We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home (on a beach!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home (on a beach!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having been to Zanzibar previously I was keen to go to a different part of the island and Jambiani and Mamamapambo did not disappoint. The hotel is beautiful, with the attention to detail surpassing anything I have seen anywhere else. The room was large and the bed extremely comfortable. The beach on the doorstep was perfect for swimming and we went for long walks along the beach and felt completely safe. The fresh seafood everynight was delicious and all of the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help. Fabio and Stefani were always on hand to answer questions/have a general chat and really made these few days something very special. We certainly hope to return one day and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Nederland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

[Voor Nederlands: volledig eens met de beoordeling van Josvanbuuren. Zie voor meer info de tekst al daar. Deze is zeer compleet.]

This is the best place to be on Zanzibar, when you want to relax (swim, read, eat, do nothing, etc.), make day trip or two (Stone town, spice farm, diving, etc.) and don't want to be a number in a resort. The hotel is located in a quiet town, which also means there are less/ only a few hawkers.

This small and new hotel is run by an Italian couple (Fabio and Stefania), who have a great feeling for quality and style. The 5 rooms are very clean and of western standard. The food from the little restaurant is of high quality, affordable and the evening menu changes every day. (These Italians live up to the expectation that they care about good food :-) They've hired the best local staff, which makes the food, service and day-to-day communication very pleasant.

Take into account that there is no big bar around. But the drinks/ cocktails in the hotel are good and if you want to have some contact with 'others', the hotel is that intimate that you can easily strike up a conversation (and have a drink) with other guests and/or Fabio and Stefania.

There is also no swimming pool, which makes sense for such a small place. But if you walk 5 minutes on the beach, there is a small resort which has a nice swimming pool. You can stay here all day, as long as you buy a drink once in a while. And 2 minutes further down the beach there is an even bigger resort with a bigger pool. So use the facility of this resort and go back in the late afternoon/ evening to this great hotel.

Fabio and Stefania, thanks for the great time!

Room Tip: There are two seaside rooms on the ground floor which are right at the beach (incl. a nice porch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week at Mamamapambo.
We were looking for a really laid back, beach bum, type of week. We did not want TV, telephone and internet access.
This is just as well because they didn't have it.
Perfect.
Our room, on the upper floor, was just right for us. A uniquely designed bedroom and bathroom with a very special outside balcony area overlooking the ocean. This space was designed for comfort and relaxation.
The food served was of good quality with a daily-changing dinner menu which took its theme from the setting with a lot of fresh seafood and also daily pasta dishes (Italian owners). You are not going to get travellers' diarrhoea here.
The village (spread along five kilometres of beach) was a working, rather than tourist, place. Men went fishing and women, seaweed farming. If you have travelled much in Africa or Asia most places frequented by Western tourists have a significant hassle factor. Not this place (Jambiani). It was a pleasure to be here and meet the local people. Worth the visit alone.
Other attributes of the beach and the owners have already been covered so I won't go over the same ground again.
What surprises me is that there are so few visitors from where I live (The Gulf). Many go to the Seychelles or Mauritius (probably because of direct connections by the local airline).
For a fraction of the price they can get to Zanzibar with a very easy connection in Muscat and then a direct connection with Oman Air.
You don't have to go to our particular sleepy resort as there are plenty, more lively, in the north of the island.
But go, definitely. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having spent a full two weeks at Mamamapambo ,i thought i must write a review.....I am a frequent traveller who has stayed in the official best hotel in the world in Dubai....but let me tell you this place comes pretty damn close...Fabio and Stef have thought long and hard about everything in this hotel , the african chic decor was lovely , great big double rooms ,comfy beds ,and large bathrooms...the food is really tasty and fairly priced...maybe one of the best eating places in the area,,,but this is a hotel/guest house with a difference, from entering to leaving our every need was met 100 per cent nothing was too much trouble from different meals to advice and help....Stef went out of her way to make my wedding anniversary special ,which was a really good unexpected gesture.thankyou so much....i had to cut back on my meals as the portions were too filling ..all the staff have been selected to compliment the way stef and fabio treat you...thankyou omar (the gent ) beka ,doula , juma, rwandzi,kombo selema and the masai izaca...these people made my stay wonderful again ,ask them anything and they try the best to please...practical info....all rooms have a good hairdryer ,towels for the bathroom and the beach,european type sockets as well as shaver point...they have mosquito nets around the beds ,mosquito rings and sprays (but i must say the mossies were nearly non existent,)no swiimming pool but one of the biggest in front of you known as the indian ocean ,if u want an alternative ,about 5 min walk along the beach to the left are three hotels that will let you use their pool if u buy a drink there for about two euros Bahari view,Spice island and Pakachi,for the adventurous motorcycle /scooter hire at Bagdad cafe for about 10 euros a day he even gets your driving permit for u...bring sea shoes for the urchins again not loads but a few about....walking in the village is 99.9 percent safe bring a torch....thats all i can say ...except if you want a great hotel ,this is it thankyou Stef and Fabio ...Glynn and Michelle Nottingham England

