We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After much hilarity driving up and down trying to find Mamamapambo (the hotel sign kept going walkabout so there is no sign currently - take Fabio's mobile number if you struggle to find the hotel!) we finally arrived last this little oasis outside Paje.

We stayed in rooms facing the sea - one upstairs with lounge area and one downstairs with outside swing seats. Very cute and plenty of space for luggage etc.

The team here are really great - friendly, unobtrusive and fantastic food!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here the first week of Feb and were really impressed with the welcome, the room, the service, the food...... you get the idea!
Seafood is the core of the menu with an Italian taste which suited us down to the ground.
There are lots of activities to choose from locally, kite surfing, Safari blue, swimming with dolphins.... We decided to work through the cocktail menu at the hotel and forego all the active stuff( - I can recommend the Mojitos!)
For lunch there is a snacks and sandwich menu, order early because if you order a sandwich the chef bakes the bread specifically, and believe me, it's worth waiting for.

All in all a paradise destination

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room - preferably No.4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived by night. And were a bit worried when the car passing the village as we see nothing like a hotel nearby. But when we got inside…

The decoration is superb. Our room has a sea view and the beach is just few steps away. We could have nothing to complain.

The hotel is in a village quite far away from stone town (about 1 hr drive), there’re just one or two cafés nearby, and that is. so you should expect to stay, eat and drink in the hotel, unless you adventurous enough to explore the area around. But the place is so cozy and food there are excellent too (price very reasonable!), so you won’t find just staying and eating there a bad thing.

The owner, Fabio & Stefania, and all staff are nice and friendly. We hoped we could stay longer and enjoyed every moment there. Would recommend this to anyone who want to visit Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fabio is a great host where you feel comfortable during your stay in this small hotel. Worth to stay however expect to be in a real zanzibarian village not touristic town.
You should keep tshiling to pay the sum since the exchange rates are too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Hill, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Mammampambo. We just loved the room, and the overall building. Lots of thought has gone into the presentation of the property. Everything was very clean. Our only real complaint was that there was no airconditioning in the property, only cooling was a ceiling fan which really didn't do much. Our room was on the lower ground right in front of the beach which was a relief as we were able to get some of the sea breeze. The weather was very warm and humid so we found it very difficult to sleep. This was disappointing as this was our last stop in Africa after travelling for 5 weeks and all we wanted to do was relax. During the day everything was generally pretty good, we had a swinging day bed on our porch which was just lovely and with the beautiful view and breeze it was a pleasant and relieving change.
It was quite windy in Jambiani, we figured this must be the norm as there are lots of kite surfering companies around. So we had lots of seaweed on the beach. So not as spectacular as we had imagined. The sea water temperature is quite warm, which can be great for some but not really very refreshing. You also need to be aware that you can only swim certain times of the day due to the high tides. This is not the case further north.
Good points about Mamampambo, fantastic chef, we ate there everyday. Meals change daily but are delicious. Although staying out on this side of the island we soon discovered you really don't have many other alternatives. Prices for the meals were reasonable. Staff overall are lovely. Kept everything very tidy and clean.
A little disappointed that some things seemed overlooked. Most of the other resorts sweep the beach in the mornings to get rid of the seaweed, this was not the case at mamamapambo. Everything was so carefully placed and selected in the building yet considering this was considered to be a boutique hotel, there was no shampoo or conditioner in the rooms, or any special lotions. We don't want to be picky, but this is can really add a lovely touch to the room and make you feel like a valued guest. There was also no complimentary bottled water in our rooms, considering you can not drink the tape water, this really should have been supplied, not only to consume but for teeth brushing. Be aware there is also no pool, not really a problem as there is the ocean but considering the tide situation would come in handy.
Payment also is only accepted in cash. We were not made aware of this prior to our arrival hence we were charged a large surcharge to sort out the bill.
Given the opportunity to do things again would probably stay further north in an airconditioned property with a pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

An island of Italian charm and beauty located in a relatively poor village of Paje. Run and owned by an Italian couple, this nicely designed and decorated villa has five guest rooms and a restaurant. Very large rooms with small walk-in closet and big bathroom. Bed seems to be larger than standard king-size.
Rooms #1 & #4 are ocean side while #2 & #3 are on the street side. All rooms have patios with #2 not being really private as guests and staff have to pass by to enter the building. Room #5 is upstairs with nice sitting are in front of the room.
We came late at night and had troubles finding the place as sign seems to be taken down by locals. Make sure you have Fabio’s phone number if needed but if you follow signs to Kiddo’s Caffe, you should be fine. Mamamapambo is the next door.

Food is excellent although I did not like that I have to make arrangement for dinner in advance as I never know how will I feel like in the evening. Close by is an Italian restaurant and much further in Jambiani is a Bahary bar&restaurant with excellent wood stove baked pizza. I recommend walking along the beach as finding this place walking through the village is also a nightmare.

Room Tip: Ask for room #1 or #4 if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 8 days at the Mamamapambo and it’s been the best part of our holiday in Zanzibar. We stayed in the room upstairs, which has a fantastic view over the laguna and a gorgeous private lounge with comfy couches, games and books. The room was clean and tidy, with fancy furnishings safari style.
Everybody at the Mamamapambo is friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is relaxed and homely. The owners, Stefania and Fabio, are the heart of the place: always available, always smiling, always happy to recommend a restaurant, a spot where to swim, a new beach to explore. This is the perfect place if you don’t want to meet the crowds of the big resorts.
We tried many of the restaurants in the vicinity and we loved most of them. Our opinion cleanly overlapped with what we were told by Fabio and Stefania. The restaurant at the Mamamapambo itself is excellent: good variety, fresh ingredients and kind service. At lunchtime, the meal was usually ready about an hour after making our orders. The evening meals were a lovely moment to meet the other guests.
We loved the village of Jambiani. From the Mamamapambo we could easily walk everywhere, either on the beach at low tide, or on the village main road. The locals are extremely friendly and if you need anything from a taxi to a restaurant, to a dhow ride, simply ask around and somebody will point you in the right direction or will introduce you to somebody that can help you. Always with a smile!
There are a lovely sand bank and a few wonderful spots for snorkelling just in front of the Mamamapambo. Both are within walking distance at low tide, and you can borrow shoes at the Mamamapambo, if you don’t feel like walking barefoot. We mostly took the paths used by the locals to reach the seaweed farming sites, which is the safest way. The reef itself is rather far from shore, but it’s worth the long walk/swim, if you want to see large numbers of sea stars, fish and giant shells. You can also hire a local fisherman with a dhow for a modest fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.