We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t miss this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dudes Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dudes Guesthouse to your Saves list
Dudes Guesthouse
Mwendawima, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Don´t miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked two nights with Dude´s, but ended up staying 2 weeks! This is a super place. Dude and his wife Helle made us feel very welcome. The house is beautiful, cool and clean and the garden full of flowers and trees a super place to spend a quite time when you need shade. It's not directly on the beach, but a few steps back which gives you a break from the at time tiresome beachboys and massage women trying to sell their services. The 3 rooms are large and have their own private bathroom.The breakfast is exellent, fresh bread, lots of fresh fruit, Dudes fantastic juices and tea, coffee, jam , nutella and french toast. Also try Dudes cooking, it is both better and cheaper than most of the local restaurants. Our stay gave us a feeling of being part of the Jambiani soceity and both Dude and Helle are very helpful in every way. We recommend going on the village tour and spicetour. Ask Dude and he will arrange. Also a snorkling trip in their Dhow was a wonderful experience. This place has everything is promises and more. Our best experience during our 1 month on Zanzibar. Don´t miss it. We will certainly come back and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Dudes for 2 nights at the end of July 2012. The place was exactly what I was hoping it would be. Dudes was a great guy who was able to answer any questions we had and the morning breakfast was excellent. Lots of fresh fruit, homemade rolls, eggs and coffee and tea. The room/guesthouse was clean and had a comfortable feel. The grounds around the guesthouse were perfect for a quiet morning or afternoon if you wanted to relax and hang out. The beach was only steps away and the area was quiet(which is what we were looking for after a safari and couple nights in Stonetown). Perfect place to relax and rest. The beach was nice but a little windy the days we were there. We loved the tides and being able to walk out so far at low tide.
There are lots of restaurants and bars along to the beach to grab lunch/dinner/drinks. If/when I go back to Jambiani we will stay with Dudes without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January 2011. The booking was very straight forward by email and we didn't have to pay a deposit. Dude made us feel welcome straight away and was always really helpful. The family had some friends staying at the same time as us, so at times we felt a tiny bit like we were intruding on a family gathering, but it didn't put a dampener on our stay. The room was nice and the location is excellent - a few steps from the beach. You cannot fail to switch off here. We would recommend Dudes guesthouse for those seeking absolute peace and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Yep, what the other folks have posted really is true - we too had a great stay at Dude's Guesthouse and can highly recommend it. I certainly agree with what has been said about the guesthouse's friendliness, good service, food etc (those fruit smorgasbord breakfasts - yum!).

But for me what truly made the stay memorable was the optimal location not straight at the beach (where the friendly but at times a tad tiresome beach hawkers pass by) but that the house is a little set back from the beach scene = You see more of the African village everday life gently pass by the place's coconut tree garden, while still get sight of the ocean waves just outside. I think that is also southern Jambiani's lucky balance; it is enough "developed" to have an array of pretty good seafood restaurants around and high quality guesthouses but has escaped becoming just another one of those bland tourist resorts that are more common up north along the coast.

Well, hang out for a while at Dude's and see for yourself.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Located a stones throw from Jambiani beach, its absolutely stunning. You fall asleep with the sound of crashing waves from the sea, wake up to an absolutely amazing breakfast and Dude is more than happy to cook you an abolsutely stunning curry. The guesthouse is a generous size, clean and secure. Dude is more than willing to help you arrange almost anything (spice tour, diving etc). You will struggle not to relax here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

A lovely Guesthouse and a perfect hoast "Mr. Dude". Always smiling and very service minded. The rooms are clean and very spacious. 3 double/twin rooms on the ground floor. A fantastic terrace where you can see everyday life pass by and the sea is just 30 meters infront.
You will not be disappointed -
We stayed last summer for 10 days and Dude was helping us with snorkling tours - dolphin tour - cycle hire - dinner cooking - school visit - Spice tour - etc. etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the front double room facing the terrace - very airy and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Dude's guesthouse is my favorite place in Zanzibar. The house is perfectly located, just steps from the beach. There is a lovely veranda and garden, perfect for relaxing. The food is great and the surrounding beach restaurants as well. And the house itself is beautiful: high ceilings, local art, cool and clean. I would absolutely go back there and suggest it to anyone looking for a retreat on Zanzibar.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dudes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dudes Guesthouse

Address: Mwendawima, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Dudes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dudes Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dudes Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.