We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, other room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kibigija Beach, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Sea View Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
special offer
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice views, other room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The service is attentive, but the kitchen is very slow in producing meals. Much on the menu was also unavailable and the so-called vegetable curry had no relationship to curry and wasn't even decent-quality food. The rooms and bathrooms are rather basic with no chairs in the rooms. During the day, this may not be an issue as you sit on your porch, but you might like one inside in the evenings.

There's very little live coral to see on the snorkelling trip they arrange for you. The fisherman they set you up with who takes you out uses the time to fish for the same little colourful ones you came to admire. He must use them as food or bait for other fishes. You might want to pay more and go to a better reef.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africat544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our experience at Sea View Lodge in Jambiani was unbelievable. We paid exactly the same as at other resorts on the island, but we received the most fantastic service and care by the staff (Salum and Salum 2). They are so welcoming. Breakfast is beautiful and the dinner menu is impossible as there are so many lovely options at great prices. Lovely relaxing bar area for spiced tea or cocktails. Private sun loungers for each chalet. There are only 6 chalets so it is quiet with a lovely family feel. I felt like we were staying at a 5 star hotel. Just excellent service. They were kind enough to help us book local tours. It is also placed in the most beautiful spot of Jambiani. The chalets have charm and character and are cleaned daily. We moved on to Paje, but we wished we had stayed longer. It is unbeatable!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, no duffers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a wonderful place if you want to relax!!! We really recommend it!
In the morning you wake up and you see the sea; bungalows are located –almost- on the beach. Peaceful place, good food, clean rooms, a very nice host man,… Along the beach there are many restaurants and bars so very easy to go elsewhere if you like. Possible activities: snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, mountain biking,... High value; we would certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent 4 great nights at Sea View. This small lodge has the "back to nature" feel with its simple rustic settings. There is no need for shoes as the sand in Jambiani is not only the whitest I have ever seen, but is also very soft. Thanks to the staff at sea view (Mohammad, Cacao, Abdullah and Masai) who were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much to ask including orgainsing fishing trips etc, which made our break very special. The chef is also excellent, so dont miss out on the fresh octopus salad, pilawo rice and swahili chicken!! The rates were very reasonable, for such a fantastic experience which is priceless and we look forward to visiting again in the next year!!! Oh....do try the beach massages by the local women while you relax on the bed loungers at the front of each banda.

Room Tip: All bandas are sea front so you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnamujju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

What else could we say...
This place was our first spot in Zanzibar and we must say we felt like starting with the best we could see and experience during our 2 weeks trip. Staying 3 nights we finally stayed 5 because the place and people were so nice, so peaceful and so beautiful!
After 5 days, we felt like at home with friends and enjoyed their lovely seafood (the best we had during our whole trip), feet in the sand.
Bungalows are very nice and clean, all with sea view and very comfortable, all with mosquito net and fan.

Thank you Mohammed, Abdul and all the team for your kindness, your help and for giving us so precious memories!

And thanks again for this divine food experience we had!

We wish you all the best !

Caroline and Jonathan (France), stay from July 18 to July 23, 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
2.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
27.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#8 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: Kibigija Beach, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Sea View Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned and run lodge which has had a further three bungalows built this year. Totalling eleven bungalows with five facing the Indian Ocean; and six by the poolside. Home cooking which includes Italian cuisine, Indian cuisine ( prepared by our resident Chef Sanjay from Dehli ) besides local Zanzibarian cooking. Ideal place for a totally relaxing holiday . Clean, quiet and peaceful. No request is out of place; please ask and we will endeavour our best to comply. Perfect place to relax to and detox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Hotwire so you can book your Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing