We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in Jambiani” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Rock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mfumbwi, Jambiani 4125, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3 days in Jambiani”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my second time to Zanzibar, previously I stayed further up north at a big resort and wanted something more low key. Coral Rock was absolutely great! It had a cozy feel, the room was a good size (we had one with a private patio), and Neil helped us arrange a few good tours. The food was overpriced, but that's pretty much standard across the island.

If you're looking for something very chill and low key, but comfortable, Coral Rock is for you!

Neil also gave us a slight discount by booking directly with Coral Rock rather than a referral site.

Room Tip: Rooms 11-13 have a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    120
    38
    20
    22
See reviews for
34
170
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were staying next door at one of the small hotels but wandered up to Coral Rock for dinner one night and than to use the pool and have some drinks one afternoon. It didn't disappoint. We made a friend staying there and took a look at her room, it was gorgeous just out of our budget. Jambiani is such a charming little village that deserves your attention while on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Coral Rock although not that cheap was a nice place to stay a few days in Jambiani. Staff is very friendly, room conditions are ok maybe the toilet needs a little restoration only. I had some sort of tiny private beach in front of my room which was very nice especially to watch sunrise. Restaurant is also ok however beer could be a bit cheaper :-) There is bike rental available and you can book some trips directly from hotel. They also do transfer from/to airport which is convenient and not that expensive. The surrounding is also nice, beach is super beautiful. There is this low/high tide thing so if you wanna swim in the morning you have to do it before 10am or then after 14pm. Or in pretty nice however small swimming pool :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JambianiNeil, Owner at Coral Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Coral Rock and for sharing your experience with other travelers. Your feedback is much appreciated. Potential guests should be aware that the timing of the tides changes by an average of 40 minutes every day and sometime completely switch over during spring and neap tides. A low tide on one day can arrive between 11 and 110 minutes later the next day. The cycle takes roughly 15 days and therefore the tide times one guest experiences can be totally different for a guest arriving during another period. To get accurate tidal information (times, heights etc) simply type "zanzibar tide table" into google and get up to a years info from the mobile geographics site. It is important to mention that the real star of the show at Coral Rock is precisely this movement of the tides over the sandbar that creates the ever-changing scenery loved by our guests. It's Coral Rock's unique location that offers an unparalleled panorama of this wonderful phenomenon in action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at Coral Rock for a week, travelling solo. From the first day I felt welcomed from everybody working there, but most of all from Neil, the owner, and Paul who was the man for everything.
The view is simply breathtaking, photos can't do it justice. The scenery changes during the day, so it can be low tide in the morning when you can walk on the white sand watching the locals going fishing,farming the seaweed and collecting shells, and high tide in the afternoon when you just jump in the water and swim right infront of the hotel! The small swimming pool is great, since you can cool down in the water when there is low tide.The bar-restaurant offers a panoramic view (and good food..) as it's on a rock that splits the coast into 2 beaches.
The room I got was nice and comfortable, A/C and wi-fi included. The ones around the pool and the bar are more noisy, if you prefer it quiet and private go for a beachfront room.
As Coral Rock states on its website, it's located in the village of Jambiani, meaning kids are playing on the beach and the moment you step your foot out of the hotel you are amongst playing kids , locals that chill out infront of their houses, goats and anything else that you expect to see in an african village. There are some guards but it doesn't have the feeling of a resort isolated from the suroundings, it's like a part of the village.
Keep in mind this is not a luxury resort, but a laid back place which still provides some comfort and amenities (in a place where few years ago was difficult even to visit..), and it's made and operated by people who have taste and obviously like what they do. As I said already, I felt welcomed, I met other people that were on holidays but expats as well, since the expat community in Jambiani is small and Coral Rock is one of the places to hang out. Neil was always happy to have a drink with me, as well as with other guests, same for Paul. Saying that, the place is ideal if you're travelling solo, you'll never feel alone.
If I go back to Zanzibar, I know where I'm staying..

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant are more noisy and social, the beachfront ones are more quiet and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

An absolutely stunning property, set in the best location in Jambiani. Private and peaceful days, with weekends livening up with their weekly Saturday Night Party* Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean, food is delicious. There is a generally good and comforting vibe to this property...you suddenly feel safe, at home, and at peace once entering the gates* I have been over and over, and will come back time and time again. I fell in love*

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were working near by so became regular visitors to coral rock throughout our 5 week stay. The staff were amazing and it was a fun and welcoming atmosphere. Ideal location with a pool overlooking the sea. The food was great but be warned, it can take hours to arrive! Saturday night parties can be good fun.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Me and my two friends only stayed for two nights but everything was lovely from the friendly and welcoming staff, great food and amazing view.. The room was really good, lovely and clean with everything we needed. I would love to stay at Coral Rock again...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock Hotel

Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani 4125, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Rock is one of the most popular small to mid-size hotels in Zanzibar. We offer incredible views and an authentic Zanzibari experience encourages local and cultural interaction within a functioning Swahili fishing village. Our aim is authenticity & value for money. We have arguably the biggest menu in Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Rock Jambiani
Hotel Coral Rock
Coral Rock Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.