We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) to your Saves list
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baga 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've stayed at Colonia Santa Maria twice now and have to say that at about 40 Euros a night it's quite a steal. Breakfast was included and was okay; but the real charm lies in the proximity to the beach (the resort has its own private access) as well as its serenity.

CSM is great for young couples and families alike, as well as groups of friends. Make sure you phone for prices, and ask for a discount (not possible during peak season, of course) ... I usually get about 15% off the room tariff. If you're in a group, you could get lucky and manage 20-25%.

CSM also has a Kerala Ayurvedic massage center! I think you can use it even if you're not a staying guest, perhaps at an elevated cost - I've had the massage once, and it was quite a unique experience. Be prepared to deal with a loin cloth - their comfortable but tend to make you feel like they may fall off anytime :)

Finally, make sure you check the rooms first before you finalize your check in, as some rooms are better than others :)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the sea are nicer - check them before finalizing your room during check-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    170
    70
    26
    22
See reviews for
89
202
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the CSM from 22/2/12 to 14/3/12. We arrived at the hotel at about 3am and was instantly greeted and helped with our luggage there was the usual forms to fill in at reception but this didn't take long ,the room boys took us to our room 242 which was the last block on the right and our room over looked the garden towards the beach
The room was very comfortable and very very clean we had a comfortable bed with clean bedding every day the seating area had a flat screen TV,fridge and tea/coffee making facilities we even had a free newspaper pushed under the door every morning and I think our bathroom must have been one of the renovated ones because it had a large glass shower cubicle with modern fittings ect
The location is perfect just 2 mins walk to the beach we can recommend Boscos beach shack. Just outside the hotel gates is CSM Road which is lined with great restaurants and bars. I would stay here again everything you need is on the doorstep. Ok it's not 5***** luxury but we found it to be clean and a pleasant place to stay and most of the time the hotel staff were fantastic there was only one girl on reception who was a bit grumpy

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The location is good. Getting good rooms is really a lottery. You have to bargain hard. They will try to push the most shabby room first. Always check 3 / 4 rooms before finalising one.

We stayed there for 5 nights 6 days in last week of March, 2012. Within such long stay, we had never seen any hotel employee (front desk or restaurant) smiled to any guest. All the staffs are very passive & rigid type. They only know how to lick the feet of foreign tourists.

Food is average. Very limited variety in menu.

Situated in such a nice location, this proprty could have done excellent business if professional management is implemented & present staffs are replaced by professionaly qualified staff.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are better. But they charge higher tariff in the name of so called premium suits f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This lovely hotel is located at an excellent place and is just a two minute walk away from Beach. The service is outstanding and every single member of the staff was keen to make you happy. Every questions were answered immediately and I felt to be in good hands. The food was served in buffet style and was very tasty. I recommend you to eat everything spicy, so you won´t get sick from the food. The rooms was overall clean and the bed felt very comfortable for me. The bathroom was average and not European standard, but India is a poor country and so it was acceptable for me. Altogether my stay was very nice and I would come back anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The resort is located in the heart of Calangute ,and that's the only selling point.It has a direct entry onto the beach.They have some really crazy rules as far as the access pool is concerned,one can use the pool only between 09-06.I mean most of em would like to have swim when the suns not out,and this has been cleverly not taken into account.Upon asking why this rule,these guys says its a management decision.The restaurant is good but the service is really sllooww.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

stayed at the resort for 4days,in may 2012, exceptional service from staff, thomas, the,resort site, manager,personally ensured high quality service. 50 metres from fantastic beach.
thank you, gohil

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The second night were woken up by motorbikes and shouting then a cockeral this was 3am. We had a room that was opposite reception and near the security guard. I asked to move rooms the next morning and was told that the room we had was an upgrade and if we moved the room would be standard. If thats what they call upgrade I was dreading what the standard room would be like! The rooms are smelly, dirty and hot, the bed linen and towels are not clean. The AC is ancient and rubbish and the toilet smelt all the time. The shower had mould in it. The daytime staff on reception arent helpful but the evening staff were ok. We didnt eat in the hotel as we were warned against it which must have been a true reflection as it was always empty. The best restaurants are Under the Stars, Lazy Days and Fire and Ice. Please dont go to Pescados our main turned up and it looked like something i would feed my dog, we didnt eat the food we just paid the bill and wanted to get out and ended up getting a pizza from Dominos delivered! The best beach shack is Boscos it was the only beach shack with clean towels.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Address: Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
#2 Spa Hotel in Baga
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Beach Resort, also known as CSM Hotel or CSM Beach resort, is the premier resort on Baga beach of Calangute. The silver sand Baga beach is rightly touching the property. You do not have to go onto the main beach itself for the sun deck of the hotel is the rising green dune from where you get magnificent view of the Arabian sea and sun bathe without being hassled by the vendors on the beach. Our sea facing rooms and suites give you magnificent views from your balcony. The resort over four acres of spacious gardens is built in Portuguese style villas, each having six suites/rooms. Main beach is just couple of minutes walk even from the farthest room from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Santa Maria Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Baga Beach
Colonia Santa Maria Goa
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) Goa/Baga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.