We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kim's Restaurant

Kim's Restaurant
beachside, Jambiani, Tanzania
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 24 restaurants in Jambiani
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: listed in many tourist books.
Kigali, Rwanda
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Small, unassuming little hut on the beach that serves up some of the most delicious local food!!! Must try...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    18
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fish curry full of bones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we had big expectations due to the review from two canadians in the menu card. However, Kim was not home, so his brother cooked. Our fish curry was not as tasty as it could be, and it was full of surprising small, sharp bones which were a bit dangerous! We didnt really feel the food was worth the high prices. However the place was really cosy, and i believe Kim himself is a good cook :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

this was a tiny local restaurant. location from a travel guide book, and it was the best food we had on the island. delicious, absolutely wonderful. okay maybe we found it more so due to having had not so delicious food for two days.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Authentic Zanzibarian cooking in a quaint location. Great for a cooking lesson too! Phone up/visit earlier in the day to book your meal

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here one night during our recent stay in Jambiani. Very nice good, with the highlight being the grilled octopus appetizer and vegetable samosa. The restaurant is a little hard to find at night, but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim's Restaurant also viewed

 
Jambiani, Zanzibar
Jambiani, Zanzibar
 

Been to Kim's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.