We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Hyped!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britto's

Britto's
Baga Beach | India, Baga, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 46 restaurants in Baga
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Over-Hyped!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place has a great view and the presentation of the.Food is great but that's probably it. The food tasted ok and the prices are higher than the other shakes in the same area. The service was slow. I would not recommend visiting this place when there are better ones close by....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    235
    352
    187
    58
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
trvl4luv
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still hold its Charm...a Landmark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are in Baga you HAVE TO pitt stop here either for lunch,dinner or drinks at least
service was better and faster compared to last year
staff is friendly and every request was taken with a smile on there face
food quality was above average
Price is ok and still in love with the Ambience

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to soothe your taste buds.....but the charm of this place is fading.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have lost the count as how many times I have been to Britto's coz this wonderful restaurant holds a special place in my heart. I have tried almost all the delicacies here. I luv the Prawan cocktail served here. I have consumed gallons and gallons of beer during my countless visit to this nice and famous restaurant by the Baga Beach.

I remember I visited this beach side restaurant- the most famous in that line of the same business, first in 2006 with a bunch of my friends.

I had my first Prawn curry - the goan preparation, at this restaurant. I have excellent memories about this place and the delectable delicacies that they serve. Giant alive crabs, with claws tied at the entrance are quite an attraction in itself.

This time I had gone there with my friend and his wife just for an hour. Just a pint of beer and left cause it is customary for me that whenever I am in Goa I have to be at Britto's.

Just had a feeling whilst I was there that the place is not what it used to be. With more and more people coming to Goa every year, things are changing rapidly with less focus on quality, now. I had Chinese here in March 2013, it did not taste the same, however, I love the Prawn cocktail served here.

Anyways, the place is close to my heart and I will still come here whenever I am in Goa next but not for at least a year now. Four trips in one year to Goa is way lot maximum to outgrow of a place but not this eating joint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“nice curry, busy restaurant, beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice menu and fast service. Some cats etc begging for food. Generally good menu choice and prices Ok. Right on the beach too

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The magic is gone!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have great memories of this place with super food, great service and lovely ambience.Brittos is now over packed, overdone and overly noisy.The food is also nothing to rave about.I still remember the delicious butter garlic prawns and crab thermidore......what we had this time was nowhere near the earlier times. Even the dessert did not taste the same....Sigh!! This is happening to Goa all over.The place is bursting with people and it just does not feel the same

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britto's also viewed

 

Been to Britto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.