We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Moshi, Tanzania
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Mama Mapambo is a lovely boutique hotel with fun and relaxed Italian owners. I stayed for one night in March as part of a short break in Zanzibar. My romantic partner and I walked the length of Jambiani beach looking for a place to stay and knew Mama Mapambo was perfect for us. Each room was individually styled and the en-suite bathrooms were unique and quirky. As it was nearly the end of the season we had a choice of most rooms and opted for a ground floor room overlooking the sea with doors opening onto a small semi-secluded deck leading to the garden. We slept well and awoke to the sound of the waves on the shore. Fabio, Stefania and the staff team made us feel extremely welcome and ensured we had everything we wanted without being fussy. The food and drinks were absolutely delicious. I live on mainland Tanzania and it was a delight to enjoy Italian-inspired locally-sourced fresh dishes, fabulous juices and Italian liquors. The overall vibe was relaxed yet sophisticated beach chic in a down-to-earth and friendly way. I would definitely recommend Mama Mapambo to anybody looking to stay on a chilled beach with good food, fantastic accommodation and great company. I'm looking forward to being there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor opening onto the beach front are lovely, rooms upstairs have a cool lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
105
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

AMAZING!!! We are so thrilled and so lucky that we found this place. Here in Mamamapambo was our best time on Zanzibar.
This bed & breakfast is a relative new one and thats why it has only few reviews. This is their second season and we wish them all the best, because they deserve it.
We are not sure where to start, because everything was perfect...
Fabio and Stefania are the most welcoming, friendly and kind host that you ever could have! Nothing was too much trouble for them, organizing excursions, special meal preferences or giving any kind of information. They were always there to help at any time for everything with big smiles on their faces. Because of them this place has a very special and positvie vibe and we feel that we have friends forever. We really enjoyed late night chilling with Fabio, Stefania and their friendly stuff. We felt like we already knew them whole our life.
The house is beautiful, its right on the beach. As you enter you're overwhelmed with this feeling like you entered your own little paradise. They have six rooms (we saw every one of them) and they are all comfortable, very well decorated and pleasant to sleep in, especially one with a sea view. All rooms have veranda, nice bathroom with huge shower and comfortable beds. Stefanie thought about every detail while decorating this beautiful home.
In front of the house they have enough sunbeds with a beautiful garden and when its high tide you only have to take a few stairs and you're already in the water. When its low tide the view is unbelievable, but if you want to go swimming you should walk for a little bit and you will reach an amazing sandbank in the middle of the ocean. If you dislike walking till there, you can ask Fabio to arrange a cheap boat ride with some local boys. The beach is beautiful, but tides are stronger on this part of the island.
When you walk out from Mamamapambo you have the feeling like your on discovery channel in the middle of a typical african village. Because Jambiani is huge village we had a little problem finding Mamamapambo when we were arriving, so be sure to take Fabio's phone number or follow "Kiddos Cafe" signs and you will find it, because its right next to it.
We strongly recommend taking half-board. The food is brilliant, fresh and there is plenty of it. We enjoyed every of our meal. Fabio is buying groceries on daily basis and Beka (chef) is preparing them just when you order (for lunch) or just before dinner. We liked breakfast very much, especially when it came with fresh mango or passionfruit juice. The pasteries you get are prepared by themselves, so they're always hot and yummy. We liked the food so much that we didnt even try some other restaurants or hotels nearby.
Comparing what you get the price is seriously a joke! We couldnt find this price/quality ratio nowhere else at this island.
When we come back to Zanzibar we will stay here and only here. Their staff is providing a good service and they're all friendly and make you feel like you're at home.
If you're visiting the south part of the island be sure not to miss this hidden gem, you will not regret it.
Mamamapambo rules :D

Greetings to best chef ever Beka (thanks for chapati recipe), hard working Juma (you will become a very good chef, just keep on learning), our friend Konbo, Mr. Omar (most pleasant waiter on the island), Abdullah (never without a smile) and THE REAL Massai Isaaca (we felt very safe ajajajajajajajajaj :) )...thank you all, you were the highlight of our trip!
Last but not least, special greetings to Stefania and Fabio, hope to see you sonn guys...no matter where!

