We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse
Save Saved
You added Stonehouse to your Saves list
Jambiani,Kichakanyuki:East coast., Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 21 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived on the open daladala from Zanzibar Town (took around 1.5 hours) and stayed 2 nights. Positioned a footstep away from the beautiful beach. Excellent service from staff - organised a great snorkeling trip for us in a dhou. Unique little bar out at the front of the building - I asked for a coconut with lime and the guy went and knocked one off the tree in front of me ... only cost 1000TSH (40p). Occasional power cuts in the village but the staff provide you with lanterns and candles.
We were late getting back to the bus stop to get the hourly daladala back so the manager drove us to the Paje stop to catch up with it. The best place I stayed in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dr ,Mrs/Mr.
We thank you very much,for your feedback and time. Hope to se you again in the future. Who knows!
Stonehouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff were so welcoming and the Guesthouse was well-kept and modern. Our room had a bed with a canopy and a beautiful wardrobe with windows to allow the sea breeze flow in. I highly recommend this spot as it is not too close to other guesthouses and has a beautiful view (like most of Zanzibar... :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear mrs/mr

Thank you very much for your time and feedback .Your feedback means a lot to us . Our vision is to become even more comfortable then it is today. Thats why we are listen very serios and carefuly both yours and others comments.
Welcome back!

Kind regards/ Stonehouse management

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Stonehouse ($35 usd/night) and they were fantastic. In retrospect, we should have stayed longer. We arrived in Jambiana by the shared bus and initially planned on staying at another hotel listed in Lonely Planet but the driver suggested we "check out" Stonehouse first. We did - then went to the other hotel down the road which was charging more and the staff, upon our arrival, seemed less than enthusiastic. Seriously - if I'm coming to check out your complex and havent yet given over my money - you should TRY to summon some sort of enthusiasm to encourage me. Does being listed in a travel guide make these places complacent?
Anyway - we opted for Stonehouse. Zion - the manager - was so welcoming and was super friendly too us throughout the stay. When my husband was feeling a bit ill he made some really strong and delicious ginger tea for him which was very thoughtful.
The rooms are basic - but were bright and airy. Bathrooms are clean and shared. There is a large deck on the 2nd floor for reading, having a cup of coffee, and watching the ocean. The beach is clean and the beach bar is cute.
No wifi - but there is a really nice little cafe ( Sal and Pepe) with decent food about 5 mins walk from the hotel that has free WiFi. Order a beer or fruit juice and spend hours surfing too your content.. It was actually faster than most of the internet cafes we PAID for in Stonetown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear mrs/mr
Thank you very much for you help and time you took.Your feedback means a lot to us.
Our vision is to become even more comfortable then we are today.
We hope to have you back again.

Best regards/ Stonehouse management.
Peter F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stonehouse is a fantastic place to stay in gorgeous Jambiani. It's right on the beach and there is a bar and dining area outside with great views and the seafood is very nice.

There is also a balcony chill-out area upstairs that looks out over the Indian ocean. I stayed here for 3 nights and I had 3 of the best nights sleep I've ever had as the beds were extra comfortable. The staff were excellent and we stopped by one evening to book our room for the following day and when we arrived next day we were immediately top to go straight to our room without hesitation and to feel at home.

Jambiani itself is beautiful and the beach stretches for miles. Paje is within an hours walking distance too if you need a change of scenery for a day.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best so that those walking around outside do not bother you as much as they might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mrs/mr

We are very appreciate for your feedback and time. It means a lot to us.
We will work each and every day (24/7) to become even more comfortable. We are not sitisfiad yet,thats why your comments are very important to us.
We will listen them carefuly. Thank you very much!

Kind regards/Stonehouse management.

Peter F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse

Address: Jambiani,Kichakanyuki:East coast., Jambiani, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.