We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kikadini Villas - an unforgetable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kikadini Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kikadini Villas
Save
You added Kikadini Villas to your Saves list
P.O Box 6 | Kiakadini, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Kikadini Villas - an unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Kikadini Villas is an absolute stunning boutique hotel located at the east coast of Zanzibar. The hotel has been closed for a short period but has now reopened with a new management in place. We were six friends travelling together and had the pleasure of being the first guests after the reopening. The stay was an unforgettable experience with an optimal combination of a breathtaking location, very tasteful exterior and interiors, a tranquil atmosphere, delicious food and excellent service. The manager Jeremie and his team were very dedicated and did such a great job. We really enjoyed every minute of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

As I was planning a stay for a group of four in Zanzibar after climbing Kilimanjaro, I thought Kikadini was an ideal find. Unfortunately, it has become a traveler’s nightmare. I contacted Kikadini four months before our planned stay, provided my credit card number and received a written confirmation. When another friend wanted to join us at the hotel, they contacted Kikadini for another room but could not get a definite reply; they were reassured but not confirmed. A month before our trip, I emailed to finalize details and ask if they were planning to charge a deposit to my card. After some time, I received a reply that left me dumfounded. Due to “conditions beyond our control” they would not be able to horror my reservation. No explanation. No referral. This left my group in quite a bind with two weeks to go during a busy season. I was quite disappointed and would caution anyone making a reservation here to do so only as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartsease Sloe Lane, Alfriston , Polegate - E. Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is a beautiful Moroccan-style boutique hotel on the quiet, picturesque east coast of Zanzibar. It consists of five recently built villas with ten private suites. We stayed in Palm Villa 2. All of the villas and the hotel itself have been tastefully decorated with some excellent paintings and furniture to match the Moroccan architecture. It is right next to the beach, where there is a reef, a lagoon and tidal flats which provide a stunning view.

The service was excellent – it was the end of the season and we were the only guests, so we were able to spend a week being thoroughly pampered by the attentive and charming staff. Nothing was too much trouble, as long as we were content and enjoying our stay. The manager was hospitality personified, as was his assistant.

Our room was on the first floor, with a large balcony overlooking the sea, and was spacious and well-appointed: a comfortable bed, easy chairs, an excellent en-suite bathroom with a powerful shower – perfect for relaxing and enjoying a high standard of comfort. We also had access to a higher terrace which provided a welcome breeze from the sea, and a wonderful panoramic view of the coral reef below.

The local village has some restaurants along the sandy beach, but the cultural interest, market, shopping and (presumably) nightlife is in Zanzibar town, a 50-minute car journey on a good road. We chose Kikadini Villas for its seclusion, its elegance (see the website) and its tranquillity – after a week's strenuous safari in northern Tanzania, it turned out to be just what we had been hoping to find. A (new) swimming pool gave us great pleasure, and unless the tide was right in we could walk a long way in either direction on the white coral beach.

What did we find least satisfactory? Zanzibar’s electricity supply when we were there was unreliable. As with many hotels at that time, our hotel had to rely on its own generator, which to preserve its life was kept on for about half the time, so that the shower was not always available when we wanted it and the fan switched off at midnight, leaving us on most nights to be cooled by the breeze. Given the problems with electricity supplies, the food was of reasonable quality although the the choice of wine was very good! The promise of a more powerful generator and two international chefs for next season will mean that Kikiadini will provide exactly the right unhurried, tranquil ambience and high standard of service and comfort that would rate five stars by our reckoning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed for 8 days, and were treated to a wonderful holiday by the friendly and professional staff at Kikadini. The place is an architecural pearl with trememdous attention to detail, colour and light. Right on the beach we would have been happy to stay for many more weeks. The food is excellent and the drinks are cold. We'll be back some day soon. Greetings from Kampala/Norway

