ambience and Very good staff.

Room Tip: Go for Non Ac rooms as weather is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed ourself to the brim. We four friends visited this property during the 25th may weekend.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourself. This property has a lawn tennis court , cricket in nets, cycling ,swimming , badminton…….we stayed for 2 days and did not step out of the property. Food was awesome. We preferrd the dinner to the lunch as they served Chinese and Punjabi for dinner. Overall worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

stayed for 3 days .had a great experience with nature view & comfortable stay.service was top class ditto for food.looking forward to staying again.the pool view rooms r better .location simply top class far from the madding crowd.the staff looked to r every need.information sought was promptly provided .cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

location is best for those who need loneliness,natural & mindblowing place to enjoy.I enjoy nature honey centre which is vicinity of hotel also nice swimming pool & food is some whats good eventhough can't refuse to write hospatility is beetr.

Room Tip: I have been there during holi, its a nice location and room are very nice like at home.its offered r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was looking for the best property in Mahabaleshwar to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and our Son’s (6 year) first visit to any Hill station.
And I must say I spent days in searching for hotel and reading the reviews of Guests before I finalised this hotel . Once we reached there – I realised it was worth taking the pain. Hotel Property is good. We booked the Royal Room. The room was just over looking the strawberry plantation in the resort.
Hotel staff was good . Great food . Their General Manager took personal interest in each guest and kept track of how we are every day .
What else can I say – till today my Son remembers that trip and says whenever we plan next trip to another city – it should be exactly same Regal.
This itself shows that our trip was amazing . So thank you to all staff members of Regal and keep up the good work .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Mahad Road | District Satara, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Regal Hotel to your Saves list