We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Won't Be Dissapointed With The Keys Resort-Ronil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keys Resort-Ronil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Keys Resort-Ronil to your Saves list
Keys Resort-Ronil
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Baga, Baga 403516, India (Formerly Ronil Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Baga
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Won't Be Dissapointed With The Keys Resort-Ronil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Goa and whilst we normally stay in Candolim we decided to have a change this year and try Baga. I have to say that having now experienced Baga our preference would lie with Candolim. For us Baga is geared more for the younger generation especially the bars and clubs on Tito lane which is very lively. In contrast the Ronil provides a very comfortable quieter haven amongst the hustle and bustle of the area.

The hotel location is excellent, Tito's lane is virtually opposite where you can walk down to the beach in 5mins. Turn right out of the hotel and you can walk to the beach at the end of the Baga/Calengute road(15/20mins) or turn left to Calengute, it is walkable but a cab would be a better option for 100Rp.

Prior to travelling out to Goa we emailed a request for a pool view room in Block V and we were not disappointed. (See attached plan of Ronil Block Layout). The only criticism is that we were told that pool view rooms were regarded as an upgrade and we had to pay and extra £5.00 per day.
Also there are Deluxe rooms available that will cost £10.00 per day extra. Whilst the room we had was brilliant we did feel a little aggrieved since we spoke with some residents that had pool views in other blocks and did not have to pay any extra. I suppose if you want to take pot luck then that's your choice.

The room was very spacious and spotless. Our cleaner did a really good job and our towels were changed daily without needing any reminders. The toilet /shower did have a little mildew on the ceiling but a least the shower head was good. Its refreshing to have a shower that didn't fall off the wall as it does in many hotels. Don't forget to take your own sink plugs.
We did read other reviews on tripadvisor about avoiding certain blocks around the main pool due to noise from the entertainment. We found that this was not really a problem since the entertainment was rarely loud and finished around 10.30 to 11.00pm.

The buffet style breakfast caters for all tastes from continental to English to Indian and is very good. Travelling with Thomas Cook we were allowed three meal vouchers per week worth 800Rp each. We reserved a table by the main pool and used the vouchers towards our evening meals which were very good and made even better by the excellent waiter service. The waiter service in general is excellent nothing is too much trouble and everyone is very friendly and accommodating.

We were surprised by the lack of free WiFi. Why the Ronil feel the need to charge its residents for WiFi connection when most bars and beach shacks offer it for free just seems to be a penny pinching exercise.

The bar in reception closes at 11.00pm which we thought was a trifle early. We were told by the barman that it costs more to have the licence extended. Oh dear not another penny pinching exercise. Surely its not unreasonable for residents to expect a later bar than that.

The only major disappointment was on our day of departure. We asked if we could keep our room on for the day since we had a late pick up. We were told that we couldn't because the hotel was fully booked so we had to be out by 11.00am. Furthermore we asked if there would be a courtesy room available later on so that we could shower and change, again we were told no. As things turned out our flight was delayed by 24 hours and somehow the hotel found us a room for the next day in Block B (Pool view) which we didn't have to vacate until 9.00pm. Funny that.

That said our overall experience of the Keys Resort-Ronil was very good and we would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone travelling to Baga.

Just a suggestion to Mr D'Costa: It might be useful to avoid confrontations with residents on arrival if you liaised travel agents and ask them to make it clear in their literature that there are different room rates. That way people could manage their expectations better.

I have pointed out a few little niggles but these do not detract from a most enjoyable stay at the Ronil. Overall we had a great experience and should we return to Baga in the future would definitely be looking to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Roadside of Blocks E and F can be noisy due to traffic. Rooms in Blocks G, I, J and V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Tom

Thank you for your very elaborate feedback of your stay and our resort.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay, our resort , the food and the facilities. We appreciate the kind words for our associates as well.

The resort is centrally located and is ideal for anyone who intends to be right where the action is.

