We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, clean and comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Oyster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Oyster Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Oyster Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“beautiful, clean and comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a lovely place!
I stayed there for one night and would definitely love to go back for more.
The staff is quite friendly, the hotel is well managed and quite clean ( I think it's run by germans and that why it has higher standards compared to similar places in Eastern Africa).
The view from my room was lovely, it's literally right on the beach, the only drawback though (and I'm sure it's not a drawback for everyone), is that if you're staying a bit longer you don't have many dining options because there's not much near by, you kind of have to dine in the hotel's restaurant every night, which is a very good restaurant (but a little bit over priced).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The blue oyster is a beautiful hotel. I stayed there for one night when coming accross from Stone Town. We would have stayed longer but there was more of the island to explore and we were also on a budget. The rooms are spacious, clean and endearing. The beach area everything you'd need to relax in the sun on the stuniing beach. You can have a massage, which my friend did for$25 and also hire Captain Zappy to take you on his boat to go fishing and snorkling. he charges $25 and i thoroughly reccommend it. The food in the restraunt is also superb and all of the staffare very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed five nights in a seafront bungalow. We think the 95 euro's is a little overpriced (we also went to Casa del Mar a kilometer further along the coast, 90 dollars/70 euro with swimmingpool which is a big plus during the hours of low tide). During our stay most guests were retired Germans. Food in the bar and restaurant is good though cheaper options in the neighbouring restaurants. But in the end we enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a warm & informative reception here.
The rooms were so comfortable.
Everything worked. = )
The dinner - lobster for two - was the best I have eaten in years! We called out the chef to congratulate him. Service was good too.
Only a few recommendations....would be convenient to have a front verandah exit to the beach instead of leaving through the back door to walk around to the front. We looked silly climbing over the verandah rail all the time. The outdoor bar is such a nice touch but it closes down when the sun sets. I am sure you could boost bar sales if you kept this open later. Does it close to encourage guests for dinner > bed? We missed not having a pool at this place.
The staff were friendly and I wish the Blue Oyster Hotel all the best. "Asanteni sana" !!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. When the power cut during the night it was very hot. It might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent place if you want to escape for more touristic places in the Zanzibar such as Nungwi.
The staff is very helpful, the hotel has very good vibe and relaxed feeling about it. The food in restaurant is good and the view is amazing. Great place to chill out, meditate and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 12 after travelling in Kenya/Tanzania. The rooms are clean and spacious (No TV but not needed). Service is excellent throughout with wifi available at an extra charge. The food was very good, lots of variety and all cooked very well. The beach is very nice with soft white sand. Seaweed is harvested and picked when the tide is out but you can swim in the sea when the tide is in (3-5pm) no problem. Bring snorkelling shoes if you have them. Nice and quiet and very tranquil. Excellent value. They take card payment (5% additional charge).

Room Tip: Beach view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great time at the Blue Oyster Hotel. Staff was very friendly, especially Domeniko at the reception helped with any question you could think of. The room was nice and had a spacious terrace.
The beach is not for tourists only, but real life activities, like fishermen working on their boats or women harvesting seagrass at low tide, take place.
Diving is great too and we recommend a guided tour with a local guide, Jambinani is more intersting than you might think at first sight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Oyster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small friendly place hotel next to the beach offers rooms with sea view and rooms in a court yard, open terraced restaurant with an extensive menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Oyster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Oyster
Blue Oyster Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Oyster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.