We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enuf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar to your Saves list
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/B, Metgutad, Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good enuf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in april 2013. While booking we went buy the website, reviews etc. which looked good but we missed an important message that the hotel is going to be shut for renovation very soon. When we called the numbers it connected to some customer service people not the hotel reception. These customer service people were quite unpolite. Any case we reached the place, got a good room, service, food everything was pretty good, nothing really to complain. However for the price the property nor the view does justice, I would recommend people to avoid this property until the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: I believe the right side rooms would have a wider virew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Surya has been one of the longstanding better properties of Mahabaleshwar. The hotel seems to have undergone some renovation and the rooms are really shiny. What really takes the cake is the hotel staff and chef. Me and my wife had the opportunity to stay there for a night. The staff is ever courteous and extremely helpful. Ready to cater to your every whim and fancy. We had a dinner and breakfast at the property and most of their items were near perfect. From soft veg. manchurian to ghar ki jaisi daal and the right amount of thickness in their uttapas. Our full compliments to the chef. Not to mention it was extreme value for money for us due to a corporate discount. Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The property is recently taken over by Fern Eco Hotel Group. From the experience the only place you Ferns Groups name is in the Calendars they have put in the Rooms. The location is excellent just on the out skirts of Mahabaleshwar town on the main Panchagani Mahabaleshwar road. Its calm and peaceful with great forest view from the hotel room. The only grouce is you have to drive to each and every point in and around Mahabaleshwar. But good food, overall cleanliness and courteous and helpful staff makes it worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We planned a very last minute holiday to Mahabaleshwar and booked this hotel via Makemytrip. I was very apprehensive since the hotel does not have great reviews. But to my surprise the resort was quite good. All the rooms are valley facing and have a great view. Rooms are spacious and clean. Food is not excellent but above average. Room service is very slow, that is one negative point. We got a deal in which meals were included with the room. For lunch, since there were very few people, they let us order whatever we wanted from the menu, so that proved to our advantage. The dinner buffet was not that great, there was only one non veg dish. The breakfast buffet was good.
Overall, it’s a good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nestled amidst greenery, the location of this hotel is very good. Being away from the main market, it offers peaceful atmosphere. The rooms have a good view of the greenery in front and the staff are very courteous. The dining room is also offering good view while you enjoy your food. The choice and taste of food is good though every item comes with a touch of sweetness. However, if one requests you can get good stuff without being over sweetened. However, the entire hotel could do with a bit of spruce up,thick overgrowths around and paints peeling off walls greeted us though the management said they were carrying out repairs. A little more professional touch and this place can be an excellent one.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the corner offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

An average rated hotel with good and clean rooms, swimming pool and gymnasium, good for large no of people if visited will be awarded good discounts.
The Quality of food is reduced and there is a limited menu in a buffet.
If specified large group can have a choice of food.
Overall a budget hotel with a lot to grab.

Room Tip: Not much of a difference in comfort although there are 2 types of room, a suite will cost you double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for review. We are pleased you like our cleanliness, service and location. We have shared your feedback with the chef and hope to you a better dining experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Address: 19/B, Metgutad, Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.