We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee in Jambiani.. and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alibi's Well

Alibi's Well
PO Box 210, Jambiani PO Box 210, Tanzania
+255786231988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Jambiani
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Pizza, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Alibi's Well is the training restaurant of the Jambiani Tourism Training Institute, set up and managed by a NGO which provides free tourism education to the locals of Jambiani and Zanzibar. The restaurant and kitchen is run by the students who put all their newly acquired skills into the food and service provided to the customers. The restaurant is open for lunch Mon-Fri, 12-6pm, offers fresh juices, snacks, wraps and pizza. Alibi's Well is famous for its desserts and Friday Dinners. Karibuni Sana!
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Jambiani.. and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stopped by this restaurant a number of times during our recent stay in Jambiani. Would have stopped by more, but it was closed on the weekend. Great coffee and I'd highly recommend the Fisherman's Catch wrap and chocolate cake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tanzania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Stop for Lunch or Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We first ate here in September last year and came back again with our family after a good experience. Alibi's offers some food options you probably won't see elsewhere in Jambiani. The wraps are especially good for lunch. The coffee and cakes are great also. It's nice to get real coffee. Service was a little slower with our group of 6 than when we came just as 2, but both times our waiters were very friendly.

If you are looking for this place during high tide, it is a bit hard to find as it can be difficult to reach the front entrance. We searched and asked multiple people where it was until we found the back entrance. It's just north of Blue Oyster which is pretty well marked and close to Kim's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hard to find but a hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is the restaurant of the Jambiani Tourism Training Institute. It's a great place, where students do two year diplomas in tourism skills - and they do delicious wraps, pizzas, juices and coffees. A hidden gem, friendly and fun.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“BEST COFFEE IN JAMBIANI/PAJE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We went here for coffee and cake on valentines day and found that the Coffee was sensational!! Made with freshly ground beans and easily the best we have had in along the Jambiani/Paje beach area. We ordered the Chocolate Cake and chatted with our waiter and told him that we were on our honeymoon trip and they drizzled the chocolate sauce in a love heart shape on the plate, very romantic, check out the photo!
The location fronts the water and you have beautiful view of the beach and a cool breeze flowing through.
The atmosphere is very relaxing with quiet background music and you could see through to the kitchen where the staff were preparing and it looked very modern.

We read the information on the table centre and learnt that the restaurant is apart of the Jambiani Tourism Institute and that all the staff working in there were students. We were amazed with their level of service and professionalism, (well spoken english and all in uniform) and we were surprised that some of the students/waiters staff were in their first year.
We were so impressed that we went back for their 'Friday Night Dinners' which are themed menus once a week. The night we went was Japanese theme and the sushi they had was comparable, if not better than what we have had in Australia and the creamy soy sauce with the fish was something that we had never experienced but thoroughly loved!

We would definitely recommend just popping in for the best Coffee or going to the friday night dinner as this was of high standard and the food was high quality!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST FOOD IN JAMBIANI **MUST TRY**”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant while walking down the beach! We were all very pleased! The service was awesome, very polite, very considerate. Very nice considering Africa lacks in the service department. Not only was the service great, the food was unreal. In fact we came back the next day for lunch. It was delicious. Pat and Allistar (owners) are very amazing people. You must ask for them when your there to meet them! You'll know what I mean. We got a personal tour through the building. The kitchen was absolutely spotless! I would highly reccomend and I would go back in a heart beat! HMM HMM DELICIOUS!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alibi's Well also viewed

 

Been to Alibi's Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alibi's Well, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.