We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and Sour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar to your Saves list
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Road Jambiani - Makunduchi | Big Delphin on the Road, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Ras Shungi Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sweet and Sour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sweet: This hotel is on an amazing piece of property with breathtaking views. The staff was very friendly. The prices reasonable.
Sour: Rooms need attention. Walls need painting, AC's need to be cleaned and repaired, in need of new mosquito nets, towels and sheets, need to completely update bathrooms.
Note: Need transportation to sightsee or dine elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    7
    4
    9
See reviews for
15
35
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Bring snacks and be prepared to stay at the pool. The restaurant only serves big meals and buffet. The crisps in the shop were rancid. The beach is shallow with rough, rocky ground and strong waves and currents.
There is now a stage built just outside the main buildings so bring ear plugs. During new year celebrations we could not be in our room due to the loud music.
The owner is friendly but the overall service is absent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22Alberto, Director of Sales at Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Sorry, Reef & Beach is so beautifull location, resort is only 6 years old. Now new owner, new managment, complete renovated. We offer you a free holiday to enjoy now your expected holiday
contact the sales director by email, and he will send you a free voucher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Although the location is lovely the hotel was a complete disappointment. We should have gone to the Paradise Beach Hotel but was told in September it had closed and they offered us the Ras Shungi Beach Resort Hotel as an alternative. Having checked trip advisor we thought it sounded good but the reality was terrible. We arrived having asked for a ground floor room and with my wife recovering from a broken ankle only to be told they were going to put us in a second floor room up 4 flights of stairs. Obviously my wife was unable to do this and they then put us in a ground floor room overlooking the pool. When we walked in the air conditioning unit was hanging off the wall, the louvre windows were hanging, the shower was covered in green mould and the shower head and rail was hanging off the wall. We told the hotel management we were not happy and wanted to be moved to another room and as it was early evening we were told we could move the next morning. We were shown another room in one of the bungalows to the right of the pool and although from the outside it looked great we had a quick check inside but found the air conditioning wasn't working. The management got someone to look at it and we were told it was now working and we could move in. Once we had moved in and had a better look we had a list of problems. One of the lights in the room was not working and we only had one other wall light and a small lamp so at night it was very dark. The bathroom was a disaster area the shower head was left hanging as the rail was missing, the shower glass was wobbly and there was a crack in the bottom left hand side of the door. When showering you flooded the bathroom and the water came up from the drain by the toilet. The wall sockets were loose and when you needed to use them to charge phones etc you had to hold onto the socket so it didnt come off the wall. The shower head and bath taps were badly corroded. When you used the hairdryer in the bathroom and moved it to dry you hair the lights dimmed. The floors looked dirty and even with the cleaner coming in they looked disgusting and there were some dodgy stains on the floor. The telephone didn't work and if we needed reception we had to physically go and see them. The air conditioning unit although we were told it was working was set on one setting, freezing, my wife had to sleep with extra towels over her because she had the unit blowing cold air over her. All this was bought to the attention of the hotel management within 24 hours of us moving into the room but in the 2 weeks we were there nothing was done to repair or improve things. The water pressure was not good and sometimes they didn't leave enough towels. There was no safe to store your valuables. On the 3rd day there we were visited by Mr Hassan from Fisherman Travel who was a representative there. He asked if everything was alright and we told him of the problems we were experiencing he had a list off us and said he would contact the management and come back to us. He informed us that this hotel was being rented because our original hotel the Paradise Beach had burned down and that the hotel management had been warned that they needed to improve facilities as there had been so many complaints. We had one occasion when we went to breakfast and there was no food all we had was coffee. The food was repetitive and boring and we knew what we were having regardless of lunch time or evening. Not impressed. There was a cow that fell into the pool on the first week and the pool was off limits while they were disinfecting it but then the pump packed up and so no one was able to use the pool for over a week. Not impressed. The day before we were due to leave Mr Hassan from Fisherman Travel came to see us to find out if anything had been done to repair or improve the facilities in the room and again nothing had happened. Not impressed. He gave my wife 4 sheets of A4 lined paper and she wrote about all the problems we had experienced throughout the 2 weeks we were there he said he would report this to Travelbag who we had booked the holiday through and lodge the complaint with them so that we could follow it up when we got back to the UK. The boardwalk was lovely to have a coffee but the electrics were appalling. We weren't informed of our full rights as we were all inclusive and had to keep asking what we were entitled to. The only plus side was the location and the waitresses in the dining room were lovely and friendly. It was nice and quiet with no loud music being played. Unfortunately it could have been an amazing holiday and for the price we paid for it it should have been, however I would definitely not be going to this hotel again. We paid for a 4 star international stander hotel all inclusive and probably got a 2 star. Very disappointed. We are in dispute with Travelbag and are awaiting communication from them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22Alberto, Director of Sales at Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Sorry, Reef & Beach is so beautifull location, resort is only 6 years old. Now new owner, new managment, complete renovated. We offer you a free holiday to enjoy now your expected holiday
contact the sales director by email, and he will send you a free voucher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The site is incredibly beautiful, but the hotel's facilities, food and service are very bad. We were harassed from arrival to take excersions, the food was dry and we had to constantly inform staff of our full board rights, the bathrooms have extractor fans that don't work, and bring in mosquitoes inside the rooms, showers that aren't properly attached to the wall, low water pressure, nylon bath mats, 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel for 2 adults, no safe to store your valuables, 1 x 250ml water bottle per room, staff that interupt mealtime conversation, inappropriate entertainment, and food that is served by hand. This was our first and would've been our last trip to Zanzibar if we hadn't moved resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms with a beach view are stunning. They were all empty, and the few guests that were there, shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22Alberto, Director of Sales at Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Sorry, Reef & Beach is so beautifull location, resort is only 6 years old. Now new owner, new managment, complete renovated. We offer you a free holiday to enjoy now your expected holiday
contact the sales director by email, and he will send you a free voucher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Its a wonderful place to spend your vacation, honeymoon etc. Its privacy very far from the village so no disturbance and no noise.
The rooms have a/c which perfect for a country like Tanzania.
Big swimimg pool. The so called boardwalk is a magnificent piece of art.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I am currently volunteering with an NGO in Dar es Salaam, it was soooo nice to take a weekend break from the city and go to the East Coast of Zanzibar. I heard about Ras Shungi Beach Resort from a friend, so me and fellow volunteers gave it a shot. The place is huge, everywhere you look there's a breathtaking view to the Indian Ocean. Service was good and the rooms were very spacious. The gardens and pool area are very clean and well maintained. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone planning on going to the east coast. It's a very peaceful and relaxing place. I will never forget it. I hope I have the chance to go back sometime before I go back home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar

Address: Road Jambiani - Makunduchi | Big Delphin on the Road, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Ras Shungi Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently build 45 bungalows and rooms resort and taken over in June 2014 by the AtoZ resort and safari group. With international managment is this a perfect place to enjoy your holiday. The location is beautifull with a private beach and close to the coral reef. The restaurant is serving a international and local kitchen with buffet and a-la carte service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.