We have recategorised our rooms in the last year and the pool facing rooms are at a premium as well as the deluxe as rightly pointed out by you. Some guests might not be aware as these rates might be bundled up by the charter operator as a package. We have many guests who upgrade prior to arrival like you or on arrival.

We have introduced wifi all across the resort this year and as we have tied up with an outside agency we have to charge our guests. I am not sure if the shacks have a commercial license to provide such services so I cannot comment on the same. We will definately look into your suggestion though and see if we can explore this option as well.

We will also talk to the agents to ensure there is sufficient clarity during their communications.

We thank you for your patronage and are happy to note that you will return to our resort should you decide to stay in Baga on your next visit.

Regards

Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    210
    80
    21
    8
See reviews for
105
191
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

i have stayed in the hotel from 17th to 22nd March 2014. this is my second time in this hotel. its a fantastic hotel. deluxe rooms are spacious and standard rooms may be short space if you have kids staying with you. deluxe rooms also have a sofa cum bed. staff and the manager is completely professional when it comes to hospitality. very well maintained property. good breakfast and other food. location is the USP of this place. you can just walk to baga beach in 7-8 minutes through tito's lane which is the most happening place in baga and shops, pubs, night clubs in this lane are all open till very late into night ( 2-3 pm ). try mambo's night club in this lane. i went there on wednesday ( they have angels and demons night on wednesdays ). it was awesome. try saturday market at anjuna beach ( i missed it this time due to flight dates ). saturday market is fantastic.

Room Tip: choose a room other than one which has swimming pool view because there you dont have any privacy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Garg

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure having you back and I am glad that your stay was comfortable yet again.

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation of the team and also for the breakfast and other food options at the resort.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to having you back at our resort in the near future.

Regards

Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

stayed at ronil resort from 16 february til the 1st of march. I found this hotel to be really good, didn't really know what to expect in Goa seeing as this was our first time there.
I would like to thank the staff and General Manager for our stay there. The rooms were very spacious and the swimming pools were very clean.
Concerning the staff in the restaurant, Cruz and Romario were really good.
I hope to return one day and definately return to the Ronil hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Peter

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and look forward to your return.

Thank you for the kind words for Romario and Cruz which I shall convey to them.

We at the Ronil thank you for your patronage and look forward to having you back on your next holiday to Goa.

Regards


Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

5 stars to the location. This resort is hardly 100 meters from Baga beach...u cud walk to the Tito's or Baga. Many food joints around this place. The rooms are great and come with a balcony. Rooms are clean and so are the toilet/bathroom. The breakfast buffet that was included was pretty good. Overall i would love to visit this place again and highly recommend it to folks who want a place near Baga.

Room Tip: Pool side deluxe rooms or G block rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to Goa.

The resort as very rightly pointed out is centrally located and everything is easily accessible.

Thank you for appreciating the resort, its rooms and cleanliness besides the breakfast.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your continued visits to our resort.

Regards


Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our honeymoon trip and it was all that I expected. Keys is situated right in the middle of one of the most happening places in Goa - Baga. A stone throw away from clubs like Tito's and Mambo and Baga beach. Still the hotel is quiet and peaceful. The rooms are nice and clean although a bit cramped. The pool looks inviting and the food is great. The staff is ever helpful and ready to please.

Two let downs, a very poor cable connection to the TV. Called room service about it and it was fixed to some extent. But I really wish they would provide DTH. The beds were somehow uncomfortable (coir and spring mattress I guess), even in the executive rooms facing the pool where I was put up.

On the whole a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Anvesh

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to note that you had a great honey moon trip and enjoyed our hospitality and the food.

I have noted your feedback on the quality of transmission and shall take it up with our service provider. DTH has not become compulsory yet in Goa but eventually we will also move to the same. I have noted your feedback on the mattresses. We have introduced new mattresses in the resort but will still have the same checked.

