We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Monkey Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Save
You added Red Monkey Beach Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Shoalheven
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We came to the Red Monkey after a 38 day safari in Africa in need of a rest and some quiet time. Mark and his team provide all the ingredients for a wonderful stay. You can be as active or restful as you wish.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    44
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
84
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Quiet spot at the southern tip of Jambiani, it has a beautiful stretch of undeveloped beach to the south and vertical sandbar running straight out to sea during low tide. Food is a bit overpriced, but also a notch above other places in Zanzibar. Breakfasts were excellent, staff helpful, and clientele friendly and interesting (and primarily German speaking).

The lodge was full when I was there, so I actually stayed in a room that's technically a different property, situated directly behind the lodge. The room had no power during the frequent power outages, and they'd forgotten to setup the room when I arrived late at night, but for $35 for a single person, 15 steps to the beach and all the benefits of Red Monkey, I have no complaints. Room itself was simple, but large and clean and definitely the best value I had in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms behind the lodge if the main lodge is full, or if price is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were here for 3 nights and really loved it! The place is so relaxing and romantic. The dinner is perfect and staff are nice. Rooms are nice and cosy. I loved it how local children were playing on the beach in front of the lodge in the morning. That way you don't feel seperated from local life such as in some other resorts. We had the chance to learn rugby on the beach, we loved it!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

After climbing Kilimanjaro I was looking for a nice place on the beach and with the Red Monkey Lodge I found everything one could wish for: a small cosy hotel directly on the beach, far away from mass tourism and very close to the local community; great food - with daily changing menus and always the right wine or cocktail to go with it; nice clean rooms where you can hear the soothing sound of the ocean at night; Cathy - our great kite instructor directly on the spot. But the best of it all is the personal touch and service that Mark (the Italian/German owner) and Victor (the manager) bring to the Red Monkey Lodge. They really look after every guest individually, provide tips, help to organise excursions or just a fun night out in the busier Paje a few kilometres down the beach.

Suffice to say I cancelled my last night I had booked in Stonetown to enjoy the Red Monkey Lodge for one more night before flying back. So I can definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to have a bliss time in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Red Monkey Beach Lodge is secluded at the end of Jambiani beach offering a quiet and relaxing respite for weary travellers. The watercolours and shimmering views from the beachside bungalows are absolutely magical, and the local people extremely welcoming. Located at the far end of the small fishing Red Monkey Beach Lodge offers an excellent opportunity to revel in the quiet of a secluded haven or explore and embrace village life as you choose. As a two month volunteer teaching English In Jambiani I had the occasion to stay at three local hotels - all were more than accommodating and offered an opportunity to embrace the culture, cuisine, and lifestyle of the Zanzibari people.
Our Red Monkey Bungalow on the beach was absolutely delightful - the room was clean with beautiful hibiscus flowers on the bed; ample storage space for clothing; and an aptly equipped bathroom. The uniquely designed mosquito netting afforded a safe environment without being claustrophobic. The local hotel staff were polite, professional, and went out of their way to be welcoming and ensure we were comfortable in our little abode on the beach. Black Monkeys could be seen cavorting in the trees off the breakfast dining area providing an ambience evocative of this east coast tropical environment. Breakfast was delicious including local fresh fruit, a type of crepe, freshly prepared juice, and coffee in a french press.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My arrival to Jambiani was hectic to say the least. Lots of miscommunication. When I got to Red Monkey Lodge, I immediately felt calm and safe. Victor, the manager, was absolutely the highlight of the hotel. He was incredibly professional and very approachable. He made me feel like this was my second home. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The restaurant was reasonably priced and served delicious food. The service was very friendly and attentive. The sunbathing area was comfortable, with the option of using the beach below the 'veranda'. The owner of the hotel personally approached me and made conversation, welcoming me. When I encountered a transportation glitch, they took care of me. I am so grateful for having met Victor and all the staff at Red Monkey. I would DEFINITELY reccommend this hotel to anyone considering Jambiani. In fact, GO to Jambiani just for this hotel. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We checked out all the places on Jambiani, and this is the best. We spent 2 days here, went to a much more expensive resort elsewhere on the island, then missed Red Monkey and returned. The rooms are simple but clean and tasteful. The management is extremely professional. You can see (quiet, unobtrusive) monkeys at breakfast and sometimes hear bush babies at night. Swimming is great at high tides, although at low tides the ocean is perhaps a mile out and very hard to access. But at those times you can read peacefully on the lounge chairs, because Red Monkey is well protected from the winds that can sweep the beach. During our stay it was always very quiet from about 8/9 pm to about 6:30 am, making for great sleeping.
We ate the half-board dinner only once. The main was good but not great, but the pasta and dessert were poor. But one of the great things about Red Monkey is that in the village of Jambiani there are some restaurants run by locals, where you can get fantastic fresh seafood at amazing prices. So as long as you don't mind walking a mile or two through the village at night (it feels very safe and we enjoyed it), the Red Monkey is a great base for good eating.

Room Tip: I'd advise asking for one of the sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Monkey Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.