We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but a few problems...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pakachi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pakachi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pakachi Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Paje road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Solid but a few problems...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in one of the 1-room open-air beach bungalows for four nights in August 2011 and, overall, found Pakachi to be a solid budget option for a Zanzibar beach vacation.

Food---breakfast was included in our room price and was fine, consisting of 3-4 types of fresh fruit, coffee and tea, a sort of pancake thing, and omelette on toast. We found the lunch and dinner food to be mediocre but reasonably priced. On the weekends they sometimes do a BBQ buffet with all different kinds of fish available. We ate the majority of our meals elsewhere---lots of options are in walking distance along the beach.

Drinks---reasonably priced but limited. We often found ourselves at Spice Island, a nice resort just next door that has a far greater variety of drinks available than Pakachi. Note that the day bartender believes in putting fruit juice in all mixed drinks, regardless of the recipe.

Beach---as others have noted, the ocean swimming is not great at Pakachi because of lots of coral in the water. Also note that the water is shallow quite a long ways out so you can't really escape the rough coral. I would add that this coral extends the length of the beach in both directions until you get into Paje (1-2 kilometers north) where they've actually removed the coral. Pakachi has nice rope beds for lounging although a limited number of cushions for them.

Location---we really liked Pakachi's location between Paje and Jambiani. You can walk to both towns along the beach (20-30 minutes) and find restaurant options along the way as well as clustered in each town. Walking on the beach is a bit tricky at night because the beach has no lighting and there are lots of shells that can cut your feet. But there is a nice resort next door (Spice Island) that has a lovely pier bar extending into the ocean and also a restaurant that serves up better food than Pakachi (a bit more expensive, around 17,500-22,000 for fish dishes compared to 14,000-16,000 at Pakachi).

Room---small but fine. We loved the open air aspect and it gets plenty cool at night so the lack of AC is not a problem. The bathroom had rather low water pressure.

Excursions---we went on the Safari Blue where you go to Menai bay and snorkel, get a boat ride, have a huge lunch with lots of fish, and perhaps see some dolphins. We had a great time and would highly recommend it.

Service---this is where Pakachi really fell down. Generally we had to ask several times before anything got done, drinks could take up to half an hour to make, etc. The worst things that happened was that on the third night of our stay a mouse found its way into our room, left droppings everywhere (including over lots of our clothes), and chewed through a bunch of our stuff (including leaving holes in 3 out of 4 backpacks). Pakachi's reaction was pretty blase. After a bit of nagging they did agree to put down some poison in the evening when we went to dinner. The result was that we walked into our room after dinner to find a dead country mouse (bigger than city mice). After I requested a discount due to this experience, Pakachi did knock down the price of our room a bit. The management told us that mice have been plaguing the area for the last two weeks and that they're thinking about getting a cat to deal with the problem.

Overall, I might look a litter harder to find better service elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
11
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Claudia L is completely right. They sent us to another hotel. The other hotel wasn't confort at all. They did't explained us anything, they just lied to us saying that it was the same hotel and, of course, it wasn't true.
The replay of the Pakachi Beach Hotel to Claudia it´s another lie. We booked one month in advance and we re-confirm our booking three days before arriving and nobody told us what was going on.
Don't go to this place if you want to have a nice and no-problem holidays in the beautiful Zanzibar island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrrst, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
1. thing is that we didn´t lie. We told the guest that we are working together with this hotel. We never told you that it´s the same hotel.
2. We never got a confirmation in any way from the guest even they got all the informations about the different ways how to confirm. They just ordered a transfer 3 days before arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alt Rehse
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Realy like Paradise
friendly people like a lovely family
wonderful beach
qiet atmosphere
to stay a month without end

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great little place. We had a double bungalow with it's own bath which was nice as long as you know what to expect (this is a budget resort, don't go expect spa baths and fancy rooms). Lovely gardens and the restaurant was pretty good (thankfully since once the tide came in there weren't any other options that were walkable).

The staff was friendly. I'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Pakachi is a very relaxed and friendly place worth staying longer than only 3-4 nights. All rooms have nice little verandas or balconies and those not directly facing the sea have a view in the garden - in the morning you can watch little birds looking for nectar in the blossom
The staff is helpful and open for any questions you might have.
The rooms - (of the little bungalows) are basic but spotless and cleaned every day, the mattress are excellent and I did not miss an AC. The water pressure of the shower is rather low and - like in all the guesthouses of the area - you don't have fresh water for showering but you acclimate very easily. The salt content is not as "salty" as I was concerned - I simply wouldn't drink it.

I loved the restaurant - try out the seafood pizza or ask for the recommendation of the day.

Jambiani is more quiet than Paje making this guesthouse an excellent place to calm down. Nevertheless it is close enough to walk to along the beach to Paje.The staff can organize dhow trips, dolphin tours, trips to the forest and probably way more for you - but you need to ask them directly.

The guesthouse is directly on the beach

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is right on the beach with its own restaurant and bar serving good food at tourist prices (not unreasonable but not discount). Rooms are clean and it felt fairly safe and secure. Lots of DYI activities available like bikes, snorkel equipment, etc. The staff are lovely and they have a massage lady on staff. Good drinks are available. It's central to Jambiani and Paje so there are lots of good restaurants around. All around a very lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stay there 10 days... its really good. nice people ... quite place ...
really good for relaxation

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pakachi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakachi Beach Hotel

Address: Paje road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pakachi Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pakachi Beach Resort is situated on the southeast coast of the island of Zanzibar. The Resort is a newly refurbished tropical garden hotel with private beach and own swimming pool, an experimental spice farm, wellness and well known restaurant. The combination between European management and local participation is providing a well organized tropical feeling and the ideal place to relax from business life. Nature related beach bungalows may cater for the real tropical impressions with an open bedroom in the first floor of these all natural material built houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pakachi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakachi Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakachi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.