Hi Anvesh

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to note that you had a great honey moon trip and enjoyed our hospitality and the food.

I have noted your feedback on the quality of transmission and shall take it up with our service provider. DTH has not become compulsory yet in Goa but eventually we will also move to the same. I have noted your feedback on the mattresses. We have introduced new mattresses in the resort but will still have the same checked.

I thank you for your patronage and look forward to your continued visits.

Regards

Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Keys Resort-Ronil is a nice resort located bang-on the most happening location of Goa i.e. Baga. It is just 5 minutes walking distance from Baga beach through the famous Tito's lane. Calangute beach is 15 minutes walking.
Pool view facing deluxe rooms are good. Rooms are clean and spacious.
Room service is a bit slow and needs improvement.
Breakfast served is good. Lunch and dinner options are good as well. Lot of restaurants are present just outside the hotel to add to variety. Lot of more eating options are available on Baga beach as well.
Book in advance and clearly tell what you want.

Room Tip: Pool View facing deluxe rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Gaurav

Greetings from Keys resort ronil.

I am glad to note that your stay with us has been comfortable.

Thank you for your kind words on the resort, the rooms, the breakfast and other food options at the restaurant. I have noted your comments on Room service and will look into the same.

we thank you for your patronage and look forward to your continued visits.

Regards


Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We are part of a hard core of regulars that return to the Ronil year after year. This was our 17th year there and this year we stayed for 6 weeks. The entire staff, who are the cornerstone of the hotel, are excellent - very friendly and welcoming. We found nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure we had a very comfortable and happy stay. Although there were just one or two issues with the food , in general it was very good. The main problem appeared to be serving hot food all together but , as the management are already aware of this, I am sure these issues will shortly be sorted out.
The hotel remained much the same for 25 years so improvements were needed and indeed the new management have already carried out some much needed refurbishment of the rooms, The reception area has been completely upgraded with the addition of a bar and there is new furniture in the restaurant and around the two pools. The restaurant area has also been redesigned and now has a canopy. We were informed that further improvements will be carried out later this year so it will only get better. One mistake I feel has been made is the removal of the outside Tandoor which, to me, typifies Indian food and made a very good visual impact on guests. When you think Tandoor you think Indian food ! I hope that ways can be found for it to be reintroduced.
Finally, a public thankyou to the Manager Mr Dennis D'Costa. On the day we were due to fly out of Goa the taxi drivers went on strike and there was no practical way for us to get to the airport. Bearing in mind we were independant travellers it did pose a considerable problem. Dennis personally intervened and ensured that we caught our flight. Yet another indication of the level of service you will receive at the Ronil.
In its class I regard this as the best hotel in the area and we hope and fully expect to return next year which in itself is a recomendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis_DCosta, General Manager at Keys Resort-Ronil, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from all of us at Keys Resort Ronil.

It was indeed a pleasure meeting the both of you once again. I am glad that you liked the new improvements in the resort and I have also noted your suggestion on the Tandoor and food.

We at the resort are indeed happy we could assist you on the day there was a Taxi strike and appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you both again next year.

Best wishes from all of us at Ronil.

Regards


Dennis D'Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keys Resort-Ronil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keys Resort-Ronil

Address: Baga, Baga 403516, India (Formerly Ronil Beach Resort)
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Keys Resort-Ronil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ronil is centrally located in Baga and in close proximity to the famous night spots like Tito's Mambos and Kamaki... It is right where the action is. The resort has 2 swimming pools and our refurbished restaurant serves arguably the best Goan food in Baga. One must try the Stuffed Crabs and the Prawn Balchao for sure besides the usual favourites of fish curry and prawn curry... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keys Resort-Ronil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronil Beach Hotel Baga
Ronil Beach Resort Goa
Ronil Beach Hotel Goa
Ronil Beach Resort Baga
Ronil Beach Resort Calangute
Keys Resort-Ronil Goa/Baga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keys Resort-Ronil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.