We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Girivihar Hotel

Girivihar Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Girivihar Hotel
Save
You added Girivihar Hotel to your Saves list
Shri Ramkrishna Bhuvan, Mahabaleshwar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Pune, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We are regular guests for last 30 years. The management is very good. The campus is fantastic, very safe for children to play. The owners take a personal interest to ensure that all guests are comfortable.

The food is fantastic.

Last but not the least the service is personal and exceptional.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thane, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Girivihar a great place for a short family break. Plus its located close to the main market. The rooms are clean, cosy and spacious. The tariff is also pretty decent cos it includes all meals and breakfast etc. The staff is very cordial and cooperative. i have been visiting this place since 1994. nd its just fabulous!!!! its not like a commercial hotel. its very calm and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Girivihar is a great family hotel to stay in Mahabaleshwar. Located at a close proximity from the market this property offers clean, cosy and spacious room to stay with your family. The tariff though slightly on the higher side includes all meals, snacks, breakfast etc. The main highlight of this hotel is the authentic Maharashtrian food offered at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its like eating at home. This is a treat especially for Maharashtrians. The staff is very cordial and cooperative. I recommend this property for a memorable stay in the lap of nature. With a small temple in the compound , one can even meditate in the calmness of the premises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

girivihar is very nice hotel. the service is very good with their friendly staff. the food served is pure veg. and the food quality is also excellent. the rooms are also well maintained so overall good experience and enjoyed the trip to mahabaleshwar in girivihar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family has been a patron of this hotel for more than two decades,and I holidayed a lot here as a child.On a recent weekend break,we decided to give vent to our nostalgia and booked their best room for two days.We were in for a very rude shock,however.Gone are the days when their service was impeccable,rooms spotless and food mouth watering.The staff was extremely unhelpful and in some cases downright rude.The rooms smelled faintly of left over food that had rotted,and the food was so terrible,i threw up within minutes of the first meal.We had booked a premium room solely because we wanted 24 hours hot water supply,however,they switched the hot water off at 6 pm on the first day and kept fobbing our request for hot water off,stating the pump was not working.After we settled our bill on the second day and informed the management that we would leave sometime during the night,we were INSTRUCTED not requested,to leave asap,as otherwise,there would be no one to open the gate for us.this,when we had actually paid for 12 more hours anyway.For the same tariff you can hire rooms and services that are 20 times more luxurious in many more hotels in the area,like we have been doing for the past 3 years,my husband and I will take our custom back to ravine hotel in panchgani and desist from wasting our money on girivihar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Near Mahabaleshwar Market , yet cozy and quiet. Has nice and maintained campus, not too big. The staff and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat, clean, well maintained, but still simple and comfortable. A nice temple inside the campus where elder members of the family feel at home.
Food is great. Maharashtrian Meals unlimited food and great variety.
Not too expensive and comfortable. They should add some games / play area for children of all ages.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Girivihar is 1 of the oldest hotels in mahabaleshwar. This nice, cozy, old styled htel is 5 mins fro the market and yet very quite. The rooms are nice simple big cottage like. Dnt expect it to give you lavish interiors but the simplicity appeals more. The campus is huge. food provided is simple. Service is very friendly and waiters are polite.
overall a very nice, cozy typical mahabaleshwar styled old hotel at affordable rates. :) :) :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Girivihar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girivihar Hotel

Address: Shri Ramkrishna Bhuvan, Mahabaleshwar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girivihar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.