Andjela & Nenad

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariager, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Super cosy small hotel with only 5-6 rooms, where the italian owners are making sure that everything is working. Very friendly staff and nice food.
The rooms are all decorated in african style, and are nice and clean, some of them with a veiw over the ocean.
The beach is best for bathing when it is low tide, where you can walk a long way out to a great sand bank, where you can snorkel. It is also possible to hire a local dhow to sail you snorkeling.
You can watch local sea weed harvesters and fishermen during the day, and there is a laid back feeling to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived at Mama Mapambo on our honeymoon, having visited mainland Tanzania for a few weeks and also having spent 2 nights in Stone Town. Mama Mapambo was the perfect place to relax! The Italien owners, Fabio and Stefania, were so so brilliant throughout our stay. A previous review said how it felt like having 2 additional friends - well they are now 2 additional friends!!! As soon as we entered the hotel to the moment we left 4 days later, they did everything they could to make us feel at home.

The food was fantastic throughout our stay, from the breakfasts through to the evening meals. The staff take time to buy local ingredients, and deliver a delightful mix of African meals with a bit of traditional Italien thrown in for good measure!

The hotel and beach were generally very quiet, and away from the more crowded beaches further north in Zanzibar.

The room we stayed in was one of the 4 ground floor rooms, and was lovely. The bed was very comfortable (with mosquito net), and the room was decorated very tastefully. The room also had a ceiling fan which kept it fresh, though mosquitos were not a big problem at all. The on-suite bathroom was again very nicely decorated, with hot shower water whenever we required it. Our room had a small private terrace, which overlooked the sea, and was wonderful for watching the sunrise.

During our stay, a trip to swim with the dolphins was organised for us with no difficulties, as was the taxi ride to and from Stone Town/Zanzibar airport.

The hotel is directly on Jambiani beach, which means that the tides go out a long way. But while this means no swimming for a few hours, it was actually very nice to explore the rockpools during this time. When the tide comes back in, it was more than deep enough to go swimming directly in front of the hotel.

There were many different hotels and restaurants along the beach, and we found to be generally of good quality (though Mama Mapambo was always of a very high standard), but just be prepared to wait for the food - everyone takes their time, but it's worth the wait!

This has obviously been a bit of a labour of love for Fabio and Stefania from the stories they told us, but they have created a hotel in the style that they wanted, and one that works beautifully with the suroundings.

We would recommend Mama Mapambo to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and just relax - it was the perfect way to finish our honeymoon and we can't thank Fabio and Stefania enough. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This place is amazing! A hidden pearl in Jambiani! It is such a pity that there so little reviews about this hotel, cuz this simply stands out compared to the rest! I regret the nights I spend at the Pakachi Bungalow (which by the way is a decent place, but in no way comparable to this!) next door.

Let's start with the food. Well, it is ran by an Italian couple so you can imagine. Delicious! By far the best diner I had in Jambiani!

The owners are so great and warm you feel immediately at home. After an hour you even feel like having two additional friends!

The rooms are fantastic! Simply 5 star rooms! The two top rooms are the so-called jungle rooms=huge suites with such a jungle design that makes you wonder whether there are perhaps lions hiding themselves under your bed. And the other smaller rooms on the ground floor are still huge and beautifully design. In these rooms you can really chill down after an active day of snorkling, swimming, kitesurfing, dolphin tour or one of the several cultural trips there.

For what you get, the price is seriously a joke. Even the budget options around this hotel, of which the quality can in no way be compared with this, are not much cheaper.

I guess I made my point: Don't miss this out when you visit this area (Paje/Jambiani).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.