We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Monkey Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Save
You added Red Monkey Beach Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
289 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Quite nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed it!

The property itself is beautiful and very special, overlooking a beautiful beach. The rooms have a "Flinstoness" touch, which is charming.
Despite overlooking a beautiful beach, be aware of the fact that it is at the most southern end of Jambiani and that the walk into the heart of Jambiani is one hour!

There is no other draw back.
The management is very professional and is looking after their guests very well.

It was an enjoyable stay for us and we can recommend this place.

At 85EUR/night in a double room it's not cheap, but it's fair!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked Red Monkey for two nights in January 2013. The hotel - at least when we stayed there - was booked almost exclusively by the kiters. I almost think that we were only two non-kiters staying there at the time. There was nothing wrong with the kites, It was actually fun watching them, but my thought was that maybe it’s the great kiting lagoon and kite – oriented services that drive the prices higher that they should be.

The room was spacious, clean and well kept. It had no AC (we knew that when we were booking). You don’t really need AC when staying by the shore in Jambiani – the fan and the sea breeze will do it. Breakfast was tasty, the monkeys fun to watch (yes – there are red monkeys around and they visit the bar area and the reading area). The beach was a bit weedy (full mooon and high tides will do it – it’s not the hotel’s fault). There are sun beds and umbrellas. Food served at lunch was tasty and reasonably priced but no fireworks here. Wi-Fi works great. The hotel owns it’s own power – generator which is important in Zanzibar.

It’s a nice and well kept place but in this price range one can find comparable or better places in Jambiani. We paid 80 Euro per night for a double room (bungalow) with breakfast. We have spent a few nights beforehand at the small, cozy B&B nearby for about half a price of Red Monkey.

Red Monkey is located on the edge of Jambiani, so you can easily walk to the village, do your fruit shopping and side-seeing there.

Summarizing – nice place with all the services needed, but just a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsnapper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a total of six nights and absolutely loved it! The rooms are situated in small separate cottages on a hill overlooking the beach and are basic, but sparkling clean with mosquito netting. The beach is just fantastic! I've never seen sand as fine-grained and white before, it honestly sometimes felt like walking on flour. :)
The view from the bar and restaurant is absolutely gorgeous and the food great and surprisingly cheap considering its quality. The staff and management are great and very service- minded.
We also had the big pleasure of seeing red monkeys several times during our stay, when not busy trying to steal your breakfast they seem to enjoy hanging around impromptu dumps in the area...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyhckerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed close to the Red Monkey and used the bar and restaurant everyday. This place is set at a gorgeous part of the island and the views are amazing. Doing Yoga on the beach is out of this world, really serene and fully recommend with a Yoga Instructor Ipek (from Cyprus).

Christelle the current Manager was brilliant, very accommodating, nothing was too much. Christelle would always go above and beyond for her guests and made my stay in Jambiani so nice and one I will never forget and I would like to take this time to thank her. Christelle also helped me with my trip back to the mainland which made my trip back more pleasant.

The staff at Red Monkey were brilliant and food was great, they were all so friendly and always made me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAnnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is really worth a visit. Rooms are clean, well equiped and beautifully designed. The bar and the restaurant are very nicely placed and you have a fantastic panorama view of the sea and the beach. If you're lucky you might even get the company of a couple of monkeys that frequently stops by. I had some of the most interesting and delicious meals and I just can't give enough credit to the chef - he is a magician. All the staff are very kind, helpful and well trained to do their job. So if you are to go to the eastcoast of Zanzibar, this place is a must. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As a tour operator, I am vary aware of what standards should be, so when my wife and I decided to break away to Zanzibar for our honeymoon, we decided on Red Monkey simply because the communication we had with management set them apart from similar choices we considered. At no stage during the booking process did we mention this was our honeymoon, nor that we are tour operators ourselves. Upon arrival at 5am in the morning, Mark was present, opened up and got us settled in. The cleanliness and professionalism we experienced during our stay was of the highest standard, the location unmatched and the experience simply wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AfricaSolSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Red Monkey Lodge for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The cottage had amazing views of the clear blue ocean and we slept with the sound of the ocean. The cottage was beautiful, and we very much enjoyed just chilling by the bar/ restaurant. Def way better than the next door hotel with booming music (not loud enough to disturb us). It was very nice to see the lodge open its doors to the local villagers; in fact it was quite entertaining to see young boys playing football (and celebrating the occasional goal in style!). Mark the owner was ever helpful and even arranged for our stay at our next destination in Mombasa. Thanks Mark, we'd definitely return to Red Monkey when we're next in Zanzibar!
John & Lee San

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f1utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
29.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#8 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing