We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Jambiani beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Monkey Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Save Saved
You added Red Monkey Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location on Jambiani beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great place recommended by other expat colleagues. At the furthest end of Jambiani Beach a great spot for unwinding and literally getting away from it all. A bit overpriced but very charming. The rooms were large and comfortable in a cool funky design. The nearby village is a little noisy. So don't plan on sleeping in but the beach makes up for it.
The food was unfortunately a little underwhelming but the bar was fun and friendly. Service and staff gave the place real atmosphere.
Also came back for a great party one weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
75
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at a sister property to Red Monkey - Bahati Villas, managed by the same group. The staff were excellent, Rama in particular was very nice. We had to leave early because our daughter wasn't well, and the owner Mark was very understanding and cooperative. The property is quite nice, and provides a great setting, especially for a couple on holiday. We'll certainly recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed it!

The property itself is beautiful and very special, overlooking a beautiful beach. The rooms have a "Flinstoness" touch, which is charming.
Despite overlooking a beautiful beach, be aware of the fact that it is at the most southern end of Jambiani and that the walk into the heart of Jambiani is one hour!

There is no other draw back.
The management is very professional and is looking after their guests very well.

It was an enjoyable stay for us and we can recommend this place.

At 85EUR/night in a double room it's not cheap, but it's fair!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked Red Monkey for two nights in January 2013. The hotel - at least when we stayed there - was booked almost exclusively by the kiters. I almost think that we were only two non-kiters staying there at the time. There was nothing wrong with the kites, It was actually fun watching them, but my thought was that maybe it’s the great kiting lagoon and kite – oriented services that drive the prices higher that they should be.

The room was spacious, clean and well kept. It had no AC (we knew that when we were booking). You don’t really need AC when staying by the shore in Jambiani – the fan and the sea breeze will do it. Breakfast was tasty, the monkeys fun to watch (yes – there are red monkeys around and they visit the bar area and the reading area). The beach was a bit weedy (full mooon and high tides will do it – it’s not the hotel’s fault). There are sun beds and umbrellas. Food served at lunch was tasty and reasonably priced but no fireworks here. Wi-Fi works great. The hotel owns it’s own power – generator which is important in Zanzibar.

It’s a nice and well kept place but in this price range one can find comparable or better places in Jambiani. We paid 80 Euro per night for a double room (bungalow) with breakfast. We have spent a few nights beforehand at the small, cozy B&B nearby for about half a price of Red Monkey.

Red Monkey is located on the edge of Jambiani, so you can easily walk to the village, do your fruit shopping and side-seeing there.

Summarizing – nice place with all the services needed, but just a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a total of six nights and absolutely loved it! The rooms are situated in small separate cottages on a hill overlooking the beach and are basic, but sparkling clean with mosquito netting. The beach is just fantastic! I've never seen sand as fine-grained and white before, it honestly sometimes felt like walking on flour. :)
The view from the bar and restaurant is absolutely gorgeous and the food great and surprisingly cheap considering its quality. The staff and management are great and very service- minded.
We also had the big pleasure of seeing red monkeys several times during our stay, when not busy trying to steal your breakfast they seem to enjoy hanging around impromptu dumps in the area...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed close to the Red Monkey and used the bar and restaurant everyday. This place is set at a gorgeous part of the island and the views are amazing. Doing Yoga on the beach is out of this world, really serene and fully recommend with a Yoga Instructor Ipek (from Cyprus).

Christelle the current Manager was brilliant, very accommodating, nothing was too much. Christelle would always go above and beyond for her guests and made my stay in Jambiani so nice and one I will never forget and I would like to take this time to thank her. Christelle also helped me with my trip back to the mainland which made my trip back more pleasant.

The staff at Red Monkey were brilliant and food was great, they were all so friendly and always made me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is really worth a visit. Rooms are clean, well equiped and beautifully designed. The bar and the restaurant are very nicely placed and you have a fantastic panorama view of the sea and the beach. If you're lucky you might even get the company of a couple of monkeys that frequently stops by. I had some of the most interesting and delicious meals and I just can't give enough credit to the chef - he is a magician. All the staff are very kind, helpful and well trained to do their job. So if you are to go to the eastcoast of Zanzibar, this place is a must. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Monkey Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.