We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway to your Saves list
Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway
Cobrawaddo, Baga 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Baga
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Positives-
- It has a good location - It is very close to the Baga Beach
- It was quite safe. Unlike the previous reviews nothing was stolen from our apartments.

Negatives
- The pool is small and quite dirty
- The reception desk / service is slow

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was the most God awful place.....damp up the walls mosquitos in the bed and a fan that looked like it might kill us when we were sleeping.

Team that with lazy staff and a pool I wouldnt even let my donkey drink from , we could barely stay a night there and promptly check out...

Thank God for Casa Baga........amazing!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle_Lobo, Owner at Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Madam,

We apologize for your bad experience. We pride ourselves in delivering quality service at a great value so we are really disappointed that our rooms and service did not meet your expectations. The hotel has been sold to new management C.S.M Colonia Santa Maria and unfortunately your stay was during the transition period. This is not an excuse but unfortunately a fact. Again we apologize for your experience.

Warm regards,
Capt. Lobo & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Initially, the hotel seemed quaint and charming with its white-washed buildings and neat lawns. But the room was not what we expected! Damp walls with peeling paint, rickety furniture with dust settled on it, and cramped spaces were the highlights. A tea maker was provided but no spoons/tea bags/coffee sachets in sight.

Our room was on the ground floor and had a window with glass slots. Two of the slots were missing which made us very uncomfortable...almost as if anyone could sneak up and watch us. Very creepy! What's surprising is that the management knew about it but decided to do nothing, as if they had intended to peep in and keep a watch on us. I have never seen such an uninterested manager. Her name is Riya and she must definitely take lessons in hospitality management. Oh and the worst is yet to come!

Someone from the hotel STOLE some items from our room, even when the room was LOCKED by us! We had left the room unattended but locked for an hour and that's when this happened. It seems someone kept a close watch on us. I'm suspecting the thief had a duplicate key. When we informed the expressionless manager Riya about this, she merely shrugged! Can this be more pathetic?! I would not recommend this hotel to even my enemy..., or maybe I would. If anyone knows how to spoil someone's vacation, it's Capt Lobo's Hide-away-my-things! If the owner Capt Lobo is tad bit interested in sustaining this place, he better pull up his socks and take serious action. Just lending his name to the hotel and never showing up on the property has made the hotel go to the dogs and thieves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Plus : close to beach and happening places.

Minus: state of rooms- damp and stinking, toilet and bedroom too small and cramped, furniture in bad state, kitchenette has only a tea maker and some tea cups, no restaurant/ bar operational in the hotel (and same was not informed), no privacy to the pool- you are almost swimming in the street, cant trust room service, attitude of management.

General: Room service stole some items, apathetic attitude of management,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was recommended to this place by one of my friends and was glad that he did. Have stayed in this place twice now (Dec '08 & Oct '10). This place has direct access to the beach (2 mins walk) but it does not have its own private beach area.
The rooms (junior suite) of this place are really nice considering the price we paid for it. It has a seperate living area with sofas and a small kitchenette. All rooms have a balcony or patio as well. The bathroom could have been bigger though. There are probably no rooms with a sea view here except (maybe) for the ones in the villas next to & facing the beach. The tv is a small, maybe 16", old age ctv with poor reception. The minibar of the room was half stocked up with beer, breezers, soft drinks and water. The breakfast is basic with double egg of ur choice with two slices of bread/toast along with tea/coffee.
The receptionist on our first visit was unfriendly but sweet enough to accomodate us in a temporary place (as we had arrived 3 hrs before check in) till a proper room was available. The receptionist had changed on our second visit and was friendly and genuinely nice. The room service is slow in this place.
The beach area adjacent to the property is nice (highly commercial as its Baga) with good shacks like bosco's and xaviers. Water sports facilities are available 2. There is a kerala ayurvedic massage facility available in the complex itself. Never tried it so cant comment. Same goes for the food....why try here when there are good beach shacks providing free sunbeds (only if u order something) just steps away.
The swimming pool is more of a decor tool as its too small to swim in. The strange thing about this property is that the rooms of colonia santa monica and captain lobo are housed in the same villas. The villas have a decent lawn area and one could park their scooties on the driveway. One can also arrange for bikes and cars/jeeps (even for airport transfers) just outside the hotel property.
All in all, this place is pretty decent and recommended during high season for its close proximity to the beach as well as the happening areas of baga.

Room Tip: The room which we got on our first visit was bigger compared to the one we got during our second vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you are looking for a good, clean, and affordable beach property, there is no better property in Goa than Capt. Lobo's hideaway-this is your home away from home!
The ambiance is warm, relaxing, friendly and will make you want to come back again and again. I have stayed here on two occassions and it's ideal for tourists coming from the west but book early as they get sold out fast.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were At capt Lobos for 3 days, we were looking for a location from were both Baga & Calangute beach were easily accesible, well Capt lobo is dead in the middle , walking distance to Souza lobo & britto, Mambo & Titos, One of the best place I have stayed , The hotel staff were very friendly, Good & prompt service,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway

Address: Cobrawaddo, Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Baga beach, 2 mins walk to the water, this boutique beach resort includes white washed villas, pool-side restaurant and bar with loungers for sunbathing. Each villa has six air-conditioned junior suites. A junior suite includes living room with walk-out balcony, cable television, well-stocked mini-bar and air-conditioned double bedroom with attached bath. The resort is walking distance to Goa's most popular restaurants and nightclubs (including popular Tito's bar) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt. Lobo`s Hideaways Hotel Baga
Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway Goa/Baga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt. Lobo's Beach Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.