We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Oyster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Blue Oyster Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Oyster Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great time at the Blue Oyster Hotel. Staff was very friendly, especially Domeniko at the reception helped with any question you could think of. The room was nice and had a spacious terrace.
The beach is not for tourists only, but real life activities, like fishermen working on their boats or women harvesting seagrass at low tide, take place.
Diving is great too and we recommend a guided tour with a local guide, Jambinani is more intersting than you might think at first sight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The friendly staff will take care of all your transport needs and securely deliver you at the Blue Oyster. Once there, all you need is to relax! The rooms are spacious and very well looked after by the staff and most of them with a view. The beach is perfect at every time of the day (watch out for the high tides fun splashing times) and the confortable chairs will take care of you while reading,sun bathing or enjoying a drink! There is a conveninent restaurant in the resort which offers pretty good food, although the variety over 10 days seems a little limited. There are several possibilities for activities, diving, spice and Stone town tours, but did not experience any first hand. Staff at the reception is efficient, always polite and very very friendly. A great bargain that I would be happy to experience again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After travelling for 32 hours from Australia to get there, we arrived just before sunset and my jaw dropped open as I walked in!...What a view what a place!...
The staff were so friendly and welcoming - we were shown to our room, which was on the ground level and had a large deck with chairs and table. The room was so romantic - the four poster bed was stunning and the sound of the waves and the breeze -simply to die for.
My husband and I had fabulous time walking the beach, laying in the lounges overlooking the blue waters of the Indian Ocean and then having the lovely town so close with welcoming villagers who greeted you with Jambo!!!
We went snorkelling with Captain Zappy who was so much fun, and we could have kept snorkelling all day!....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the best hotel for this price range in Jambiani. At this hotel you get excellent value for money. The food is excellent and the service is also very good. The employees are very helpful and friendly. A dive centre is located next to the hotel and diving is possible just of the shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I truly think this is one of the countries best lodges in this price range. I was overwhelmed with the location, the standard of the rooms and the fast and friendly service.... The beach is among the whitest of Zanzibar and the sea is as azure blue as you can get. The sea view rooms are spacious and the double bed is ginormous! I just loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our 3-night stay at Blue Oyster was quite comfortable. The staff gave us a very friendly welcome and were helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were cleaned very well every morning and sprayed for mosquitoes every night. They have a lot of nice places to relax outside plus a second floor restaurant with an excellent view and generally, very good food. Although I wouldn't recommend eating all of your meals at the restaurant as it can get expensive quickly. Most of the dishes are 15,000 Tsh (~$10) or more without drinks. The included breakfast was usually pretty good but varied a lot. We were surprised the first morning at how limited it was: eggs, fruit and some bread. The following day there was cereal, eggs, mini-pancakes, meat, cheese, fruit and multiple types of bread. Our last morning was somewhere in between the first two days. We were happy that there was real coffee at least every day.

One thing that surprised me was that Blue Oyster only had soap and shampoo available for purchase. There was liquid soap in the rooms, but that was all. Every budget hotel I've stayed at in TZ offered soap and most places that were more expensive offered shampoo as well. It probably sounds minor, but after a long trip we didn't have a lot left and expected them to offer at least soap. If you are planning a longer trip and stay here, just be sure to bring enough of your own until you get to another place.

The seawall outside the hotel has its positives and negatives. No one ever bothered us, but during the high tides, you could not swim or even sit on the chairs as the waves crashed over the wall.

Electricity in Jambiani can be a little sporadic, so we were glad Blue Oyster had a backup generator. Therefore we never had any issues with electricity during our stay even though it went out at times. However, we were without water on our last morning for a few hours. I'm not sure what happened, but they did fix the problem.

Jambiani is a great place to experience local life and relax. A taxi from the airport should cost no more than 50,000 Tsh. If it's within your budget, I would recommend Blue Oyster for its friendly service and relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Such a nice few days at the Blue Oyster. German run leads it to be very efficient and a breeze to sort everything we needed. Rooms are perfect and the restaurant gave us no reason to look elsewhere. Personal feel with the staff remembering our room number etc. A couple of things For that 5th star; tv somewhere (had to find one elsewhere to watch the Murray final), and Wifi would be an appreciated add on rather than the netbook rental option that is offered. Thanks very much, lovely village and hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Oyster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small friendly place hotel next to the beach offers rooms with sea view and rooms in a court yard, open terraced restaurant with an extensive menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Oyster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Oyster
Blue Oyster Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Oyster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;