We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de Coco

Save Saved
You added Villa de Coco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa de Coco
Jambiani Beach | P.O. Box 526, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam so trips to Zanzibar are a regular feature of our lives here. We booked Villa de Coco this time and fully intend to make this our regular beach break. The staff from Paolo and Cristina to every support person in the hotel was fantastic...courteous, well-trained and efficient. The rooms were great and our porch with it's ocean view was a little slice of heaven. What really made this however was the food...to die for and a refreshing break from the usual Tanzanian fare perhaps a little more expensive than elsewhere but well worth it. I noticed someone else commented on the "simple" breakfast....maybe they have changed it up but my breakfast was a feast.
People have expressed concerns to me about the beaches along this coast and i have been to some where it was pretty rocky but this was not and low tide walks were fascinating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
125
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is not my first visit to Zanzibar as i used to leave in Zanzibar.During trip this holiday,Villa de Coco was recommended to me by a friend. I must confess that i was pleasantly surprised.
I finally get the opportunity to enjoy a cold iced spice tea upon arrival and then at the barwhere a wide range of home made fresh juice are available.
The hotel is located directly on the beach, only 11 rooms, all with sea view, clean and simple. The well tended gardens, excellent value for money.
We benefited a good food, varied and tasty and enjoyed to chill at the bar.
The staff and owners are very pleasant and efficient.
During meal time, the waiter arranged a table for us in the bar instead of the restaurant.
They Were attentive but not obstructive Which is a must in Zanzibar.
Looking for an intimate place of Jambiani on the beach with nice service and reasonable prices, do not hesitate to try this little resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Much has been said about this little and very nice hotel.
We had taken a while to choose our hotel and were very pleased that we had decided on his one.
We had an excellent view of the sea and beach. The room was simple and was kept really lean by cleaning staff. The staff were fantastic especially the bar and restaurant staff - very well trained and polite and friendly. Food delicious and plenty of variety, fresh fish daily, resh fruit served on the beach all day.
I would recommend using the tours from the hotel. We found the guides to be nowledgeable. We had friends who used the less formal tours and had a terrible experience. I would recommend this resort to anybody looking for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The meals were expensive compared to hotels in the area. Simple breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

With my husband spent 2 wonderful weeks in this charming little hotel. Positioned directly on the white sand beach, a few rooms neat and clean. The owners, an Italian couple, Paolo and Cristina we have welcomed with familiarity, and do not miss anything we have ever done, always present and very attentive to the needs of their guests.
The restaurant offers a varied menu, grilled fresh fish, pasta, excellent fruit and the dishes are very tasty and plentiful.
We hired car for a few days, and with the advice of the owners have visited the fascinating Stone Town, the northern beaches and the forest of the monkeys our own.
We spent a whole day Chumbe Island, really deserves !
I apologize for the errors but I do not speak English very well.

Thanks for the warm hospitality, I think we'll be back soon as your guests!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I'd read many comments about this place before actually going there (all of them in Italian), but none of them turned out to be true. How come???
The rooms would be ok, but you have absolutely no privacy. The walls are thin like a sheet of paper...
The "hotel" is run by an Italian couple who have absolutely no idea about tourism nor hospitality. They're only full of fake smiles. Both of them speaking a very poor English. The guy is visibly "done" all day long... In one word, villa de coco (or coca...) was a true DELUSION.
Luckily the island is gorgeous and surely full of nice hotels to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadecoco, Proprietario at Villa de Coco, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thanks for your review.
Certainly all the other 83 reviews are false and only yours is the one that deserves an award for honesty and loyalty
The majority of the reviews are in Italian simply because 'we work with a major Italian tour operator that sends about 800 clients each year, but we do not understand why this happen because you write that we have no ability to manage a hotel (and your is the 'one truth').
You are free to judge everything regarding our hotel and its services and we accept criticism in order to improve but hide behind a nickname and accuse me of using drugs is unacceptable behavior which makes me sad and angry, we have real name and we are so proud of our work as the 21 people who work hard at this hotel every day, we are not anonymous, we are Paolo and Cristina and even if we do not speak excellent English we know to be fair and honest, qualities that the person who wrote it has not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I'm completely agry with a rewiew of Donato70. You can easily catch a depression in this dirty remoted area (specially when you saw other parts of the island).
Zanzibar is a beautiful island, magic! But not Villa di Coco (we called it
Villa di Caca). We ended not to leave there and spent all our time in
a neighbour hotel Hakuna Magiwe (3-4-5 times better then Coco! small
with beautiful beach and romantic privat villas with hammaks on each
terrasse).

First surprise. Primarily, you can't call it a hotel!!!! Owned by
italian family (very badly run by the way), one villa with 6-8 rooms
stick to each other with no space to enter the room if your neighbour
going out from their room. No privacy, no romantica, not cosy. Good
road finishes 30 min before the Villa di Coco, and after that you
arrive in a dirty surrounds with depressive views. When we spoke with
local people they told us that this is the most chip area of the
island with the worst coast. During 30 min of drive by the VERY BAD
road you get to the middle of nowhere with nothing arround and datcha
style villa.

Second surprise. The room is BASIC. Very basic. If you go to Villa di
Coco be prepered to leave with all hosts of the hotel like one big
family as you will hear LITERALLY EVERYTHING (who and when made sex/
pipi/caca), the insonorisation isn't existant as a villa is made of
strow. You can not open the window because it goes directly on a your
neighbour's door, so you can say them "hello" while you're making love
with your boyfriend.

Third surprise. It's on the beach - yes.... but what kind of beach!
Always with a low cast (water goes 1km away and leaves dirty silt and
algues mixed with Sea hedgehogs (ursins). The most depressive view of
the island (as we understood after discovering other places with
beautiful beaches where the cast is not as sensitive).

Don't go there. Or just be prepared. If you have to go there - try to spend your time at Hakuna Majiwe hotel's beach (3 km left by the beach side) - it's simple romantic and gorgeouse beach, nothing to do with depressive views of Villa di Coco) and restaurant, rent a moto and explore iother places on a island, Stone Town (which is quite exotic with beautiful beaches).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa de Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Coco

Address: Jambiani Beach | P.O. Box 526, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace here is at the top: just a lively reception, a romantic restaurant, the bar on the beach and only 11 comforting rooms in 4 pretty bungalows; everything is in perfect harmony with the natural environment, overlooking our luxuriant tropical garden and directly leaned out on the warm water of the marvelous Indian Ocean. Forget the stressful life and let your internal clock takes its natural cycle back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa de Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Coco Hotel Jambiani
Hotel De Coco
Resort De Coco
Villa De Coco Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.