We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value and great pasta!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de Coco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa de Coco to your Saves list
Villa de Coco
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road Jambiani | P.O. Box 526, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good value and great pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Comfortable rooms, right on the beach. The breeze kept the room cool and the well managed staff kept it very clean. I am a vegetarian and there was enough choice in their restaurant. Their homemade spinach and ricotta ravioli was the best pasta I have ever eaten, and that includes 2 holidays in Italy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    70
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
21
134
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the food there. My starter, which was prawn coctail was very good, and my main (calamari and prawns skewers) was superb!
The owner (an Italian woman) was very nice and helpful!
The service was a bit strange, as we were 6 of us and they wanted to serve the started only for 2 of us first, but then they had to take it back, so there was a bit of confusion there.
I don't know about the prices as our lovely new Italian friends treated us. But I think there was a 3 course menu for $20 or $25.
I think that I can say it was one of my favourite dinners while staying in Paje.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very quiet location with a long stretch of beach to go for walks. Food was ok, ate there at the buffet night, this was a bit overpriced but good variety. The owners were very actively involved in the running of the place which was good, the general manager was not quite as efficinet as promised but the rest of the staff was fine. There was no swimming during the daytime at the time we stayed there so had we booked for a longer than two nights would have been very disappointed. In general it is good to know that the swimming on East Coast is very strongly dependent on the tide so you should take this into account with your planning if you enjoy swimming. The rooms 1-3 were facing the restaurant and toilet area so there was no direct sea view like from the other rooms so if possible avoid them.
There was another nice bar-restaurant few hundered meters North on the beach, cannot remember the name but there were steep wooden steps up from the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1-3 facing the restaurant and toilet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

nice place right on the beach for a fair price. good place to hide, because it is located outside the village and the beach is less passed-by. rooms are airy, have beach towels and a hair dryer.

Faustin guide is very friendly and will help with any (any!) Entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic holiday with my friend spent in this small hotel overlooking the white sandy beach of Jambiani.
Strengths: friendliness and courtesy of the owners and all the staff, excellent food, great variety and abundant, exceeding our expectations! the rooms are simple, clean and tidy. Wonderful long walks on the beach during the hours of low tide offers a unique spectacle in the eyes! Also carefully organized trips which will accompany Faustino like a guardian angel, I recommend the sunset in Stone Town and snorkeling all' island of Mnemba. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam so trips to Zanzibar are a regular feature of our lives here. We booked Villa de Coco this time and fully intend to make this our regular beach break. The staff from Paolo and Cristina to every support person in the hotel was fantastic...courteous, well-trained and efficient. The rooms were great and our porch with it's ocean view was a little slice of heaven. What really made this however was the food...to die for and a refreshing break from the usual Tanzanian fare perhaps a little more expensive than elsewhere but well worth it. I noticed someone else commented on the "simple" breakfast....maybe they have changed it up but my breakfast was a feast.
People have expressed concerns to me about the beaches along this coast and i have been to some where it was pretty rocky but this was not and low tide walks were fascinating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is not my first visit to Zanzibar as i used to leave in Zanzibar.During trip this holiday,Villa de Coco was recommended to me by a friend. I must confess that i was pleasantly surprised.
I finally get the opportunity to enjoy a cold iced spice tea upon arrival and then at the barwhere a wide range of home made fresh juice are available.
The hotel is located directly on the beach, only 11 rooms, all with sea view, clean and simple. The well tended gardens, excellent value for money.
We benefited a good food, varied and tasty and enjoyed to chill at the bar.
The staff and owners are very pleasant and efficient.
During meal time, the waiter arranged a table for us in the bar instead of the restaurant.
They Were attentive but not obstructive Which is a must in Zanzibar.
Looking for an intimate place of Jambiani on the beach with nice service and reasonable prices, do not hesitate to try this little resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#6 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#3 of 9 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Coco

Address: Main Road Jambiani | P.O. Box 526, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Coco 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace here is at the top: just a lively reception, a romantic restaurant, the bar on the beach and only 11 comforting rooms in 4 pretty bungalows; everything is in perfect harmony with the natural environment, overlooking our luxuriant tropical garden and directly leaned out on the warm water of the marvelous Indian Ocean. Forget the stressful life and let your internal clock takes its natural cycle back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa de Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Coco Hotel Jambiani
Hotel De Coco
Resort De Coco
Villa De Coco Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.