We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise in Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Monkey Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolute paradise in Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at Red Monkey Lodge and can't wait to go back! It's an absolutely stunning spot, allowing you to get back to nature and enjoy the simple pleasures of Jambiani with great service from all the staff.

I stayed here in June with a friend and it was the perfect R&R after being on the road. We'd both previously been to Kendwa in the north of Zanzibar and wanted something a bit quieter this time. If you're after 5*, this isn't the place for you but that's not what Jambiani is about anyway. I think it was incredibly good value for money, with a lovely room, hot running water of a good pressure when we were there, fresh flowers adorning the room every day and the best views you could ask for.

Mark and Kristine could not have been more accommodating and helpful. From the introductory drink and chat on arrival to very kindly helping us out with our money problems having been unable to withdraw cash in Stone Town, they went out of their way to make us feel at home - they love their place and that shines through in their service.

RM's main advantage is its positioning at the end of Jambiani, meaning that it is not a thoroughfare and you can often have the beach to yourself. Just around the corner is a fantastic sand bank to explore when the tide is out and you can feel like you are the only people in the world. The tides are often cited as a disadvantage of this part of the coast, but I loved the way the beach changed throughout the day and the water was crystal clear and idyllic.

A true eco-resort, local children play football on the beach each afternoon, monkeys climb in the trees and women grow seaweed at sea. It's a working beach but there's plenty of space for you as a visitor and there was far less hassling than you get in the North of Zanzibar. Great food too and they will cook things specially for you if you request. One of my favourite places - every day we sat and looked at the sunset over a drink and felt so lucky to be there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
79
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I came to Red Monkey Lodge on recommendation of a friend who has been going back there on and off for the last couple of years. I'm embarrassed to admit but as we pulled up I did a proper jaw-drop when I caught sight of the green water and sand that looked like flour. I was greeted, relieved of my luggage and taken straight to my room within about five minutes and then shown the ropes pretty quickly. Rather than being stifled I was left to my own devices to come and go as I pleased and I still can't think of anywhere better to unwind.

If you're looking for the height of luxury, this isn't the place for you -- there are no TVs or modcons in the room, but then you don't come to somewhere as beautiful as Jambiani to sit inside air-conditioned walls where you could be anywhere in the world. You get up early to watch the women pick seaweed, wander out onto the sandbanks, try your hand at kite-surfing or go snorkelling, and in the evening settle down to the candlelit three-course menus.

Mark and Kristine are two of the most chilled out yet professional hotel owners I've come across and I travel A LOT. They are always on site if you need them for anything and make sure that everyone is happy all the time. The staff are so prompt, efficient, friendly and polite and they make the place a real joy to be in -- along with the monkeys who pop in every so often at breakfast.

