We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice bungalows at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pakachi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pakachi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pakachi Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Paje road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice bungalows at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we had a wonderful stay at pakachi beach resort. The bungalows are direct on the sand, nearby a nice beach. The owner jürgen and salomon did everything to make our stay unforgettable.
The hotel has a restaurant with sometime fresh fish, when you request.

Room Tip: there are rooms direct front of the sea, the others in the wonderful garden. Some family room, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
11
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

my husband and I stayed there for 3 days and we loved it!. It is not a pretentious hotel. Excellent food (Try their king fish crusted with coconut!). Staff is very helpful and always ready to assist. Rooms are clean and perhaps a bit outdated however for us were perfect as we spent 80% of our time outside.

Room Tip: Ours was in front of the beach/sea and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's a very good value for your money hotel.
The people are very friendly and helpfull.
Nice breakfast even if you leave very early in the morning they will offer you breakfast.
Don't expect a 4star hotel for that price. But the rooms are clean and fine (especially the ones near the beach are lovely). Just the bathrooms need a bit of refurbushing (salt has corroded the taps).
The surrounding is really nice and very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilnis, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This wonderful place offers excellent value for money. The staff offers great hospitality. Good food and drinks are available at any time of the day. Even when you have to check out very early the chef prepares a complete breakfast. We will come back here for sure!
We couldn't find any reason to complain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evreux, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is simple. When we arrived, our credit card for the booking had a problem, so we where not in the room we expected (we booked a 2 storeys banda). Our first room was really unconfortable (small and with a lot of ants), the second was better, and for the third night, we were in the bandas (which was not completely clean...). The bandas are nice, in front of the ocean, with a little balcony, airy, quite noisy with the ocean near but we were so tired that we realy slept well. The bathroom is elementary and showers don't have a big water flow. The beach is not the best of zanzibar but very quiet (less touristic than in the north of the island and than in paje also). The personnal is very nice and welcoming. The manager, a german, is listening. The restaurant is nice and not expensive.

We recommend to rent a car to visit all the island, it's interesting, more confortable and quicker than dala dala... If you are not afraid of driving in Africa...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Located on the tidal beach front. Staff nice enough. Pillows covered in mildew and mould. I GUESS it was otherwise clean and despite booking the two storey room it was very airless in January. The manager DID go and buy us some fans when we asked - but one of the fans did not work. The shower never worked. We had a rat visit us on the second night and for our third night we could not get out of there quickly enough and paid an extra $150 and checked into the very nice Spice Hotel (including dinner for the three of us) next door. Pakachi is a step up from backpacking but not worth the $96 we paid per night. (Our taxi driver kept insisting 'Coral' just up the road is better and cheaper.) Pakachi had a kind of unloved feel, but as another reviewer said it is fine if you just want to lay on the beach and read a book. Had a nice massage there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
When you store food in an open banda it happens sometimes that animals are attracted by this and visiting you. So don´t store food there. The showerhead was blocked with calcium. 10 minutes after you told us that the shower has few water the showerhead was changed. Next time inform us soon and not when you check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived at Pakachi, we were put into a fairly spacious but not very attractive room with a view of the washing lines and backyard. I was quite upset because the photos on the booking website showed sea views and the double story bandas. I complained to the Managers about this, and they actually managed to arrange a swop between us and the family staying in the room I originally wanted, which meant we were both happy.

The coconut Bandas are a lovely idea, but quite badly executed. Whenever it rains and the wind blows, the wind blows the rain in the sides of the louvre door (which opens to make a roof for the balcony) and wets the entire upstairs section. As it rained at 5am every morning, this meant we were woken up with a warm shower every day. A small bit of repair could sort this out quite easily. When its not raining, the open louvre door allows a delightful breeze in to keep you cool.

The staff are very accomodating. When they ran out of ice, the barman actually cycled to the village to go buy ice for our coctails. Service is slow, but the staff work around this by asking us what time we would like to eat dinner, and taking our orders much earlier in the evening.

I really enjoyed my stay here, and I would happily go back, despite the minor inconveniences!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We have pictures from all our rooms on our website but you booked a standard double room. That´s why you get this room.
You can close the open front wall from the 2story banda when it is too cold or raining. Why you didn´t close?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pakachi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakachi Beach Hotel

Address: Paje road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pakachi Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pakachi Beach Resort is situated on the southeast coast of the island of Zanzibar. The Resort is a newly refurbished tropical garden hotel with private beach and own swimming pool, an experimental spice farm, wellness and well known restaurant. The combination between European management and local participation is providing a well organized tropical feeling and the ideal place to relax from business life. Nature related beach bungalows may cater for the real tropical impressions with an open bedroom in the first floor of these all natural material built houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Pakachi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakachi Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakachi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.