We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J&A's Little Italy

J&A's Little Italy
560 Villa Rodrigues, Baga River Road | Near Royal Goan Beach Club Hotel, Calangute, Baga 403516, India
9823139488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Baga
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the tranquil Arpora-Baga creek road, J&A's Little Italy has built up a formidable reputation for producing quality Italian cuisine day after day, year after year, since 1995. A one hundred and forty year old fisherman's cottage, restored and set under coconut palms in a beautiful tropical garden. A well-stocked bar with imported and Indian spirits and wines, J&A's is the perfect setting for a romantic evening out with your partner or a fabulous evening out with a bunch of friends. This is after all, the first specialty cuisine restaurant to have opened up in Goa. Listed in the Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Footprint Guide and other European guides, J&A's has bagged the best Italian Restaurant North Goa Award by the Times Good Food Guide, Food Awards , three years running.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The food,the service and the ambience made for a wonderful experience,the best chocolate pudding I have ever tasted,music just in the background so not intrusive,oh and max the cat comes to say hello

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it used to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I visited J&A's in January this year with friends. I've been before many times over the years but this time I was not impressed. The pizzas we ordered were undercooked and soggy with thick bases but we were to tired and hungry to complain. For the (for Goa) incredible prices they charge it wasn't good enough. The wine was similarly overpriced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsbmad, Owner at J&A's Little Italy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for your review of J&A's. I am really alarmed that you were served under-cooked and thick pizza's. Having been in the business for 19 years and having won 4 Times Food Awards, we take take great pride in the fact that we have so many happy people walking through our gates every year. It is our policy to make sure every customer gets exactly what he / she is paying for, or we will replace the dish immediately with no questions asked. I wish you had only asked.
We make no excuses for your bad experience that evening and I apologize. You say that you have visited us over the years in the past and do hope that you will not let one less-than-satisfactory experience put you off from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went here for an evening meal. The setting is romantic for a couple. Candle lit tables under the open sky. The tables are far enough away from each other to make them private. But would suit a large party as well. Good selection of food and wines. Very good service with out being in your face. Nice to be asked if the food is okay. Would go again. Cost us just over 2000 for starter and main and a few drinks for two. Take extra if you want a bottle of wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Little Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We all had a luvely afternoon, good food & impeccable service. My daughters enjoyed the food. We will definitely visit this place again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice evening worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant went from looking on trip advisor lovely setting very quiet nice music and a very good choice of menu. Service was very good and food was lovely highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&A's Little Italy also viewed

 

Been to J&A's Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&A's Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.