We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saj Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saj Resort to your Saves list
Saj Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Metgutad village | Mahabaleshwar Panchgani Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rotary District 3140 District Governor Elect Lata Subraidu organised Pre PETS of 2013-14 at this resort between 6th and 9th December when the entire resort was booked for around 150 Rotarians, some with their wives and childre too, totalling to around 220.
The resort has excellent facilities. The rooms are well appointed. The coffee shop and dining rooms with its excellent service by the staff offered very delicious food. Enjoyed the variety offered by them in break fast, lunch and dinner as well as during the evening high tea sessions.
The garden where our evening programs with cocktail dinners with music, could accommodate all the 220 and odd people comfortably. So also is their air conditioned green house where meetings were held.
The staff were very friendly making our stay more comfortable.
It is a nice place even where weddings are arranged as we could observe a big marriage party arriving jusr when we, after an enjoyable stay at this resort, were leaving.
A nice resort with hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: The rooms facing their green house with the swings outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you & your entire group had a great experience while here at Saj Resort. Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our Endeavour is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests. We are glad to note that several aspects of the hotel product, service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression. Your comments regarding the hotel, decor, service and food are truly appreciated. We are glad that we could make your trip memorable.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    111
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
141
86
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is very good. One of the best hotel for family and for get together. Excellent food. Very well maintained rooms, good service, the staff is very corteous.Overall very good and well managed hotel to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you & your entire group had a great experience while here at Saj Resort. Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our Endeavour is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests. We are glad to note that several aspects of the hotel product, service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression. Your comments regarding the hotel, decor, service and food are truly appreciated. We are glad that we could make your trip memorable.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Saj Resort is one of the best hotels I have ever visited, the food, the rooms, the service was excellent. Outside our rooms we even had a swing for ourselves, that we sat on in the evenings with a little campfire that was provided to us when requested for.Sightseeing cabs were also arranged for on request, places were easily accessible from the resort. Also we had gone there by Neeta Volvo, which drops and picks you exactly at the gate of the resort.The people working there are also very sweet and courteous, they provide best customer service possible.Thanks to the quality of service and food, we even extend our stay for one more day.You will not be disappointed by this Resort.
Looking forward for another holiday there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar !

Our heartfelt thanks for the most amazing feedback and your recommendations about our hotel and the staff. We genuinely appreciate you taking your time out to post this review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and exceeding your expectations every time you stay with us.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had been fortunate to attend one wedding in Saj Resorts - Mahabaleshwar the hill-station, some two hours drive from Pune, Maharashtra, India. The venue was perfect setup with three different spots for different ceremonies, within the resort. The climate [mid November] was also best to visit, the winter was just round the corner to settle down. The resort has ample space to organize any function, of say around 250pax - 300 pax. Including, sufficient rooms and lawns for the functions. The food was deliciously good and mouth-watering. The spa is also good and offers variety of different massages from trained staffs. Again, being just 8 km away from the main Mahabaleshwar market, you get the peace of being away from hustle-bustle of day to day life.
Good place, must visit if you are planning Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: Go for Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.Nothing gives us more joy than to know that our guest had a wonderful stay with us. We at Saj Resort strive to offer a high level of service and it boosts our spirits when the same is experienced & appreciated by our guests. Thank you once again!
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Saj Resort, and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had visited Saj Resort recently & its very beautifully done .The rooms are well maintained & the food served is delicious.There newly opened Vyom spa is good.Over all a nice place to stay.Staff is also very courteous right from your entry in to the resort till you check out you are taken care of very well.

Room Tip: luxury & cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.Nothing gives us more joy than to know that our guest had a wonderful stay with us. We at Saj Resort strive to offer a high level of service and it boosts our spirits when the same is experienced & appreciated by our guests. Thank you once again!
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Saj Resort, and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went to Mahabaleshwar without any booking and were lucky to stumble upon Saj Resorts.

It is a nice property. We were two families with 4 children in the age group of 1-6. The cottages were big (two separate beds for big children). We liked them instantly. The package included all meals and while looking forward we felt that it was a bit costly, looking back I feel that it was really value for money.

