We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Guest House

Riverside Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Guest House to your Saves list
Riverside Guest House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Baga Beach, Baga, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Baga
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

I went to this place with my partner, we are looking for a place which was affordable with AC rooms and a pool and was not situated on the noise Baga road. This hotel is just rifgtky located beside the baga bridge with rooms overlooking the baga river.

It was a quite non frill hotel. The rooms were clean, the AC and lights worked with ample electricl connection for laptop and charging. The is hot and cold water available 10 to 10. The hotel does not have a restraurent of its own, there is a restrairent downstairs named Hibuscus who serves good food and has a small sweet bar. The pool is clean and an nicely maintained.

One can do finishing as well as it is right beside the river. The hotel staff were well mannered and not overtly courteous like other upstart hotels.

They have a check out time of 11 and they allowed us to utilize the pool and the restaurant much after we checked out and were good enough to come and speak to us.

Over all with the money we paid it was a very good deal.

A small business center with a Wifi would have made it a perfect place.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I am surprised that anyone can write a bad review of the Riverside Guest House. My partner and I have stayed here three times, this year for three weeks. It is ideally situated at the north end of Baga beach away from the bustle. The balconies overlook the river and there is a quite secluded pool at the rear.

The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly Mr Desei, who gave us our early morning calls whenever we went away.

It is the perfect location from which to explore Goa. We stayed in a beach hut up at Mandrem, went to Hampi, and spent time down in Palolem. Each time it was wonderful to return to the relaxing atmosphere and good service of the Riverside Guest House.

We will certainly go again, soon!

Grant and Jean Harrison

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Our group (9 persons) decided to book Hotel Riverside at Baga considering its proximity to Baga and upon recommendation from someone known.

We landed there at 1.00 clock with lots of expectation and hopes in our mind. We were asked to pay the entire the amount in advance along with charges for extra person in each room.

We paid the money and took the keys. The moment we entered the rooms, all our dreams where shattered as the room was in bad condition with lots of mosquitoes, lizard and other insect roaming around.

There was no TV, no telephone to contact and no room service available. We still agreed to stay as we were all boys and would spend more time on beaches rather than room. We were under the impression, that the extra mattress would be allotted to the third person since, we had paid the charge, but while enquiring during the night about the extra, we were asked to pay extra money for the same.

Since we all were tired we paid the amount and took the bed sheet. Next day when we went for the complimentary breakfast, we were told that only 2 breakfast (consisting for 2 slice of Toast bread with butter, jam and a cup of tea) per room. The charges for extra person was for room only and not include breakfast.

The staff was neither courteous nor polite with the customers. They didn’t even bothered to clean the room the next, neither did they provide any clean towel or soap.

They were interested to server the foreigners only and not Indian people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

The Manageress and staff were very welcoming, they helped us to our room which had a balcony over the river. The room was very clean and had a fan and air-conditioning. There is a nice area in the garden and also a terrace were you can eat under the moonlight and by candlelight.
The cuisine was delicious, quite an extensive menu, all cooked to order. I am hoping to return next year at the same time. Not that it really bothered whilst I was there, but I really enjoyed it there

  • Liked — The location by the river
  • Disliked — Business service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish gal
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We arrived at the Riverside Resort, on 17th February, after a very tiring journey. The Manageress and staff were very welcoming, they helped us to our room which had a balcony over the river. The room was very clean and had a fan and air-conditioning. There were some minor hiccups, but they the staff dealt with them very well. The bridge was being widened so there was quite a bit of noise during the day, but you couldn't really hear it by the pool. There is a nice area in the garden and by the pool to be waited on for food and drinks, and also a terrace were you can eat under the moonlight and by candlelight.
The cuisine was delicious, quite an extensive menu, all cooked to order. I am hoping to return next year at the same time and hopefully the bridge will be finished. Not that it really bothered whilst I was there, but I really enjoyed it there.

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Beds could of been a little softer, but they were ok.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed for 3 weeks in Feb and March 2007. This was our 4th visit and we will be back next year. The hotel is basic but it is classified as a guest house so that is to be expected. The bridge being demolished was a bit of a nusiance but the drilling has now finished, they were just clearing the rubble as we were leaving!!!!!!!

The staff were, as always, excellent. You couldn't ask for better service and the food was superb.

The bathrooms could do with upgrading but we have noticed improvements around the hotel this year and more are planned for next season.

For the cost of the holiday and the location the hotel is very good value for money.

  • Liked — The location by the river
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

I have to agree with last 2 reviews ,the staff where great the food was very good,the outlook perfect,the lower rooms where damp,toilets filthy, upstairs better,i think the management had given up because of bridge,manageress was somtimes rude.We did go out and bye our own cleaning stuff and clean our own room.If it wasent for that dam bridge we would have enjoyed our stay

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — owners
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guest House

Address: Baga Beach, Baga, India
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Guest House with 24 rooms on two floors, situated on the banks of Baga river, 400 mts from Baga Beach, 50 K.M from Airport, 15 K.M from Panaji, 55 K.M from Margao Railway Station. Reception offers money exchange, doctor on call, travel assistance and safe deposit lockers. Rooms are twin or double bedded, partly air-conditioned, ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, shower, WC, hot and cold water. Restaurant & Bar serves multi-cuisine, Goan, Continental, Chinese & Indian. Swimming pool with sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Hotel Baga
Riverside Hotel Baga
Riverside Guest House Goa/Baga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.