We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay at the paje-jambiani beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 2484, Jambiani 10777, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“best place to stay at the paje-jambiani beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

room prices with breakfast 140 usd, half board 180 usd, full board 220 usd. food and drink prices excellent value. the 2 managing ladies are extremely efficient, present and very attentive to customers and staff. we stayed in another (grubby) place and had our lunches and dinners at the spice island resort. we even took others along. food is great, staff service excellent, reflecting the positive mentality of the managment. charge of 5% on use of creditcards.
we were able to stay alongside the pool using hotel facilities after asking the managment. we felt both ladies were fantastic, and we were greatfull to be able to stay at their place that really stands out in tanzanian hotel landscape.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiceislandhotel, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay at Spice Island Hotel & Resort. We are happy and proud that we fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards
Spice Island Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
48
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blighty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

an efficiently run place, with an extra toilet in each cabin, totalling two toilets. (our main complaint was the lack of a hatch connecting the two commodes which meant our conversation was often frustratingly muffled during times of shared faecal urgency.) a, frankly, sinister head waiter (who the waiting staff clearly feared) meant meals were tense and the preponderance of knick knacks in the rooms offended my wife's delicate sensibilties. (also, inedible pasta was served up one evening in the restaurant..)

on the plus side, the pool's nice, the masai are very lovely and the two hotel dogs are very cute. an extra minute on the pasta, and less of a blood curdling grin from restaurant man and all should be well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had an amazing time at Spice Island. The staff are friendly and attentive. The hotel is stunning. Rooms have 4 poster beds, a large bathroom, A/C, fan, balcony, another separate loo. The swimming pool is large and refreshing. I had a massage in the spa which is well worth it if you have tired muscles.

The beach is stunning, long white sand stretching for miles. There is a long pier at the hotel with a beach bar at the end which is great to sit and have cocktails at in the evening.

If you want to venture out of the hotel for some food i would highly recommend Captain Cooks restaurant in Jambiani for some delicious seafood. Just walk right out of the hotel along the beach to the village and you will find it.

All in all a great hotel, i would definitly stay here again.
Lavinia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiceislandhotel, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay at Spice Island Hotel & Resort. We are happy and proud that we fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards
Spice Island Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

On our second visit to Zanzibar, we were very lucky to chance upon the newly opened Spice Island Hotel and resort before the crowds arrive, as they undoubtedly will when word gets out.
This is a beautiful 4 star resort, very competitively priced in Jambiani, on one of the nicest stretches of beaches in all of Zanzibar, with glistening white sand and the clearest turquoise seas you could ever wish to see.
The rooms are lovely, and spotlessly clean with a large 4 poster bed with mosquito nets and a further pull out bed. Linen was fresh and crisp, and towels big, white and fluffy. Air conditioning units of a high standard and, and there is a TV in the rooms
A member of staff arrived each night to bug-spray the room.
All rooms have a little shaded veranda and private garden which is lovely to sit in, and chill with a glass of wine.
The gardens are absolutely beautiful, with many young shrubs and trees and flowers of every colour that we have only ever seen in Africa. There was always gardeners tending and watering and of course we saw many little brightly coloured little birds every day.
The pool is huge and there was a member of staff continuously cleaning and checking whatever needs to be checked, temperature? Salt level? whatever, it was an absolute delight to get into. This is the only hotel in Jambiani with a pool I believe.
Now the restaurant. I think it’s very difficult to get really food in Africa unless of course you pay an arm and a leg. The food here was excellent given the prices.
Each meal we had was better than the previous, and the pumpkin soup and date parfait memorable.
A very respectable wine list with a good house for about £12. We also had a few very nice well priced cocktails and they have Glenmorange, the only malt if you’r Scots.
All areas of this resort are clean, and comfortable, and the lounge area above the restaurant is one of the most chilled out places we have ever been in. I have posted a picture here but I don’t think it’s a true reflection of how nice it is.
There is also a jetty type thing, like a wooden walkway with another comfortable cocktail bar area at the end, and a room for massage just off, so that if you fancy a massage (which I did) you can hear the waves lapping.
Lastly all staff including management were, professional and friendly but from a distance, i.e. attentive without being intrusive, and the people in reception extremely helpful
The girl in charge of the kitchen (whose name I forget, sorry) did give me her recipe for the date parfait.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, it was an absolute delight, and we sincerely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaWurmus, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Beth,
we are so happy that you liked your stay with us! Thank you for you comment! Kind regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar

Address: P.O Box 2484, Jambiani 10777, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life`s the beach, enjoy the people, feel the culture ofZanzibar!Enjoy the sophisticated island cuisine, fresh seafood and fish as a combination of Indian, Arab, Indian and African dishes; here finds itsperfection. What could be more romantic than a dinner under the starry sky of Zanzibar with accompanied by the full moon of the Equator or aperfect breakfast on the beach with the rising morning sun of the Indian Ocean?Our oriental lounge gives you a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean. Seated on cushions, you can read here, listen to the music or just simply relax and let your soul flow. Over the sea pier youare reaching our Jetty bar and the water sports center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.