  • Liked — Architecture, view, food, staff
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This beautifully designed Morroccan style hotel certainly has the 'wow' factor! Sitting on the edge of a beautiful stretch of palm fringed beach is this fabulous oasis. We stayed in villa Pwani - our bedroom had doors opening out onto a shaded seating area overlooking the beautiful turquoise sea. We could go up onto a private roof terrace (although be warned that the wooden stairs are very steep!) via a central courtyard area with fantastic views, a dining area and even an open air bath! A great area for sunbathing by day and star gazing by night.
The tide goes way out each day exposing a very interesting reef which you can wander out onto and watch the villagers going about their daily lives - women harvesting seaweed grown to export and providing them with a valuable income to help with their childrens education, and the men going out in their 'Dhows' to fish. You can also wander through the village and visit the local school.
When there is no sea to swim in, the hotel has a lovely deep blue mosaic tiled pool to cool off in and the staff are always ready to bring you an ice cold drink.
Talking of staff, what lovely people they are! Nothing is ever too much trouble and if there is anything particular that you would like to eat they will do their very best to make sure you have it. Everything is cooked to order and so there is no chance of the dreaded holiday tummy problems here!
The manager Francois lives on the premises and is very welcoming and extremely helpful. All in all, we had a lovely relaxing holiday and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Kikadini Villas is located on Zanzibar's beautiful east coast, about an hour's taxi ride ($60) from Stone Town. The beach is pristine; the water warm, clean and stunningly beautiful. Kikadini's facilities are evocative of the region's Swahili/Arabic cultural roots. And no effort or expense is spared to delight the guests' senses. The accommodation is truly 5-star in every way and the rates seem modest compared to what is offered!

The food is very good, though the menu is a little limited for a stay of several days. The only downside is that credit cards are currently not accepted. This made it very difficult and inconvenient to transfer the required deposit to secure our reservations.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKV, General Manager at Kikadini Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input regarding Kikadini Villas, we apreiciate comments of such a nature, and we will always be working to up keep our level of standards to our Guest.

All comments gives us a understanding on where we can improve even if it's negative.

Hope to see you soon

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Kikadini Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed at the Villa Kikadini complex for 5 nights. In summary, the place has huge potential with a beautiful location, great new complex and pool. It is definitely the nicest accomodation on Jambiani Beach and the recent huge investment should mean an even more fantastic place in the future. However, there has been an large influx of new staff, including a new general manager and head chef (only there 3 weeks or so). Therefore, we were plagued with many service issues, including
-our villa (we rented Villa Maroc) still being cleaned as we walked in,
-we were served fish when we ordered chicken (we were served things different than we ordered more than just one)
-we were told we could not have dinner at our villa the first night because they were short staffed. We were served in our villa after that though
- our kitchen and minibar were not being stocked when we arrived. It was finally done whenl we asked,
-They did not have particular food and wine that was initially offered to us
- They arranged a dhow boat tour to see marine life at the wrong time of day for snorkeling
-We were told that a tour should last 2 hours. It actually lasted 2 hours but with another 2 hour drive to get to/from the place, something that we were not told even though we confirmed we would be back in 2 hours!
-breakfast took 2 hours to be served at our villa most days (we know we are in Africa, but 2 hours?)
In additioin, the complex is still under construction. While the major work is done, they are still laying down walkways (the one in front of our villa was done when we were staying there!), putting in landfill around the pool, and need to put up light fixtures, etc. We would not have minded but we did ask before arriving if all their work had been done and they confirmed yes.
We do believe that Francois the general manager will eventually resolve all these issues, but be warned until that happens. WHen he does, this place should be great. And Jambiani is a great beach....beautiful turquoise water, white sand and a great local scene with fisherman and seaweed farmers at low tide. We highly recommend the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kikadini Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikadini Villas

Address: P.O Box 6 | Kiakadini, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kikadini Villas is a boutique hotel right on Jambiani's long stretch of beach. Four carefully decorated Arabian-style villas for a total of 8 rooms. Each room has a private terrace or balcony and all the villas have rooftop terraces overlooking the ocean. Swimming pool, restaurant, shisha lounge. Activities include massages, snorkeling, fishing, spice tours, Stone Town tours, dolphin trips etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kikadini Villas Hotel Jambiani
Kikadini Villas Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikadini Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.