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

great hotel and atmosphere, lovely owners and beautifully located, i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a place to relax. 100% value for your money! a place you feel at home...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv, israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It has taken some time but I have been waiting to give a review from the minute we left.
Staying at the Mama Mapambo was one of the best guest experiences we have ever had!
Beginning with the place itself, its beautifully designed and decorated. You can tell from the moment you walk in that someone really loves this place and as soon as you meet Fabio and Stefania you understand you are a guest in someone’s fantasy come to life! The kitchen and eating area are adjacent a magical inner courtyard open to the sky in the heart of the villa and have an incredible sea view , surrounded by the 6 rooms. The rooms all have their privacy but the heart of the place makes it feel warm and cozy. This place brings sophisticated, exotic and warm into one. As we didn’t book in advance but simply popped in... they didn’t have a room free for the six days we needed. At first we thought we'd look for another place but after we saw the rooms we immediately understood we were willing to move from room to room just to stay. It was the best decision we made. We got to try all three types of rooms and the atmosphere! All the rooms are comfortable, spacious and elegant and designed with the topmost care and attention. The one we loved best was on the balcony facing the sea because of the sitting area outside, but all were great.
This place is like a home away from home. With only 5 guest rooms, you can enjoy a quiet relaxing intimate atmosphere - just what we wanted. Fabio and Stefania were amazing hosts, interesting, funny and gracious. We would recommend this place to anyone we liked (and keep people we don’t like away ;)! Hopefully we will visit Zanzibar again and if so we will clearly stay here again!! Thanks Stefania and Fabio for a wonderful time!!! S&G

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if available, a sea view makes it perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rishon lezyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Mamamapambo for 3 nights during our 4 weeks trip at Tanzania and all we can say is WOW!

We traveled for 16 days at Zanzibar and stayed in several places at all the "touristic beaches" such as Nungwi, Pongwe, Paje, Matemwe and Jambiani, and Mamamapambo was with no doubt the place that we liked the best.

The owners of the place (Fabio and Stefania) are really amazing people and they will let you feel at home and take care of everything that you need. The rooms in Mamamapambo are very comfortable and the food in the restaurant is also great. Compare to other places in Zanzibar we can absolutely say that this place is a great value for money.

We will recommend Mamamapambo for everyone who wants to get away from the "big resort and hotels scene" and is looking for a small and friendly place with great atmosphere and lovely beach (don't forget to ask Fabio to show you the sandbank in front of the place, which is really worth a visit at low tide!).

Overall we can say only good things about Mamamapambo and there is no doubt that if we will come back to Zanzibar this place will be our first pick!

Thank you very much Fabio and Stefania for the great time and hope to see you soon!
Shir and Omri

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.