We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
1 review
“A wonderful memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This beautiful hotel corresponds exactly to what my wife and I seek for our holidays.
Few rooms, cleaning and care in every detail, the African style is breathed in every corner of this beautiful hotel.
Excellent cuisine, offering dishes of fresh fish every day and the delicious buffet of traditional cuisine in organized beach.
Convenient service from the airport and well-organized excursions.
Paolo, Christina and all the staff are very friendly and always attentive to the guests needs, really well organized.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
92
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice feel of Zanzibar at mamamapambo. We interacted with friendly locals, and felt like we belonged there. Staff was warm and friendly, and the food was very good....

Basically we had a nice time.

Room Tip: Go for the jungle rooms! 100% African feel with a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was drawn to Jambiani and the Mamamapambo Hotel online and was not disappointed. After two weeks of fantastic but exhausting safari traveling, the Mamamapambo was a perfect oasis. My room was private with a large deck with hanging chaises overlooking the beach and I spent hours relaxing here while enjoying the local activity, such as women collecting seaweed at low tide, children swimming and playing soccer and traditional sailing boats passing by. Unlike other areas of the island, the beach and village here are quiet, local, and primarily "non-touristy". Vendors did approach me on the beach but pleasantly honored my decline of their services and continued to engage me in friendly and interesting conversation. A highlight was a snorkeling trip with four local sailors on a traditional boat. Cristina, Paolo and all of the staff at Mamamapambo were accommodating, friendly, available and attentive to every detail. Despite inclement winds, I was treated to a private dinner right outside my room on my last night with night views of the ocean, an experience I will always remember. Dinners were cooked to order and phenomenal. The accommodation is a beautiful rustic piece of architecture, with local decor and furnishings, peaceful and comfortable common areas with wonderful views, a well-stocked outdoor bar and (somewhat inconsistent) free wifi. I will definitely return here for a longer stay, I never wanted to leave!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room here. The two lower sea view rooms have beautiful decks overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

excellent location, local staff helpfull and friendly, all the rooms really spacious and clean, food the best we have eaten on the island .. fully reccomend to anyone looking for privacy but with touch to local village - which is really worth to visit and walk and see the life there

Paolo very nice, helpfull and carefull host

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights after safari.

The hotel itself is nice and right on the beach.

Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

Dinner was very overpriced by comparison to other local restaurants, where the food was just as nice and if not better.

It was disappointing that there were no tea or coffee making facilities either in our rooms or in the communal areas. It would have been a nice touch considering it is called a boutique hotel.

However, our main issue was the excursion costs and how they were so misleadingly presented in the hotel booklet.

We pre booked two excursions.
The first one was the trip to the spice farm and stone town. In the booklet, the price displayed was "2-3 persons $60". Assuming the trip would cost $60 for maximum of three people and not per individual.

Our second excursion was to Chumbe island. It was $90 each for the day, paid directly to the staff of Chumbe and transfer from Mama mapambo was quoted as "$35 2-3 persons". Obviously we again assumed this price was for maximum of three people and not per individual.
The local snorkelling trip was quoted as $17 per person on the booklet, which makes the advertising of these excursions very very misleading.

My Boyfriend settled the bill with Paulo on our last evening. However when we checked the receipt again, we realised that the prices were all per individual!

I asked a member of staff to call Paulo for clarification on this issue.
On the telephone, Paulo was vague about the cost of the excursions, saying that he could not remember the prices of the excursions on the top of his head! Bearing in mind He has been the owner of this hotel for the last six years! However, He was very quick to say that at the back page of the booklet it mentions that all prices are per person. We did not see that, although it was written there.... Similar to the small print of an insurance policy!

In our opinion the booklet needs to be rewritten. Prices for the excursions should be made more explicit and be at the very beginning of the booklet instead. For us it was false advertising and hugely misleading.
This might avoid travellers from being royally ripped off in the future.

Incidentally, there are many locals in the area that offer tours at a much lower rate. The money goes directly to the locals, and would cut out the middle mans share! It appears that Paulo is the main beneficiary in this operation and has it completely monopolised.

In summation, Jambiani is a great place to stay, just perhaps not at Mama mapambo. The prices of the rooms are reasonable, it would appear that they are making up for it in other ways.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing week at Mamamapambo. Beautiful rooms, common area and surroundings, adorable staff and amazing food.

I wanted complete relaxation, and that is what I got :) If you want to go on any trip, they organize everything for you.

Asante sana, Mamamapambo. See you again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanves, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is a nice construction organised around a quiet patio. The house is beautiful in line with typical zanzibari architecture. The rooms are spacious with AC and nicely built. The hotel is right on the beach. Great fusion food – though portions could be a little bigger.
Held by a lovely Italian couple who know about food and service! We had a wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.