We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Zanzibar, Jambiani 4146, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week in December. It is a lovely peaceful place. We had heard that Zanzibar was overrun with tourists - not Jambiani! It still feels very much like the kind of place where locals and tourists cohabit nicely. This may not be what everyone is looking for but for people that want an authentic experience Jambiani will ofer you this.
This place is very well done, rooms are spacious, clean and nicely furnished. It has an intimate atmosphere and is keenly priced. It offers a great location and has the benefit of a very nice pool area. Good food, again well priced. The staff, particularly in the restaurant were genuine and friendly.
The only negative point was that the rooms were a bit too hot (though December is a very hot time of year here) though when we asked we were given an additional fan straight away. If the ceiling fans were upgraded though this would probably make the extra fan unneccessary. Also the trips offered by the hotel seemed too expensive to us, so we went with the guys on the beach instead who provided a good service. Minor points though and I would gladly return here and loved my stay at Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    58
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
100
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days around New Year’s Eve after a one-week safari. It’s a nice hotel, very beautifully located right at the beach. The sea is amazing here… with ebb tide you can walk towards the water for ages and make great pictures of local fishermen and women working, and with flood tide the sea starts right outside the hotel. The water is extremely warm, about body temperature, which we found pretty amazing too. We had a room on the ground floor. It was simple but clean, it really had all we needed. There is a nice, spacey dining area with good food. The staff is welcoming and helpful. We really enjoyed the New Year’s Party with campfire and live music. At some point everybody was dancing, including all personnel, and we just had great laugh. I would warmly recommend Casa del Mar to relax and unwind for a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamoudzou, Mayotte
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you like nature and you want to take a real break, this place is for you. The hotel is built with natural materials made locally, the rooms are large, big beds, rooms cleaned everyday. The view on the sea is beautiful and you will enjoy long walks on the beach in the evening.
The staff is helpful, especially the manager who was a great help to help us save a personal problem.
So, I recommend this place with no doubt to every nature-lover!
Elisabeth from Mayotte

Room Tip: upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2013. We were attracted to the beach at Jambiani which is not overdeveloped and still has a local village feel. One of the most beautiful beaches that I have visited. Lots of fishermen and local activities and in addition tourist activities like kite surfing, diving, snorkelling etc. We had the last available room on the ground floor. It was pleasantly decorated with a decent sized bed/mosquito net etc. Little terrace out front with a table and chairs leading directly to the beach and the small swimming pool. I was happy with the food, plenty of fish options and a nice breakfast. One complaint the rooms are very hot during the night. If we had stayed longer this would have been the major issue. The large dining area is also very pleasant. The staff and service was also fine for us. On balance I would recommend this hotel with a slight hesitation on the room temperature; however this did not stop us thoroughly enjoying our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family came to Zanzibar to snorkel and we found Casa del Mar a perfect place to do that comfortably and easily. The hotel is a very friendly place with an expert and efficient manager, Mr. Masood, who is ready to help out in any emergency even, in our case, by obtaining ear drops from the local doctor when our daughter suffered an ear ache after swimming. That kind of attention makes staying at Casa del Mar more like being a guest at a nice family home than merely at a resort hotel, and the feeling is increased by the fact there are just 15 rooms, so you soon get to know everyone who works there. Meals are excellent and on Christmas there was a beach party with traditional Zanzibar music -- a real treat. The best rooms are on the second floor (they include a loft as well as main room), but the rooms on the ground floor are also very comfortable. A cool breeze from the sea makes sleeping fine even in December, which is Zanzibar's summer season, when we were there. As for snorkeling, the reef is right offshore of the beach in front of the hotel -- an easy ride across a lagoon on a sail-rigged canoe. We took the boats operated by the "captains" on the beach, who knew the best places and times to go, and saw wonderful tropical fish each time. And perhaps contrary to expectations, the captains were very honest (no trying to increase the price at the end of the swim), as well as being very pleasant and relaxed boatmen. We had an absolutely great time and would be happy to repeat the whole holiday again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is very tastefully done and it looks great. But on the practical stuff it fell well short. The rooms (downstairs) are glazed and it has one small fan in each room. In 4 months in Africa it was the hottest room we slept in and was very uncomfortable. For the price it should have at least a very good ceiling fan and fly screened doors.

The food in the restuarant is not very good and the management (not the staff - the were good) were pretty unhelpful and at what point lied to us pretty blatantly (the story is too long and dull to tell!).

Overall for the price I'm sure there is better in Jambiani.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamraBerlin, Manager at Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
First of all, I am taking this opportunity to extend our sincere gratitude to you for selecting Casa Del Mar Zanzibar as your preferred hotel for your recent holiday in Jambiani Zanzibar. On behalf of Casa Del Mar Zanzibar team I truly appreciate your constructive feedback to our services during your stay. We will take every comment on board to better our services and have a stunning impression to all our guests, as we value their choices coming to our hotel.
Accept my heartiest apology if Casa Del Mar quality food couldn’t satisfy your taste of standard.
Frankly we are rather taken aback by the tone of your review; it’s true that we are operating as a non AC Bed& Breakfast hotel, but our ground floors all rooms are west open and with proper dual way of natural cooling. I really regret that you never asked for extra fans which we always keep on standby.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our Management during your stay. Of course our Management team always stays there to attend our valued client’s issues. We always value client feedback as we consider it vital to improve our guests experience and address any issues that may occur.
Once again thank you very much for your comments. We really try our best to guarantee that all our customer expectations are met at 100% and exceeded.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future
Kind regards
Masud, Willimina, Ali and Casa Del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel Casa del Mar is a wonderful place to stay at the Jambiani coast.
A well-kept garden with a little swimming pool, clean and spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff, delicious meals. We had a great room on the first floor with a terrace with seaview and garden view and a separate bedroom under the roof. Hotel Casa del Mar is situated in the village so that you can daily meet local fishermen and working women at the beach. An absolute must!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani

Address: Zanzibar, Jambiani 4146, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 14 rooms are located in two buildings. All rooms have sea view and are tastefully decorated and equipped with East African art and furniture built from eco-friendly local materials. The eight rooms on the ground floor have bathrooms with shower & WC and a private balcony. The six second floor suites are all double-story with a spacious living room, bathroom and balcony on the first level, and with a king-size futon bed with mosquito net under the thatched roof. For families, additional beds can be placed on the first level. All rooms have ceiling fans. Casa del Mar has its own emergency generator, as electricity blackouts are not unusual in Zanzibar. Furthermore, we have invested in a 60,000 liters underground freshwater tank with three powerful water pumps, providing the rooms with hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.