The staff was very helpful... The heeded to our room change request when the children insisted that our room should also have a swing like the other friend's room had...

The staff would even look after the kids while the adults were having dinner (obviously, it still was our responsibility if they got hurt, but nevertheless, someone was ensuring that they wouldn't venture near the stairs or the exit doors ;-))... They even prepared special meals for children on request (no spices etc.). They would even call back to our room to check if we have had our meals (and were not left sleeping etc.).

We had to check out before breakfast on the last day. We were surprised when the hotel staff asked us why we did not request for an early breakfast and that they would have happily arranged something for us at 6:00 in the morning...

Any minor glitches here and there are absolutely nothing in comparison to the hospitality that the staff offered. We loved the experience and would happily stay there in the future too.

Room Tip: We were in cottages 105 and 106. That row of cottages (101 - 107) is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are all overwhelmed by your generous compliments. All of us feel so proud that your stay with us was spectacular and you enjoyed with us .
Every guest is very special and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience during their stay with us.
We look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Saj Resort, and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Tel:-02168 - 272001 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's the most overrated hotel of mahabaleshwar. It's not clean. Plumbing is very bad. The flush did not work n it took two hours to repair it. The food is ok-normal nothing extraordinary. The facilities in room or the furniture is below average. The overall ambience is ordinary. I went there after reading few reviews in trip advisor but was greatly disappointed. This hotel better be avoided.
(Please not that I have clicked sleep quality as Very Good by mistake which cannot be changed)

Room Tip: Need I say more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous new year.

We thank you for choosing SAJ Resort as your Diwali holiday destination.

I sincerely apologize for the plumbing inconvenience caused to you, but allow me to explain the matter in brief.
Every hotel has a few maintenance issues. Since all the rooms of the resort were sold out, The general manager offered our directors personal room for you to stay. You refused to take up on that offer and did not co operate, and were also verbally abusive towards our management. The problem could have been solved amicably. However We hope you give us one more chance to serve you and ensure you a better experience next time. Hope you have a happy holiday season.

Warm Regards,
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saj Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saj Resort

Address: Metgutad village | Mahabaleshwar Panchgani Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saj Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saj Resort is located at Panchgani Road, Metgutad, just a few minutes away from the lake and main market. The nearest airport at Pune is about 120 kilometers away.Set amidst refreshing lush green surroundings, the resort offers 78 tastefully decorated rooms. Guests can choose from Luxury Ac,Luxury Ac with Balcony and Ac Cottages. While all rooms are appointed with modern amenities such as LCD Television and attached bathroom with hot and cold water,Tea & Coffee maker some rooms additionally have a sit-out area.Dining can be a delightful experience at the two on-site restaurants.We have a Coffee shop and a restaurant to satiate your hunger and delight your taste buds that serve various Vegetarian Cuisines ranging from an authentic Mughlai, Chinese, and Continental and also still serving the famous Gujarati Thali which made Saj Resort famous for its food & hospitality. Room service adds to the comfort of the guests.The resort features two conference halls that are well equipped to address the modern business requirements. The larger of the two halls can accommodate up to 300 guests. Private functions such as wedding ceremonies can be organized in the landscaped lawns.A dip in the swimming pool is an ideal way to start the day. The Vyom Spa offers guests an unparalleled experience in an environment of luxury and pampering. At the Spa, you can look forward to discovering holistic natural therapy, a combination of Ayurvedic, Oriental and Western Traditional Spa Treatments. Sessions at the Spa offer relaxation and rejuvenation to create a balance between the body and mind.For those wishing to continue their daily workout routine, Resort offers a fully equipped fitness center. The fitness facilities of our hotel gym include treadmill, multipurpose training unit,Spinning cycle. The Resort also provides a recreation room consists of a pool table, carom, and many other activities to unwind.An evening at the Royal Garden is sure to lift your spirits at the end of a hectic day.Other facilities offered are laundry service,car parking and 24-hour front desk,Internet Access through Wi-Fi.Relative Positions Bus Stand - 5km. Veena Lake -3km. Panchgani -14 km. Pratapgad Fort - 28 km. Pune- 120 km. Mumbai - 270 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saj Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saj Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.