I can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Coming off a 10 day safari we were exhausted and so ready to relax in a real people beach home. We just loved the beach aspect with the huge expanse of white sand, constantly peopled with locals coming and going - the Masai on his bike, the kids soccer game every afternoon and the women and girls collecting from the sea.
Our room was all you want for a beach holiday in Zanzibar - don't go if you expect the Hilton! The staff were always friendly and helpful. The restaurant served basic but good food and we could enjoy wine. The tides were indeed very low and high so day swimming can be impossible but then it was fun to walk way out and watch the kite surfers at low tide. Also we were able to use the infinity pool at Coral Rock nearby hotel as well as eat there when we wanted a change.
The sunsets and sunrises were lovely photo opportunities and it was all so beautiful. Do go and you will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here in September after visiting Jahazi Festival in Stonetown, which was a recommendation from Mark the owner of Red Monkey Lodge, thank you Mark for all those precious suggestions on our round trip of Tanzania and Zanzibar. And thank you and all the rest of your staff for a very pleasant stay at Red Monkey Lodge!
The location certainly was our best on Zanzibar, the beach is stunning, the water amazing, and sorry the lagoon, I miss words for this absolutely beautiful piece of earth. Swimming during low tide involves a walk on the sand bank, but enjoying the scenery is part of the fun. The beach in front of the hotel is public, but that way you get a chance to participate in local life. Our son definitely enjoyed playing soccer with everybody. And if we adults wanted a sun bed, there are some, and since the kiters usually were kiting, we always had enough space. This place doesn't really cater for all-inclusive guests, who want to enjoy their stay on the same sun bed every day and not really know where exactly they are spending their holidays. We liked being a part of it all, and we didn't have the impression that our privacy wasn't respected, we were GUESTS in a foreign country with different habits and traditions.
The rooms are basic but equipped with everything one needs, a wardrobe with enough space for three people traveling for more than three weeks, comfortable beds, mosquito nets and a bathroom with never ending hot water, we didn't waste it, but enjoyed it after sometimes freezing in the bush. The rooms were cleaned every day, everything was sparkling clean. What we really liked was the evening service, when you were having dinner, room service dropped by again and prepared the beds and the mosquito nets for the night, that is kind of like in a five star hotel. And dinner was fantastic too, a changing menu everyday, if portions weren't enough it was possible to get a second helping, everything fresh and delicious. Good food was offered all day long, it is possible to get your breakfast until dinnertime, although lunch is offered starting noon.
Free wifi makes life easier too, and if you need anything else to make life easy and comfortable, staff will gladly assist you. Great value for little money. By the way, still no ATMs anywhere on Zanzibar but in Stonetown... Essentials are available in Jambiani, and it's fun discovering this area of the island.
We really enjoyed our barefoot and lazy stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to red Monkey Lodge for honeymooning and did not regret it at all. Although not the most luxurious place on the island it is certainly the most authentic and laid-back one. The owners put particular effort on integrating the local community into their business and their concept of anti-mass tourism absolutely pays out in terms of everything you expect from a highest-quality holiday. In essence: go there if you want to meet interesting people and also to enjoy Zanzibar from it's very best non-overcrowded side!
PS: The whole stuff and the owners in particular were friendly, helpful and just nice guys!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the most expensive place we stayed at during our holiday - and the worst, judged on the quality of our room. It was dark, there wasn't a proper mosquito net over the bed, and the shower was a joke. The water only came out in dribbles and it was rusty. Also, they had no safe or safety box. We were staying outside the actual lodge but were told that our stuff was safe. Which wasn't that comforting considering the fact that a bif festival was going on and there were many strangers around.
The breakfast was alright but nothing super special. Of course, the location is amazing as it's Jambiani, but it seems to me that they think that gives them the right to charge whatever they want. But it doesn't. I'd recommend to look around a bit, I am sure you can find something nicer in Jambiani.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Beach House which we really loved, but you have to be aware: this is really really a public beach, that means people are working, playing football and passing by your window at 6 am, talking and chatting. The beach is certainly nice, but not as nice as further north in Jambiani village. But the lagoon here ist unbelievable, turquoise and green in all shades, and the sandbank is wonderfull, perfect also for small kides, very flat, no urchins, just fantastic. But: depending on the moon water can be too flat too swim, even at full tide. For those kiting I cannot imagine a better place on earth, and the kite instructors are so nice, as is all the staff of Red Monkey. This is the best organized kitchen I've seen anywhere in Africa, really fast, really professional and lovely staff, with very good food (portions being a bit small though).

As someone else has pointed out, this maynot be the perfect hotel for you as there is not much space for sunbeds and these are more or less occupied by the kite school. If you have problems with a young and sportive audience this may not be the perfect place. Its about kiting here, definetely. What I would do is renting an appartment near that beach / lagoon, go to Red Monkey for kiting, eating and drinking, its so nice, but the whole lodge lacks a bit of space, due its position, which is beautiful in itself. So its 4,5 stars for me.

Room Tip: Beachhouse, if you can stand being awake at 6 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Red Monkey Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Monkey Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.