We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Jambiani (maybe beyond!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raha Lodge

Save Saved
You added Raha Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raha Lodge
Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place on Jambiani (maybe beyond!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Raha and loved every moment. It's really less of a lodge/hotel and more of a beautiful, private house that feels quiet, secluded and luxurious, even when fully booked (only 4 rooms). It would be a great spot for a group to rent out. We biked the full stretch of Jambiani to Paje several times and are convinced that Raha Lodge was by far the best place for our purposes (seeking quiet, clean, scenic and thoughtful amenities/service). Kim is an amazing cook (ask for the cigal lobsters!). The brand new pool was a HUGE win- put Raha head and shoulders beyond other places without a pool since the beach is not always swimmable (low tide). Raha has plenty of nooks to hang out and relax in the sun or not, a nice breakfast (crepes!) and little extras like fluffy towels. It was just our speed and we're so glad we chose Raha! Lastly, early June was a prime time to visit Zanzibar- perfect weather, not too hot, and not many tourists around yet.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 2 rooms with an ocean view but I'm sure all of them are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful house! The house is new with nice and clean rooms. The owners are very sweet and so is the staff who really works hard to make your stay comfortable. The food the staff cooked was very nice. (local dishes and a great variety) Beautiful white beach right in front of the house! it is really the place to have for a pieceful holiday! Thanks for all the good care! we will come back one day!
i also missed a pool but i believe the owners are working on that! i absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Raha Lodge is the right place for an unforgettable holiday. The villa is set on a white sandy beach just in front of the ocean.
The part of the villa we enjoyed more was definetely the veranda: on the top of the house we used to have breakfast there every morning or we just sat there relaxing and admiring the sea in front of us. The house is very spacious and the rooms are african style and very well equipped .The service there is also excellent: Kim, Belinda and Zena make you feel at home... they are there at your complete disposal to satisfy all your needs... and they cook fantastic!!!!
Just behind the house the village of jambiani is a real African village so you will have the chance to meet the local people and they are so nice and helpful!!
We will return there for sure..... and we hope very soon!!!!

Room Tip: 2 rooms are sea front, ask for them... if you want to wake up looking at the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a lovely time at Raha Lodge. The staff were wonderfully helpful, they were always to hand and looked after us beautifully. Mr Kim , the manager organised trips for us which all went according to plan.The view of the sea was stunning.
It was very hot (for those coming from an English winter) but there was a good breeze.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The place is beautiful, the house is clean and confortable.
The staff is really helpful and you feel cuddled all the time, this is a place in which you can turn off your brain and just think about relax. The food is really good and you have a wide selection between different style and food.
The only thing that this place don't have is a pool for refreshing, but during my holiday I saw the workman that was taking some measures for build it.
During my holiday I had the chance to met the owners of the house and it was a pleasure because they are really nice, willing, funny and positively extravagant.
I will recommend this place to everybody, the thing I miss more is the magnificent breakfast on the terrace. If I have to be really sincere I have to tell that I already booked another holiday here....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Incredible beach front position, with great views. Fantastic area on the eastern side of the island with beautiful beach and clear warm water. Great service from the staff with a wide variety of local dishes on offer daily. Clean neat and tidy with an authentic african feel. Truly comfortable and peacefull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to Zanzibar one month in November 2012. I stayed at the Raha Lodge.. what I would say is the place is Gorgeous.Loved the location, the rooms, everything was perfect. If you're looking for somewhere chilled, clean and relaxed this is the place for you. Staff were uber helpful and happy. Outstanding service. I strongly reccomend to everyone Raha Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raha Lodge

Address: Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raha Lodge, your dream in your paradise...In Swahili language “raha” means happiness , and this is the feeling the owners of the villa had, when they first saw Jambiani, its beaches and its sea. And right here away from the crowded resorts and the crowded beaches they decided to build their hut, deliberately in the small village of Jambiani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Raha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raha Lodge Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.