We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mamamampambo for 5 nights in November 2013 during our Honeymoon and that experience was even better that we could ever imagine, really!
We stayed at the room # 6 (Deluxe Room with sea-view) on the second floor with our own sea-view veranda. I could spend hours there watching breathtaking view of high and low tide changing, watching local people everyday life: men fishing on theit traditional boats - dhow, women picking and drying out seaweeds, children playing and sailing toy boats.. The hotel is located in the middle of Jambiani village so be ready to experience the local colours of runnung village life with all the accompanying smells and noices. Nevertheless, that don't bother you at all because as soon as you get there you feel as a part of this strange interesting world. Local village people are friendly, especially children who are curious, mischievous and never miss a chance to speak to tourists and ask for some treats.
Food was oustandingly delicious for reasonable prices, plentiful breakfasts, rich choise of dishes for dinner. 2 times a week special dinner is served in the garden for all guests: swahili food dinner and BBQ dinner. We were lucky to experience swahili dinner and my husband and I concurred that it was the most delicious dinner while in Zanzibar.
Hotel is located rather far from StoneTown and other touristic places so that's the best place for those who are looking for relax and quietness, romantic location on the beach makes it perfect for honeymooners. We rented a car for the whole period of our stay in Zanzibar so we were free to drive around the island and arrange all the tours and other activities by ourselves. However, if you don't have a car the hotel offers a range of tours and can arrange transfers wherever you need.
The hotel is decorated in African style with impeccable taste, each detail is unique, has its own soul and perfectly fits its place. We were so amazed at the hotel design that asked Paolo and Krisitina to let us bring our photographer (who was coming later to take pictures of our HoneyMoon) to shoot on the background of their awesome hotel. They were so nice to agree though at the moment of photoshooting we already left the hotel moving to the north of the island. Thank Paolo and Kristina so much for that and for the amazing romantic candlelight dinner they arranged for us in the garden. Thay always were so friendly and helpful and made our stay at their hotel unforgettable!
No doubt we would recommend this hotel to our friends and if we come to Zanzibar in the future we'll be glad to stay there again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have their own open verandas with fantastic sea-view and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this gorgeous boutique hotel in November for 5 nights and it was the most special place we have stayed in. The food that is served is out of this world, absolutely first class and always served with a smile. Cristina and Paolo are fantastic hosts they organised trips and excursions for us and nothing was too much trouble, we felt that we have made some good friends at this lovely hotel and the setting is amazing. You cant beat waking up in the morning to a gorgeous view and watching the local people tending to their boats. The sea is so warm and lovely. I can not rate this hotel high enough and with Cristina and Paolo running it - they make it even more special, it's a wonderful place. All the staff are extremely friendly and the cocktails.... well they are incredible, we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and loved every second of it. The staff is great, the food is diverse and everything just feels effortlessly pleasant. The location of the hotel and its boutique qualities made us feel like being part of Zanzibar fantasy. Perhaps it is the attention to detail that makes Mamamapambo so special. Christina and Paolo put their heart and soul in it and made it a wonderful experience for us. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and every moment was perfect - location, food, staff, managers Cristina and Paolo, beach, cocktails.. the hotel is very small (only 5 rooms I think) and therefore it is great place when you need to relax and get away from every day heaviness.
The view from the top terrace was stunning and quickly became our most favorite place. Hotel also organizes great trips, staff is very helpful to arrange for anything you may need during your stay.
One of our favorite parts was the traditional swahili buffet dinner - the dinner was under the stars and the food was 5 star quality!
If you're looking for a beautiful place with great atmosphere you do not have to look further - this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms - they have excellent balconies and are also away from the noisy-early-morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel right on the beach. Owners (Christina and Paolo) and staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful.

The food was exceptionally good and there was always a good choice.

Only a few rooms (perhaps just four or five) here so it's quiet and romantic.We had a superior room (huge/ comfy/ very nice) for two nights and was lovely but upgraded to a jungle room for the last three nights (even bigger/ very comfy and had fantastic views of the beach/ sea, though the bathroom set up was a little odd - jungle like even).

One of the nicest places we've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. We stayed in room #1, which has a veranda with a wonderful ocean view.

We found the included breakfast to be exceptional and generally enough to hold us over until dinner at 8 each night. If you choose to get it, the multi-course evening menu doesn't disappoint. We were delighted with just about everything.

Overall, we would rate the service exceptional. We were very pleased with the service, so much so that we left a large tip for the entire staff to share.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in August for 6 days and loved it. The food, the rooms, the staff, the location, and the beach were all great. The Swahili dinner night was particularly good. Paolo and Christine are wonderful hosts and will help you with anything you need, including trips to Stone City or to other restaurants. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Jungle room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Pumzika Beach Resort
Pumzika Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Makunduchi
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 141 in Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Beach, Budget...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#2 of 8 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#5 of 8 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.